We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but not a Comfortable Stay”
Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Moderno
Ranked #84 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel was underwhelming. While the location is central to many sites and restaurants in Madrid, it is also quite loud in that area and the windows of the hotel are thin, so sleep can be hard to come by. The staff were not at all friendly or welcoming during our stay. The bed was hard and the room was very hot - adjusting the thermostat did not seem to make a difference. A lot of the basic niceties are missing - shampoo/conditioner are not provided, there is no coffee machine, and the towels are thin and nonabsorbent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewokmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed late one night Nov '13 on way back home. Pros: Great location. My room and bathroom were clean. Bed was firm - not bad. The hotel has a nice lobby on first floor (typical of hotels in Madrid). I encountered 3 receptionists (all male) and only one of them was very nice (Xavier or Javier; another one spoke fluent English but he was not very nice). Cons: room was very small although I was supposed to get a double room (the bed was double bed), I could barely move! Corridors were claustrophobic - could barely roll my luggage! There was no sign on each floor indicating which room numbers were which way - I had to figure it out!

Bottom line: I'll probably not stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick one away from the front desk side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank sanbhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The location is absolutely superb - just by Peurto De Sol . Almost all tourist spots are within walking distance . The tariff is reasonable and budget conscious . Staff are helpful and cooperative . Rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pradeep51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed November 2013 - We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. The price was great, the location couldn't be better - walking distance to all the sites. The rooms were clean, and the staff were helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit Madrid on a budget, but wants something nice.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank orchard_112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was my first visit to the Hotel Moderno, but my wife has stayed there many times. Its location couldn't be better" just off the Puerta del Sol. The hotel and rooms are clean, and quiet. Excellent value for money! The breakfast buffet is especially good. The only drawback is that the double room was somewhat small for two people. Next time I will book a superior room! It helps, though, that there is a very comfortable wi-fi lounge on the first floor (one above ground level), near the breakfat room, with comfortable chairs and sofas for reading and using a laptop or iPad.

Room Tip: Book a superior room if you are not travelling alone. Ask for the breakfast buffet. It will not disa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We loved our stay at the Hotel Moderno. The location is perfect, especially for those who have only a few days in Madrid, as we did. The Puerto Del Sol is the heart of Madrid, near the metro, the train and easy walk to many attractions. Our room was small (by American standards) but completely fine for the 2 of us, very clean and quiet with a large bathroom (by European standards). The included breakfast was very substantial and very tasty: meats, cheeses, yogurt, lots of fresh fruits and lots of pastry and cakes. The common spaces are huge and comfortable. The staff was very helpful with my use of the computer (I decided to get next day tikcets for the Prado and skip the long ticket line) and directions when I needed them. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventurelamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Moderno for 4 days in September. Great location. 30 metres from metro station and within walking distance to all major tourist attractions. Room was small, and decor dated, but kept clean and was very quiet. Staff were courteous and helpful. We arrived at the hotel at 9:30 a.m. and found our room was ready for us. We expected to have to wait to check in, instead we were able to settle in, and enjoy a full day in Madrid. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#53 of 440 in Madrid
2,812 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#67 of 440 in Madrid
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
#11 of 440 in Madrid
164 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 440 in Madrid
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Address: Calle Arenal 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Madrid
#82 Business Hotel in Madrid
#131 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $93 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderno 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us and discover Madrid on foot. We are located in the heart of the city centre at Puerta del Sol. A short, pleasant walk will take you to the Prado Museum, Thyssen Museum, Royal Palace, Plaza Mayor and Royal Theatre. If you are coming for a trade fair or conference, we are located in the best connected spot of the city. After a full day in Madrid, you can rest in our pleasant, comfortable rooms with fully equipped bathrooms. If you have to work, you can use our free WIFI internet connection. Let us guide you in choosing the best restaurants, shows and events in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing