We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish Odyessy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque
Ranked #143 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Spanish Odyessy”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a charming room overlooking the park and with a balcony. Comfortable bed, bathroom had a shower / bath. Not as centrally located as we anticipated, however taxi to Prado museum was about 8 euros.
Breakfast was outstanding with good choice and high quality ingredients. Staff were very personable and helpful.
Approximately 200 metres to the left as you leave the hotel is a tapas bar with Fiat 500 memorabilia with great service and great value.
This hotel gave us a great start to our Spanish Odyessy.

Room Tip: Only some front rooms have balconies - great for viewing the park opposite and drying essentials qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heritage255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    367
    122
    31
    8
See reviews for
115
310
89
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I found this hotel to be charming, exuding an old world Spanish charm with art work, a library and comfortable lounge area with attractive decor.

My room faced the park which was tranquil and pleasant although one night there was a lot of noise from people holding a party on the grass. I didn't mind, but others found this disrupted their sleep. Those with quiet back rooms complained that they were small, but mine was very spacious and light. The bed was very comfortable with high quality linen and good lighting.

A curious feature was no shampoo in the bathroom but only a generic dispenser of body wash that left my hair a tangled mess. The man at reception said, "you should have brought your own shampoo" which I found unhelpful. But I discovered an El Corte Ingles department store very close by where you can buy anything you need from clothes to food and cosmetic items.

There are no coffee or tea making facilities in the room, and my travel hot water jug came in handy here and throughout Spain.

There is a computer in the foyer and Wi Fi available in the lounge area with password access, but I there was a lack of staff at busy times such as early morning and evening when groups were checking in and out. My questions regarding the hop on tourist bus and routes to the city centre were greeted with irritation and inaccurate responses.

The breakfast was ok, but the health corner actually contained mostly packaged and high fat and carbohydrate foods. The staff however were outstanding.

The hotel is about 15 minutes on foot from the centre and there is a route (if you can find it) that passes through picturesque streets rather than the main roads. Transport in Madrid is superb and you will find it easy to use the rail system or buses to reach the many places worth visiting in and around Madrid.

Despite a few minor issues, my stay at the Conde Duque was very pleasant and I would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The back rooms are smaller and quiet but the front rooms facing the park are large, have a balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is situated in a quiet street with trees, grass and a childrens play area, and close to metro stations on a couple of lines. Check in was friendly and efficient, and although our room was at the back with no view it was quiet, clean and well furnished. Very extensive buffet breakfast to set you up for the day!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolihullRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were impressed with the hotel. The check in man was very friendly.He upgraded us from the double room to a Terrace Room on the penthouse level. Room was fantastic with a big terrace and nice views.We were also travelling with a single friend and his single room was still large and decorated nicely.Breakfast buffet was large with good choice of food.

Room Tip: It seems all rooms are good size and nicely decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hi just returned from a three day break in Madrid staying at the conde duque hotel we found this hotel very good despite a few poor reveiws the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful the hotel was spotless, clean and the decore very nice the rooms were very good we had one at the rear of the hotel nice and quite, the breakfast was nice you had the option of hot or cold from eggs bacon etc to cold meats cheese fresh fruit etc very good. we walked to the centre 10/15mins lots of shops cafe's bars all in all a very good hotel would go again.

Room Tip: smaller rooms are at the rear and are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barow-in-furness
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Myself and my husband spent 4 days/3 nights at the Gran Hotel Conde Duque during a special 40th treat for my birthday at the end of August. Knowing that it was an extra special weekend the hotel provided us with a lovely terraced room. The room was very clean and had a very comfortable bed, fabulous power shower and spacious wardrobes. The reception and hotel staff, epecially Manuel were exceptionally helpful and couldnt do enough for us. Wi-fi is available in the hotel lobby for around 10 minutes at a time. The breakfast was varied, providing everything from continental (cold meats, salad & lots of fruit) to hot (scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage) and was one of the best european hotel breakfasts we'd ever tasted.

The hotel was situated in a great location overlooking a small park. We were advised against paying 50 euros for a taxi from the airport to the hotel and decided on the metro instead which is really simple to use. Pink line from T4 to Mar De Cristal and then change onto the brown line to San Bernardo. This cost 10 euros for both of us. When getting off the metro turn left and walk approx 200 yards on the same side of the road and then turn right into the park, the Gran Hotel is on the left near the trees.

The best way to see the city of Madrid is by buying a 2 day open top bus trip for approx 25 euros each but you get 2 routes to hop on and hop off at any time. You can buy these tickets at the hotel reception or by walking approx 10 minutes to the main 'west end' street at the end of the road. The reception staff drew this out on a map for us as we didnt have a clue where we were. Once you have been on the bus you then start to get your bearings and it gives you ideas for meals and visit attractions for your duration.

The square at Sol has numerous bars, restaurants available as well as street entertainment. A frequent user ticket for the metro is also beneficial which will get you to places quickly but single tickets only cost 1 euro 50 cent each. A trip to the Bernabeu (Real Madrid football stadium) is also recommended (travel on route 2 of the open top bus tour) and costs 16 euros each - well worth a visit as you get to visit most of the stadium.

Overall Madrid was a fabulous place to visit and we would definitely recommend the Gran Hotel as a fabulous place to stay which is very well located to commute to the city centre. Remember as we had been advised - Madrid is not your typical spanish holiday resort and most menus are completely in Spanish with very little English so it might be advisable to know a little of the lingo!

Room Tip: There are limited rooms with balcony's at this hotel but well worth getting one in the summer ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dicko28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I booked a long weekend in Madrid to celebrate my wife Nicky's birthday.
We had three nights in The Gran Hotel Conde Duque, & from the minute we arrived to the minute we left everything was perfect! The staff were friendly & attentive, & the rooms were immaculate. We will definitely go back to Madrid - it is a beautiful city - & when we do we will definitely be staying at the Conde Duque!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob_the_Bass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
Leonardo Hotel Madrid City Center
Chamberi
Hotel One Shot Luchana 22
Hotel One Shot Luchana 22
#70 of 435 in Madrid
673 reviews
Chamberi
Gran Versalles Hotel
Gran Versalles Hotel
#150 of 435 in Madrid
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Exe Moncloa
Hotel Exe Moncloa
#195 of 435 in Madrid
634 reviews
Chamberi
Leonardo Boutique Hotel Madrid
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#26 of 435 in Madrid
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque

Property: Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque
Address: Plaza Conde Valle Suchil, 5, 28015 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Madrid
#100 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#124 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A First Class boutique hotel with 143 rooms situated in a quiet gardened square in the center of Madrid. Close to main places such us Gran Via, Plaza de Espana, Plaza Colon and Paseo de la Castellana among others. Totally renovated, the hotel keeps in all places a high level of maintenance. Very well comunicated, uderground at 200mts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing