We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend in Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Madrid Principe de Vergara
Ranked #61 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great weekend in Madrid”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Checked in for three nights. Got the hotel as a secret 4 star hotel through Last Minute and wasn't disappointed. Room was stylish, modern and clean and about a 25 minute walk from town centre. Close to metro with great local cafes for breakfast and a handy supermarket nearby. The staff were pleasant and helpful, particularly Laura who gave us lots of good advice on where to eat and what to to see. Unfortunately, there was no hotel bar. However, with so many places nearby, this was not a big concern. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and use it again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneRamsay5761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    582
    101
    11
    13
See reviews for
177
386
62
490
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We checked in for two nights at this hotel as part of a last minute.com secret hotel package.
Check in normally is from 3pm but we were allowed to check in at noon which was great since we had our bags from the airport with us.
The hotel is very modern, and air conditioned throughout. We stayed in room 401, which was of a decent size, and had a great bathroom with a "rainfall" shower built into the ceiling. We didn't have much of a view, but this wasn't a problem as we kept the curtains shut to keep the room cool.
Whilst I would stay here again, there were only a few small things which annoyed me. First of all - there is no ironing boards in the room or available from reception, so I had to go out looking disheveled some nights. Whilst there is a laundry service, it's not convenient to have to pay and then wait 4hrs or so when all you want to do is quickly press a shirt. Secondly the rooms have no tea/coffee facilities in them, although there is a restaurant downstairs.

Room Tip: End corridor rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afairley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is in a great location - central, very close to decent shopping, and not difficult to get to and from the airport.

The rooms are modern, stylish and comfortable with everything you need. The hotel staff were pleasant and very helpful - all in all, a good place to stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeroenvdL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We got this hotel as a 'secret hotel part of a last minute package. This hotel is like a few short-stay travel lodges I've stayed at recently. Nicely refurbished with pleasant, modern decor, decent facilities such as TV, hair dryer, room safe etc, good location (about 20 minute walk from the main art galleries) and polished service. However, on the downside, it also has that annoying "add-on" options as offered by cheap airlines and lodges. Want a better view - 20 euros more. Want wifi? 30 minutes for 10 euros. Want breakfast...you get the picture. Some of these matter less than others, but for a city hotel, the lack of free wifi is somewhat annoying. Also, it adds a cheaper air to what otherwise looks like a pretty nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27thstring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The room was a bit small, not what I would expect from a 4 star hotel. The room itself was quite ok, nothing to complaint about, except the size.

Internet is free only in the lobby. There is an expensive internet service available in the rooms. If you consider that internet is available for free even in the cheapest b&b, this business model of charging for the internet is really nonsense.

Breakfast was quite good. Buffet with lost of options.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have booked one night in NH Principe de Vergara as a stopover in Madrid. I have read previous reviews and decided to try. I have to admit, that this was one of the most pleasant hotel experiences I've ever had. I would love to have other hotels to be as good as this property!

From the airport you could get there using metro with one change only - just follow clear instructions on the hotel's website.

Check-in was quick, efficient and totally hassle-free. All reception staff was professional and natural at the same time. I loved that approach. All questions answered with any unnecessary questions or procedures.

Lobby is very modern, bright and decorated with light-colours.

I've got room #704. I didn't expect much, but I was delighted with the room. Trendy, modern, up-to-date decor. Spotless clean and fresh and I think selection of colours and materials chosen are great. Air-condition was quiet and easy to use. Flat screen TV, free safety deposit box, phone, fridge, large wardrobe are only few amenities there. What is worth pointing, that prices of the mini-bar are very reasonable and fair - you can easily use that and your pocket will not be emptied as in other hotels for the same stuff.
There is a Wi-Fi Internet access and price is 10,80 EUR for 24h - acceptable. Connection is fast and non-problematic log-in.

Bathroom was another masterpiece of hotel design. Glass-walled shower, large mirror, hair-dryer, selection of good quality toiletries and fluffy towels is provided. Actually, I'd love to buy some of these cosmetics in the future.

Unfortunately I didn’t have chance to try their breakfast, but room looked really inviting early in the morning.

Overall my experience of the NH Principe de Vergara Hotel was very good. Definitely I can recommend it to my friends, clients (I'm a travel consultant) and fellow travellers. This is great choice and I'm sure I will be back there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marqoos_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had a nice 2 nights stay in Madrid at this 4 stars hotel.
The location is good, the rooms are clean and modern, breakfast very fancy.
The Wi-Fi connection was available only in the lobby and for 30 minutes ....then we had to ask for a new user i.d and password and start again. Very inconvenient.
The staff wasn't very friendly. When we arrived for breakfast, 15 minutes before closing time, they showed us the watch, implying that we should leave. We didn't leave, we had a nice breakfast, while they were trying to pack everything as quik as they could.
Hoping that the staff will improve their attitude we will stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorinaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pvergara, General Manager at NH Madrid Principe de Vergara, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Florina

Many thanks for you comments; We are sorry you felt unsatified with your experience during your stay

Of course, we are glad to hear the points to be improved; we are always willing to improvement

We hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid

Kind regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#37 of 435 in Madrid
626 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Balboa
NH Madrid Balboa
#196 of 435 in Madrid
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Madrid Ventas
#56 of 435 in Madrid
697 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Madrid Principe de Vergara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Madrid Principe de Vergara

Property: NH Madrid Principe de Vergara
Address: Calle Principe de Vergara 92, 28006 Madrid, Spain (Formerly NH Principe de Vergara)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Madrid
#35 Business Hotel in Madrid
#46 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#47 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Madrid Principe de Vergara 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Madrid Principe de Vergara hotel is centrally located in Madrid's posh and exclusive Salamanca district, close to the city's chic shopping areas, such as Goya, Serrano and Velazquez streets, as well as numerous bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Madrid Principe de Vergara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Principe De Vergara Hotel Madrid
Nh Hotels Madrid
Nh Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing