We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,206)
Filter reviews
1,206 results
Traveler rating
542
492
99
47
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
542
492
99
47
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atocha station reina sofia botanical gardens business trip hotel is located minute walk location is great the ground floor rooms are small spent nights comfortable room street noise wonderful hotel standard room reception staff galleries mattresses
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 1,206 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2019 via mobile

Excellent location! Train station is just within 10 minutes walk while metro station within 2 minutes walk!. The breakfast is fabulous. Free water and fruits are provided in the lobby which is amazing esp in a super hot weather!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank DennisSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoeliaPais, Director de Relaciones Públicas at NH Madrid Nacional, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019

Dear Dennis,

Thank you for sharing your experience at NH Nacional Hotel.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us thanks to our prime location, breakfast service and our little welcome details.
Comments like yours are our best reward to our daily work.

Hope we can welcome you back in your next trip to Madrid.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2019 via mobile

Stayed at the NH Nacional for 2 nights at the beginning of July. The location is convenient for those traveling to and from the main train station (few minutes' walk), and it's proximity to Retiro Park and museums etc, it is by no means deserves the level of a four-star hotel in the area. The room was noisy with doors slamming pretty continuously from 7 -9am. Housekeeping, while nice, started aggressively cleaning rooms beginning at 8am! All you could hear all morning, even with the double doors they have for the rooms closed, were constant door slams and vacuuming noise. As another reviewer has mentioned, wifi is extremely slow, elevators slow and small, sink basically non-existent. But the worse of all was the filthiness in the room! I'll let the pictures speak for themselves! I wiped the edge above the floor and it's so full of dust that it looked like it's hasn't been cleaned in months! I really hope the management would take notice of this very serious problem.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank kentan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoeliaPais, Director de Relaciones Públicas at NH Madrid Nacional, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2019

Dear Kentan8,

Thank you for sharing your experience at NH Nacional Hotel.

We appreciate you positively value our prime location, close to the main spots in town as well as well-communicated thanks to our proximity to Atocha Train Station.

We have took note about the points you have mentioned in order to be able to improve our facilities and services.

Hope we can welcome you back in your next trip to Madrid. We are sure to be able to offer you a perfect stay.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2019

Perfect location wtih easy access to the gardens, museum, and a short walk to a variety of restaurants . The employees are very pleasant and helpful. There is an extensive breakfast included in the room rate, suitable for adults with or without children.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Lewis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoeliaPais, Director de Relaciones Públicas at NH Madrid Nacional, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Dear Lewis,

Thank you for sharing your experience at NH Nacional Hotel.

We are delighted to see you have enjoyed your stay with us, thanks to our prime location, services and thanks to our team. Comments like yours are our best reward to our daily work.

We appreciate your words and hope we can welcome you back in your next trip to Madrid!

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2019

This very large comfortable room, with a view of the fountain in front of the Prado, was perfect for my two last nights in Madrid. I could easily walk to The Reina Sofia, maybe six blocks, and then back to the Thyssen Bornemisza which is less than two blks the other way, the botantial gardens were across the street and I managed to squeeze in a Prado highlights tour.
Elana, the concierge, was most helpful in making reservations, and getting me in touch with friends because there was a big marathon race that had traffic blocked on Sunday, but she knew how to reroute them to pick me up close by.
The management sent a welcoming dessert plate. I would highly recommend this luxury hotel and would stay here next visit. I even recommended to my friends who always stay only next Door when in Madrid. Free bottled water too.

Room tip: View of fountain
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jm_judi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoeliaPais, Director de Relaciones Públicas at NH Madrid Nacional, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019

Dear jm_judi,

Thank you for sharing your experience at NH Nacional Hotel.

We are delighted to read such a wonderfull comment and to know you have had a fantastic stay with us, thanks in a part to us! We love our work and we are always willing to help our clients.
To know we have done it right and we have achieved your expectations is our best reward.

Hope we can welcome you back or any of your friends and relatives in your next trip to Madrid.
Do not hesitate to directly contact to us if you require anything.

Yours faithfully,



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2019

This is my second visit to this hotel. The room was again large and facing an inner court, which was quiet. The noise came from within the hotel: the marble floors in the hallway makes it unfortunately rather loud. There was a door between the entrance and the bedroom which I could close, but without it it might have disturbed me. Otherwise, room was clean and comfortable. The A/C worked and safe was large enough for laptop. No complimentary water, but expensive minibar. Breakfast was average-to-good. Again, the elevators were agonisingly slow. Staff at check-out became unfriendly when I asked to change the billing address (had asked them the night before to speed up check-out, but this seems to be a problem with the NH system, not the hotel). Overall, this hotel is ok for a few nights on business.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Springbank_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoeliaPais, Director de Relaciones Públicas at NH Madrid Nacional, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019

Dear Springbank_21,

Thank you for sharing your experience at NH Nacional Hotel.

We are glad to see you have repeated your experience with us.
Also, we appreciate that you have shared your opinion so we get able to improve our services. We have took note about your comment about noise and we are trying to solve this issue.

Besides, we are really sorry if you felt unconfortable during check-out, for sure, it was not our intention. We are always willing to help and serve our clients.

Hope we can welcome you back a a third ocassion in order to offer you a perfect stay.
We remain on your disposal.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews