We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pastries Are The Best Food In Spain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Mallorquina

La Mallorquina
Ranked #3 of 77 Bakeries in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, Spanish, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Centro
Channel Islands National Park, California
Level Contributor
477 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Pastries Are The Best Food In Spain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a perfect stop for a long day walking around downtown Madrid and before jumping on metro to grab a pastry or two (or eight!). This place is clean, well organized, has several counters to order from and everything was very fresh. Compared to what everything else costs in Spain, pastries are on the cheaper side. After they ring you up a price, you can't help but to grab a few more to try. We must have had 10 items and she said 4,50 euro... we looked at each other and told her "okay, we want more". Most of the items are bite sized so you might as well try many things.
(To Travel Is To Live)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,011
    650
    196
    68
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Narooma, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Avoid if overcrowded and stick with espresso”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I arrived on the tail end of a group of American tourists. I ordered a double espresso and a bottle of water and got a large cup of black coffee and no water. What I suspect was an " Americano". In Australia I drink a long black. I have owned coffee shops and in my opinion it is the hardest of the coffees to get right. People will tell you that the Americano is the same. It is nothing like a long black. It has a strength which can only be obtained by over extraction which leaves the coffee bitter. If you are able to drink the whole cup you will generally find a strong and very sudden need to relieve yourself comes upon you at a most convenient time. The Americano is an execrable drink. I left it on the bar. I am confident that if Inhad ordered an espresso then I would have received a satisfactory cup. But I can get that from any bar on the corner.
My own experience is that if a coffee shop is packed with a tour group then the quality of the coffee drops off. I put that down to the coffee machines running hotter than the optimal extraction temperature and the barista being in a hurry and not getting rid of all the dregs from the previous shot. I am a coffee fusspot and have experienced this at locations at home and abroad. So if the place is crazily packed do yourself a favour. Take a photo and get your coffee down the road.
I am confident I could go back tomorrow order an espresso and get a good one. But then why would I bother.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank fivemile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious pastries and coffee in the heart of Madrid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Located in Sol in the centre of Madrid, this coffee and cake emporium is one of the best. For those who haven't been before, it can be a little overwhelming as you walk in and are surrounded by row upon row of delicious items! You can eat at the counters downstairs, but it tends to be a bit frenetic with people rushing in and out. If you want to eat in, the best thing to do is to head on up the stairs at the back to the seating area where they have table service. The menus are not always on display, so you may need to ask for one - we've found that the ideal strategy is to note the name of something you like the look of downstairs and then ask for it upstairs!

The cakes are excellent, particularly the palmera glaseada but there are so many different types that you're bound to find something you like. The coffee is also excellent and they serve fresh orange juice and ice cream too.

This is the perfect place for a leisurely breakfast before heading off to see the sights. The service is always very efficient, though the waiters are usually extremely busy so won't normally stop for a chat but if you're lucky they might!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank coarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
324 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
“Stop here for delicious pastry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

While exploring Madrid, we stopped at the famous La Mallorquina for a coffee with pastry. Downstairs is the shop and 'to go' but on the first floor is the Salon. It is a simple place with only tables and chairs, but try to get a window seat and open the window for fresh air. Then order your favourite pastry, you won't regret it. There is no outside seating, but if you have a window seat, you see all the people go by. Our waiter was polite and provided good service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tRAVellerOfTheW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic pastries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We visited this bakery twice during our four-day stay in Madrid, and would've returned a third time if it hadn't been closed. Excellent pastries and cakes for breakfast or snack - waiters are brusque but it's worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MXC0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mallorquina also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Mallorquina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing