We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“four nights in august”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Moderno
Ranked #90 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“four nights in august”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

we chose this hotel using our usual criteria, price and location and were not disappointed with either. we arrived from the airport by metro to sol station and the hotel is yards from it, the hotel itself is very nice comfortable bed big bathroom and most importantly in Madrid in august the air conditioning was very good. I have read some reviews about poor wi fi in the rooms and it is true but this did not bother us we just went to the nice first floor lounge were it was no problem.the staff at the hotel were very good especially the night receptionist who when we arrived at midnight was excellent .overall a very happy stay at the modern.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    473
    131
    34
    7
See reviews for
252
354
88
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel is very central, you can reach everywhere on foot. The staff was helpful and friendly.
Breakfast needs improvement in terms of variety and choice of vegetables.
Our room was quiet despite the central location, however, a bit small for a family of 4...
Bath was big, however lacked certain amenities such as shampoo/conditioner.
Overall a very good experience and value for money for a central hotel in Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hagitge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hotel Moderno was the perfect base for our trip to Madrid. My son and I spent four nights in Madrid and happily stayed at this hotel. The location is around the corner from the heart of Madrid, the Puerta del Sol. This car free plaza is busy with people of all ages and there is a convenient underground Metro stop and a local train stop located here as well. We love to walk and we were able to walk from our hotel to the Plaza Major, the Mercado San Miguel, the Royal Palace (you have got to see the throne room which is still being used), the Prado Museum (one of the best museums in the world), the Reina Sophia Museum (where Picasso's Masterpiece, Guernica is displayed), and the El Corte Ingles store. This store is like a Macy's and very full service with restaurants, grocery store, a post office, and of course all of the clothes and souvenirs you could want. The breakfast at the hotel is delicious, with coffee, tea, breads, fruits, cheese and of course ham. Egg dishes can be prepared on request. The best part of our stay was getting to chat with the director, Mr. Santi Bello about the various places that we were planning to visit in Madrid. He also went way beyond expectations when he mailed my jacket and two travel books to my house in the United States after I had left them in my hotel room. I could not be happier with the location, and service at the Hotel Moderno.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pamela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The location of the hotel is great. On the corner of the pedestrian shopping street Arenal and the center of the city Puerta del Sol. Easy to walk to many sites of the city. The hotel advertises that there is WIFI in the room but that is not the case if they give you a room away from the center of the hotel. The hotel staff are unhelpful in relocating you to a room that has WIFI when requested and act like the WIFI problem is something that is new and are trying to fix.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Moderno reception was very helpful. The triple room was small but adequate.
They could add at least one piece of art work to the walls. The buffet breakfast was grand.
We were able to walk the entire city from this location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The location is great just by Puerta del Sol! You can go everywhere by foot.
The room was quite small but clean and quiet (i guess because it was located in the internal area).
We looked for a balcony which we expected to find after we read the others reviews, but there wasn't one in our room...
The service was OK. The older lady in the reception was very nice and welcoming, she helped us a lot and answered all our question with a big smile and lots of patiance.
The other staff was nice but not so helpfull.
Small but important thing, the only mirror in the room is in the bathroom... which is very uncomfortable.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rintzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed in this hotel at the end of May with friends. It is very central. Everything is at hand, tours, guides, walks, shops, restaurants, bars practically everything is on your door. You are in central Madrid.
We arrived and got booked in. We had to take our luggage in the lift and find our rooms nobody offered to help. The male receptionists overall very not very helpful in fact some could be off-hand, certainly would not be promoting the hotel. Rooms were OK, the air conditioning was noisy but then the weather was cool. Windows open but I do not recall any with a balcony. There is no insulation whatsoever in this hotel, you can hear the people next door talking and using the bathroom, walking outside on the passage and in and out of the lifts. There is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, there is a coffee vending machine at Reception which is average. We had breakfast each morning in the hotel which was self service, continental and you can help yourself to whatever you want. It can be a bit pricey but sometimes they do offers on the breakfasts.
When we were checking out I do not recall a thank you or have a nice journey. Customer Service is non existent at this hotel which is something they could certainly look into.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiemLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#17 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#132 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Property: Hotel Moderno
Address: Calle Arenal 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in Madrid
#95 Family Hotel in Madrid
#131 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderno 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us and discover Madrid on foot. We are located in the heart of the city centre at Puerta del Sol. A short, pleasant walk will take you to the Prado Museum, Thyssen Museum, Royal Palace, Plaza Mayor and Royal Theatre. If you are coming for a trade fair or conference, we are located in the best connected spot of the city. After a full day in Madrid, you can rest in our pleasant, comfortable rooms with fully equipped bathrooms. If you have to work, you can use our free WIFI internet connection. Let us guide you in choosing the best restaurants, shows and events in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing