We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Moderno
Ranked #85 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Moderno for 4 days in September. Great location. 30 metres from metro station and within walking distance to all major tourist attractions. Room was small, and decor dated, but kept clean and was very quiet. Staff were courteous and helpful. We arrived at the hotel at 9:30 a.m. and found our room was ready for us. We expected to have to wait to check in, instead we were able to settle in, and enjoy a full day in Madrid. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    492
    133
    36
    7
See reviews for
260
375
95
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

As well documented, 30 metres from Vodafone Sol Metro and less than an hour to airport, Got on metro at Sol and next time I'm in open air is tarmac at Luton Airport. Perfect base for sightseeing and evening entertainment, we particularly enjoyed La Soberbia tapas bar just off Sol. Hotel not the biggest or plushest but more than adequate and well priced. We had no problems with staff and breakfast was fine but not needed after a night of Tapas. Would use this as a base again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StAlban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale of Clwyd
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very good location and easy to get to by metro, we travelled by fast train to Madrid and then used metro to hotel. Hotel staff were very pleasant when booking in and also when we left, locking our bags away etc. Hotel is excellent for sightseeing in Madrid and also good for getting back to at night time, especially on foot. Lots of street entertainers outside but very quiet in room once windows were shut, very good sound insulation.
Our only concern was with the dinning room at breakfast time, it got very crowded and there didn't seem to be enough staff clearing tables so that finding a seat for breakfast became a bit of a lottery.
Otherwise very pleased with our stay and would highly recommend this location.

Room Tip: Request a room at front if you wish to people watch from your bedroom windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymro33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The location of Hotel Moderno is ideal - conveniently located near a metro stop and numerous sites to see. Our room was small, but nothing more was needed. A much higher rating would have been given if the hotel staff was not a factor in rating.
The hotel staff was a problem from the beginning of our stay. We were charged additional fees upon check in and when trying to cancel the remainder of our stay booked we were met with opposition. The hotel staff was unresponsive and rude throughout the process - in the 24 hours we stayed at Hotel Moderno, we encountered others having difficulty with their reservation each time we passed the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Found this hotel on the internet and it is a great location - couldnt be more central - right beside SOL Metro. Air con (a must have in Madrid), nice lounge area, windows have double layer so sound from outside is to a minimum, rooms ok - basic and clean. My only gripe would be I didnt find the reception staff particularly friendly or helpful. The female receptionist was by far the nicest.
This was my 2nd stay in Madrid and I would recommend this hotel from a price and location viewpoint.

Room Tip: Air con, excellent location, good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65susiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The location of the hotel was perfect due to its proximity to shops. restraunts, Plaza Mayor and Royal Palace etc. It was also excellent regarding transport connections with buses and underground a stones throw away, handy for metro from Airport, with only one change but that might be even easier if they put on a new route. Beware of travelling underground at night when pickpockets even more in evidence. A tendency to use pretty young girls who target older men. The hotel was small but that was one of our reasons for choosing it. Helpful and friendly reception, good sized room with furnished balcony and good breakfast choices. If there was one minor bug, it was the noise when the window was open and street noise going on all night, The hotel is next to El Corte Englise store with goods vans all night. Good sleepers and use of airconditioning will help. Overall a very pleasant hotel, well recommended.

Room Tip: Try the rooms on the street side but you will then be minus a balcony which is a boon, especially on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrinkliesireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Small, well situated hotel right on the Puerta del Sol Plaza in the heart of Madrid. Rooms are clean, functional while small. Walking distance to most things you'd want to see in Madrid. Everyone at hotel friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel w/balcony. You can overlook the Plaza and people watch fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planestrainsboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#40 of 436 in Madrid
2,487 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#63 of 436 in Madrid
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 436 in Madrid
2,936 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 436 in Madrid
1,589 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Property: Hotel Moderno
Address: Calle Arenal 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Madrid
#95 Family Hotel in Madrid
#131 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderno 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us and discover Madrid on foot. We are located in the heart of the city centre at Puerta del Sol. A short, pleasant walk will take you to the Prado Museum, Thyssen Museum, Royal Palace, Plaza Mayor and Royal Theatre. If you are coming for a trade fair or conference, we are located in the best connected spot of the city. After a full day in Madrid, you can rest in our pleasant, comfortable rooms with fully equipped bathrooms. If you have to work, you can use our free WIFI internet connection. Let us guide you in choosing the best restaurants, shows and events in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing