We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdated hotel with stroppy service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Madrid City Center
Ranked #205 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Level Contributor
462 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Outdated hotel with stroppy service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The rooms are small and old, the beds are unconfortable and have long pillows (who uses them anymore?!?) and the bathrooms fall to pieces. The receptionists are stroppy and they do not make any efforts to feel you welcome (what about telling me about the wifi password at check-in BEFORE I ask for it from the room without forcing me to come down and collect it?).

Breakfast is poor and overcrowded. On top of this, sleep quality is compromised by the wooden floors which assure you noise at every given hour of the night.

I will ask my company to take it out from our list for sure.

Room Tip: Don't come to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zia_Angelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    327
    221
    55
    20
See reviews for
136
292
53
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were in for a shock when we entered the room, we had heard the mid size hotels rooms were basic but this is v basic. Having said that, the room was clean and comfortable (linen not v clean) but after a while we didn't care. It is convenient, the staff was super helpful (I left 2 pieces of my jewellery on the side board and called from Toledo, the receptionist kept it safely). For the price, the hotel is fine, breakfast is good and rooms clean! We would stay here again, esp for the staff!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripper2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel was ok. Staff is excellent, but the rooms you can here other people... Worst WIFI ever.. Runs really slow...plus the password changes every day... Why not do it like most hotels and tie to last name and room #?

I gave it 3 stars only due to their excellent staff.

Room Tip: Get a room on lower lovel or close to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsinha7975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I didn't expect the world when I booked a three star hotel. What I didn't expect is a two separate beds with wheels on them that would move if you sat on them, or lay on them.
Every morning, the beds were moved around, a friend fell through the two of them when she sat in the middle of them.
Every morning I hear the service personnel knocking on my neighbors' doors and walk around in their rooms. I'd be surprised if the walls were made of much more than wood.

Positive is only the Wifi, which is free, even though it's advertised as free only in the lobby.
You can get coupons for 24 hours of free Wifi at the reception. It's really poor quality, though. For free, of course, that's better than nothing.

For me, it was the first and last time in an NH hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Within ten minutes of booking in for a two night stay I was looking on the Internet for a hotel for my second night. Depressing room, noisy air con, not very clean and just grim. Can't vouch for neighbourhood or location as not staying long enough to find out!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KH_London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

LOCATION: The hotel is located in a good neighborhood between two metro stop, There is some stores and café and a Corte ingles that is big department store. It is few metro stop from the centrum, so if you are a tourist looking for good and nice price hotel, these one is recommended.

HOTEL: The lobby is very simple, the person front desk are amable, except for one, that is kind of rude, they have a breakfast also recommended if they offer you the promotion off 50% off, if they offer you for full price forget about it, go outside and have breakfast in one of the café. The breakfast have scramble eggs, sausage, sort of breads and pastry, ham, cheese, fruit, coffee, milk and chocolate powder. The hole place is very well keep it, and have 4 elevator, that will keep you run in even in rush-hours.

THE ROOM: It is a very nice and big room, will flat tv, minibar, airco, security box, toiletries amenities and extra blankets and pillows. The room was clean and made every day, also if you choose to they will change your towels every day.

CONCLUSION: If you are looking for a place outside of the center, good quality-price relation, and still close enough to take either cab or metro and be there in 5 to 6 minutes, or even walking, these is your place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

NH is nicely located near the center of Madrid and at the same time with easy access to the highway. the rooms and hotel are nice. but the facility is a bit old. for instance there's only two power outlets in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidrusseleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
Leonardo Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chamberi
Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque
Arguelles
Hotel T3 Tirol
Hotel T3 Tirol
#146 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Aparto Suites Muralto
Aparto Suites Muralto
#100 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Jardin Metropolitano
#50 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel One Shot Luchana 22
Hotel One Shot Luchana 22
#66 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Madrid City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Madrid City Center

Property: Leonardo Hotel Madrid City Center
Address: Calle Alberto Aguilera 18 | Chamberi, 28015 Madrid, Spain (Formerly NH Madrid Alberto Aguilera)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Business Hotel in Madrid
#145 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Madrid City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Madrid City Center welcomes guests to a comfortable, modern hotel, ideally located in the Arguelles neighborhood in Madrid's city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Madrid City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Alberto Aguilera Hotel Madrid
Nh Alberto Aguilera Madrid
Nh Hotels Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing