We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit no-frills, but perfectly decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Madrid Paseo de la Habana
Ranked #251 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A bit no-frills, but perfectly decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

I was attending a conference at the bigger, plusher, shinier NH Eurobuilding nearby, but they hadn't got any rooms left, so I stayed at NH La Habana instead.

It gave the impression of a busy hotel with high nightly turnaround, which would make sense given its proximity to the football stadium, but as a result it felt rather impersonal and perfunctory.

I can't complain about the comfort of the room, the quality of sleep or the breakfast - all were fine, but nothing to write home about. The reception staff were efficient though there was a long queue for both checkin and checkout.

In a nutshell, if you need to be in that particular area of Madrid for business or a football match, this place does the job, though you won't be gushing about it to the neighbours when you get home.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank megpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    251
    164
    61
    41
See reviews for
98
115
50
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

We booked this hotel solely for its location (2 steps from where my friend's wedding was being held) and the good reputation of the NH chain. We were really disappointed that the service provided was definitely not that of a 4 star hotel. Probably not even 3 star.

We paid for two "double superior" rooms, which were actually tiny. We asked for double beds and were given twin beds, which kept sliding away from each other. There is no car park as such in the hotel, but they told us they would book a space in a nearby car park. We turned up only to find out they hadn't and there were no spaces left.

The floors were very dirty. Our room did not get cleaned, even though we were out for 5 hours in the morning and 6 hours in the evening and specifically asked for it to be cleaned. When we asked for more shampoo and shower gel, as it had not been replaced, we were told, in a rather rude way, to go down to the lobby to get it if we wanted it before 9 am. The plug hole in the bath did not work and we had to shower with water up to our knees.

We will be writing a formal complaint letter to the NH chain managers to inform them of the poor performance of this hotel. Madrid is a very competitive market, and there are dozens of hotels that offer a much better service for a similar price, if not cheaper.

Room Tip: Do not book ANY room here if you can avoid it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
146 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

I was invited to give conferences in a Madrid university and they booked in this hotel because it was in the neighborhood . Unfortunately i confirmed the bad opinion I already had of Nh chain. The single room was tiny, the bed next to the wall and little space to work. If I wanted wireless in the room I would have to pay so I preferred to work on the lobby where I could get 30 minutes of wireless. Yesterday I had to check out two hours before my conference (or else I would have to pay by the hour to keep my room...).I decided to eat an hamburger in the cafeteria which reviewing my notes and during the night I felt nauseous and today I was diagnosed with mild food poisoning. And the worst thing was the service:rude staff, not a smile or an excuse when people complained because there was no more hot milk or coffee in the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsabelTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for the football spurs v real game. I found the staff very frendly & helpful
I had a single room the room was very small but adequart ,no tea making facelity in room,good selection of toiletries in the bathroom.The breakfast was e18-00 for a buffet style,The bed in the bedroom kept moving away from the wall as it had wheels on it the floor was a lamanate.
The hotel was very clean and pleasent,but I have stayed in better 3 star hotels. I would stay hear again but only for a short stay.
The hotel is great access to real madrid 's ground and the metro is a short walk away which can give you great access to other parts of madrid. taxi fare to the airport was e24,but the metro is e3.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

I booked this via a lastminute.com special offer and was rather worried to read the reviews on here. In practice it was fine. I paid for a single room but they gave me a double; nice big comfortable bed; nothing wrong with the decor that I could see - spacious bathroom, lovely tangerine-scented toiletries. The room was hot but hey you can always open the window. The safe was big enough to put my laptop in. I had my dongle so didn't use the free internet but NB if you want to use it you do need an ethernet cable. There was no sign of tea+coffee making facilities in my room but to be fair I wasn't bothered and didn't ask about it.
Despite being on a main road it was not especially noisy - no noisy nightly bin collecting here!
The chambermaid was a sweetie, always with a happy smile; the reception staff were very helpful, making phone calls for me when I had problems with my inadequate grasp of Spanish, and printing boarding passes etc. Moreover this hotel has ramps everywhere so is presumably wheelchair friendly, but certainly very useful if like me you have heavy luggage. No complaints at all and I will stay here again if I need to be in the Castellana area of Madrid another time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinahTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

This is the only supposedly three star hotel that I have ever stayed in that does cannot supply an iron or ironing board to guests. They suggested that if I wish to dre-wrinkle my shirts and trousers after unpacking them, that I pay to send them out!

Not only did in-room internet not work when I checked in, but also I was unable to receive incoming calls (from a Sunday at about 15:00 to Monday at about 10:30).

In short, NOT up to NH's usual standard, and not a "three star" facility.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

A group of colleagues stayed at this hotel in Madrid for a whole week. Since it was a 4 stars we expected certain comfort and privileges but we quicly realised the hotel is really dated, old, expensive, locations isn't great either... the area is dead.
The service was not particularly nice and the worst bit... NO FREE WI-FI... si you pay ££ for your room (which by the way was tiny!) and then if you would like to check your email you either go to the lobby where you have 30 min free WIFI or you pay an outrageous 10EUR per day! on top of it all! VERY BAD and therefore not recommended!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bex_UK_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
0.4 mi away
AC Hotel Aitana
AC Hotel Aitana
#159 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Cuzco
AC Hotel Cuzco
#168 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Madrid
Holiday Inn Madrid
#281 of 445 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Madrid Eurobuilding
0.7 mi away
H10 Tribeca
H10 Tribeca
#152 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Senator Castellana Hotel
Senator Castellana Hotel
#257 of 445 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Madrid Paseo de la Habana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Madrid Paseo de la Habana

Property: NH Madrid Paseo de la Habana
Address: Paseo Habana 73 | Chamartin, 28036 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Family Hotel in Madrid
#155 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Madrid Paseo de la Habana 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the NH Madrid Paseo de la Habana as your vacation base in Madrid and enjoy your special location in the heart of this vibrant city's commercial and business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Madrid Paseo de la Habana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh La Habana Hotel Madrid
Nh La Habana Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing