We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$121
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
NH Hotels
$121
View deal
FindHotel
$112
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
Expedia.com$121
Hotels.com$121
getaroom.com$122
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,206)
Filter reviews
1,206 results
Traveler rating
542
492
99
47
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
542
492
99
47
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atocha station reina sofia botanical gardens business trip hotel is located minute walk location is great the ground floor rooms are small spent nights comfortable room street noise wonderful hotel standard room reception staff galleries mattresses
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1,206 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2019 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and would like to say that the location of this hotel is superb for travellers who are on foot. It is near the Airport Bus Stop, near the Madrid Train Station, walking distance to all 3 famous museums in Madrid, the Musuem del Prado, Reina Sofia Musuem and Thyssen Bornemisza Musuem. It is also walking distance to Puerta del Sol and The Royal Palace.

The only flaw is the hotel reception is somehow unfriendly, and the amenities are minimal. There is a Mcdonald next to the hotel and it was crowded with the overnight party hang over people night and early morning, and it was quite scary experience.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank chunchongbeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019 via mobile

We were referred to this hotel by a friend who frequents Madrid and we were not disappointed! First off, the location puts you in walking distance for the museums and restaurants....the staff provided great customer service and the breakfast buffet is outstanding. Even room service food was excellent. The only negative was the restaurant Tablafina on the mail level. I'm not sure if it is run by NH or not, though. But the service was pretty lame (bad attitude) and the food was not very good. Other than that one negative, the hotel exceeded expectations!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

The hotel is located extremely close to the Prado Museum, Reina Sofia Museum, The Thyssen and many other amazing sites in Madrid. The staff was friendly, the amenities were great and everything was spotless. We stayed for one night only and they were happy to hold our bags for us before and after we checked in and out which allowed us to travel freely around the city. We didn't try the breakfast but the hotel's restaurant is amazing for an affordable and wonderful dining experience.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PickyT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

Good room, clean, with very good connection to internet. The breakfast is of good quality and quantity. The most important is the excellent localization, near the heart of the city, close to the principal institutions.

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank H7830QRcarlosf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019 via mobile

Initial impression was of amazement as the front is nothing like the photos show. The lobby is being worked on so a bit of a hassle with amenities. Lets start with the......

Cons - Not impressed with the front desk staff trying to push a room upgrade to a more expensive room, bar was sort of worked on so it was closed off and couldn’t be used. Room was very small and to be honest it wasn’t that clean. The walls were dirty and the skirting boards were scuffed in loads of places. Who in their right mind puts a bless door to the toilet/shower room(be it a frosted one) it still is not the usual thing. Tiles cracked and no extractor fan so the room was turned into a sauna. The quilts provided were stained. The daily cleaning was by ‘invite’ only by placing a tag on the door and the same for fresh towels. When the beds were made that is all that was done and the sheets were not changed unless asked. The hotel was very noisy with people slamming doors especially at night and as it’s very close to the train/metro the rumbling trains can be felt. Front desk staff were not that accommodating when asked questions about transport and immediately pointed to the taxi service. It would be great to have just one English Channel to watch, the exception was BBC News. No bottled water in the room(upgraded room only). No explanation that when you enter the room you have to place one of the magnetic cards into a slot to activate the lighting system.

Pros- very close to the centre, excellent breakfast. Housekeeping & Restaurant staff were very helpful.

I have traveled extensively on business and leisure so do have experience of different hotels but no way would I rate this as a 4 Star hotel, the most that I would be prepared to give would be 3 Stars. Unfortunately I will have to pass on any future stays in this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank paulhavers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoeliaPais, Director de Relaciones Públicas at NH Madrid Nacional, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2019

Dear Paul,

Thank you for sharing your experience at NH Nacional Hotel.

We really appreciate your extended comment with pros and cons. Thanks to comments like yours, we get able to keep improving our facilities and services. We have took note and started working on them.

Hope we can welcome you back in your next trip to Madrid so we can offer you now a perfect stay.
Do not hesitate to directly manage your reservation and put myself on your disposal.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews