We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdated rooms but good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of NH Madrid Balboa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Madrid Balboa
Ranked #187 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Outdated rooms but good location”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel rooms need for sure a renovation but have been clean and okay. The AirCon blew some wind but did not cool the room down.
Nevertheless the location is great and you can take a bus from the airport nearly to the place or find a metro station nearyby. The hotel staff has been really friendly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    331
    159
    47
    15
See reviews for
116
172
49
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hotel is located in an excellent neiborhood (Salamanca). Nearby restaurants, two blocks from subway station (Nuñez de Balboa). Serrano and Castellana streets are also nearby for bus transportation.
Friendly staff at front desk and cafeteria. Only breakfast is served but is very well served.
I was there by mid October (10-20). Outside temperature in Madrid was Max. 26C Min.10C, so it was very nice and fair. The hotel decided to shut down AC because it was autumm. Rooms became very hot and opening windows was very noisy because of street life. It became a nighmare during nights. Imagine during daytime. Lots of sweating. It was impossible to convince management that though it is Autumn, outside temperature deserved the use of AC. Don't know if I can recommend it or will come back.

Room Tip: Avoid outside rooms. Too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I've stayed in NH Balboa for 6 nights and the best part of it was the breakfast because of his variety and the good taste of everything. The people at the hotel is very kind and eager to help the traveler. The internet service is very good also, the only problem is that you need to register every time you go inside the hotel. The bad things are they still have smokers room and they put me in one without asking me, was so annoying to smell cigarettes all day. Another bad thing was the cleaning, the first day I saw some hairs in the shower curtain, and you can tell that the cleaning staff do not make the beds with great effort because you can see the wrinkles in the sheets.
Although the location is good for business mostly (there is no madrid attractions near) I would not go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank alejandra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The NH Balboa was great overall, but I should note that we were at the hotel for less than 8 hours (we checked in very late and were up early for a flight). The staff was accommodating and helpful when asking questions and needing to accommodate our itinerary. As several others noted, the value was excellent and I would not hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Quiet location, reasonably priced clean hotel. Breakfast good, and staff very friendly. Location ideal for getting to tourist attractions, within walking distance of underground.

No bar on site, but little local bar across the road basic but very friendly and we were made very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've stayed with a 3 year old boy and they put me in a smoking floor and apartment. It took me a while for the front desk to understand the situation. Nice breakfast (what saves the overall aspects). Room very simple. The air seems to not be working in its full capacity. At the end good deal for the buck, nothing more.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgvieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a stripped down hotel but very usefully located and excellent value for money. They have clean rooms and beds - not hugely comfortable - and the air conditioning on a very hot day in Madrid doesn't cool very well, but you can't beat less than 100 Euros a night. They also serve a decent breakfast. The staff are spectacular. Friendly, kind and opened the breakfast for me a half an hour early because I had an early flight. WiFi is OK and a bit fiddly but again, can't beat the value for money and it's my go to hotel in Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Principe de Vergara
Barrio de Salamanca
Melia Galgos
Melia Galgos
#143 of 444 in Madrid
1,438 reviews
NH Madrid Chamberi
#162 of 444 in Madrid
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Suites Barrio de Salamanca Hotel
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Lagasca
NH Madrid Lagasca
#193 of 444 in Madrid
466 reviews
NH Madrid Zurbano
#107 of 444 in Madrid
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Madrid Balboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Madrid Balboa

Property: NH Madrid Balboa
Address: Calle Nunez de Balboa 112, 28006 Madrid, Spain (Formerly NH Balboa)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#144 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Madrid Balboa 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a highly esteemed location downtown, the 122-room NH Madrid Balboa hotel in Madrid combines quiet charm with a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Madrid Balboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Balboa Hotel Madrid
Nh Balboa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing