We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, interesting location ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque
Ranked #137 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, interesting location ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

It's not in the city centre, but I liked the location with some interesting local bars and restaurants (though I don't recommend the restaurant just up the hill from the hotel).

We had a superior room which was big and well appointed. Staff friendly. Cannot comment on breakfast. Wifi mostly worked having paid €10 per 24 hours: the free wifi is hopeless. But this is common for other hotels is Spain/UK etc.

It's a 20 minute walk down town, it the metro is close by.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MuddyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranHotelCondeDuque, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Conde Duque for your recent stay in Madrid.

We’d be grateful if you would review us on our social networks.

Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' reviews before booking their own visits. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Gran Hotel Conde Duque the next time you're in Madrid.

Best Regards,
Gran Hotel Conde Duque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    338
    117
    27
    8
See reviews for
104
294
82
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Love the location, the staff, the rooms, pillows " a la carta", super clean, beautiful ... Can't say enough!
Would stay there again in a heart beat. There are a ton of restaurants just down the street in the area of Universidad. Wish I could stay longer ... Love it!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranHotelCondeDuque, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Melissa,

Thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Conde Duque for your recent stay in Madrid. We are so happy, read your words a monday morning is awesome for me!!!!

Please do not hesitate to contact me in your next visit at comercial@hotelcondeduque

We hope you coming soon at Gran Hotel Conde Duque.

Thank you again!!
Gran Hotel Conde Duque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Loved the view of the park from my room. Room was clean with unexpected finds, e.g., a scale in the bathroom. Comfortable bed and air conditioner worked well. Bar very inviting with great service. When I departed, I left a small bag in the back of the taxi with my tablet and telephone. The driver returned it to the hotel (thank you for being honest), the staff at the hotel worked with me to send it on to my next location ASAP. I will definitely go back. Only drawback, which I found to be true in most hotels is that there was a charge for Wi-Fi which only worked in the lobby. The charge did not appear on my final bill.

Room Tip: If you enjoy watching the locals, ask for a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranHotelCondeDuque, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Conde Duque for your recent stay in Madrid.

We are grateful your review us in our social networks and Tripadvisor. Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' reviews before booking their own visits. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Gran Hotel Conde Duque the next time you're in Madrid.

Best Regards,
Gran Hotel Conde Duque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
446 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel has character inside, but the exterior is fairly poor. Located in an old area, opposite a square that is poorly maintained. The room is neat and clean. Air conditioning is acceptable. Bar has character, and service is great. Breakfast room is nice; food good and plentiful; service great.
My main complaint is the high coast of wifi. 10 Euros for a day, and the speed is not acceptable. The free wifi is free for 2 hours -- only one log on! Extremely slow.
In this day and age, this is just not acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranHotelCondeDuque, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Conde Duque for your recent stay in Madrid.

Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' reviews before booking their own visits. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve, on reference your comment about WIFI charge, our apologies, this is a problem for us that we are trying to fix for a nearest future

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Gran Hotel Conde Duque the next time you're in Madrid.

Best Regards,
Gran Hotel Conde Duque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located in a great place in the center of the city near San Bernardo. Wi-Fi prices where very high and at the same time Wi-Fi service in my room was almost not usable.
City hotels of this price should at least provide free Wi-Fi to the clients and furthermore Wi-Fi should be of acceptable quality and speed.
On the plus side, breakfast was of very good quality and service was fantastic. The people at the reception went the extra mile to help the guests.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNikolaidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranHotelCondeDuque, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Conde Duque for your recent stay in Madrid.

We have a problem with WIFI, because are a external company, we are trying to fix it, our apologies.


Best regards,
GH Conde Duque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Very pleasant feel in the lobby and in the rooms. Small and cozy restaurant. Nice size rooms with good bathrooms. Good location because its close to the metro. It is not the best neighborhood in Madrid but it is easy to get around. There are two bars in the neighborhood park where you can have a drink and a "tapa".
Be careful with the wi fi charges. Ten euros a day when you need a few minutes seems high. Also, I think I was charged for a day when I did not use it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Himelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranHotelCondeDuque, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Conde Duque for your recent stay in Madrid.

We have sent you an inbox (TripAdvisor inbox)

Best regards, and thank you again.

Gran Hotel Conde Duque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

just returned from a 3 night stay. charming, somewhat dated hotel. rooms very clean with a well stocked mini bar. breakfast plentiful, could have done with more fresh fruit. Took the metro from the airport, 40 mins journey, only 1 change. San Bernardo nearest station, just round the corner. A bit out from city centre, but means handy for exploring the North of the city. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank achmelvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranHotelCondeDuque, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Conde Duque for your recent stay in Madrid.

We’d be grateful if you would review us on our social networks.

Further your comment on TripAdvisor, we have sent an inbox.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Gran Hotel Conde Duque the next time you're in Madrid.

Best Regards,
Gran Hotel Conde Duque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
Axor Barajas Hotel
Axor Barajas Hotel
#89 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Chamberi
Gran Versalles Hotel
Gran Versalles Hotel
#134 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Exe Moncloa
Hotel Exe Moncloa
#195 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Hotel T3 Tirol
Hotel T3 Tirol
#140 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Chamberi
Leonardo Hotel Madrid City Center
Arguelles
Aparto Suites Muralto
Aparto Suites Muralto
#109 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque

Property: Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque
Address: Plaza Conde Valle Suchil, 5, 28015 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Madrid
#95 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#124 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A First Class boutique hotel with 143 rooms situated in a quiet gardened square in the center of Madrid. Close to main places such us Gran Via, Plaza de Espana, Plaza Colon and Paseo de la Castellana among others. Totally renovated, the hotel keeps in all places a high level of maintenance. Very well comunicated, uderground at 200mts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing