We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highs and Lows of Husa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Madrid Princesa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Courtyard Madrid Princesa
Ranked #328 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Highs and Lows of Husa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Food.
Breakfast was ok, typical Hotel fayre, if not a little chaotic due to the layout of the restaurant.
Dinner was poor. The menu lacks imagination, is limited in choice and the food poorly executed. It is not anywhere close to that expected of a 4 star Hotel.

Rooms.
Stayed in a club room which apparently have been recently refurbished, although the bathroom looked as if iit had been overlooked (cracked, loose floor tile, paintwork scruffy)
The room was bright, clean and airy, with plenty of space. The bed was very comfortable, which is the most important feature for meI of a Hotel. There was some traffic noise evident, despite being on the 6th floor.
The Husa is located in the North West of Madrid, just outside the central area but only a few steps away from Aguelles Metro Station. It is very easy to negotiate Madrid on the Metro, so not too important to stay in the centre. A 3 day pass is around €18.
If visiting Madrid again I would consider staying here but unless the menu and the food is improved upon, would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for your review and your constructive feedback. Your comments will help us to improve our standards. We look forward to welcome you in a very near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    565
    373
    186
    153
See reviews for
336
480
70
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Visited Madrid as part of a stag weekend. We booked because it was cheap but were really surprised by this hotel which came in the package we purchased. Bottle of cava on ice and fruit in arrival. Rooms were large and very comfortable. Lots of complimentary items in the room and good stocked bar. Breakfast was amazing lots of choice and would defy anybody not to like something. Staff helpful and attentive. Nice outside area and situated in nice location. Near enough to main attractions but not too close as to suffer from the crowds. Can't wait to visit Madrid again and stay at this hotel. Some of the bad reviews this hotel has are not founded and obviously made by extremely fussy people who just like to moan.
Thanks for a great time

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nige12208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review. We make every effort to maintain the high standards of quality service delivery and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay. We are very glad to know you enjoyed your stay in the Husa Princesa and your visit to Madrid. Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcome you back soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I've just come back from a three night stay at this hotel and can thoroughly recommend it. I can only assume from the standards we found, that the people complaining about it are either never satisfied or have reviewed the wrong hotel.
Firstly, its location.. right by the centre on a main road and less than a minute's walk from the metro. Many of the attractions of Madrid are in walking distance, although admittedly a fairly long walk - better to get a tourist pass (easily available and not expensive) and use the metro to go places. Despite its proximity to a large, busy road, the hotel is well soundproofed and there was very little traffic noise.
Breakfast... was included in the stay and the selection was incredible, had everything you could even dream of eating and then some.
The welcome... we got to our room to find a bottle of cava on ice and a plate of fruit waiting for us, this was a welcome gift from the hotel and a very nice surprise.
The room... large and comfortable and tastefully decorated, huge wardrobes, safe, not so mini bar and a good sized bathroom Bed was large and comfortable (admittedly two singles pushed together but that seems pretty typical in Spain)
The staff.... very polite and business like, they got friendlier and more relaxed as we got to know them over the visit - and I did see them taking some abuse they did not deserve from other guests over really stupid petty things.
Everything else... lifts a little slow but no big deal, internet free (need to get a password from reception every 24 hours, there's a paid version but the free version works fine if a little slow) Swimming pool... didn't try it out, you have to wear a swim hat by the way (again very typical in Spain) and you can get one from reception. Restaurant, there's a nice little outside terrace where you can have sandwichy type foods and/or a drink. Try the Tinto de Verano, its wine and lemonade which is very refreshing on a hot day. the upstairs restaurant does more formal meals, we ate there once and the set menu was reasonably priced and very good food.
what more can I say? I liked the hotel very much, I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kehlan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for your charming review of your stay at Husa Princesa it is always especially pleasing to hear such great feedback .Our team is focused on delivering the highest quality of standards we are known for and I'm glad we have demonstrated it during your stay. I'm delighted that you loved our facilities and the great location of the hotel. We wait for your next visit. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed in room 255 in the refurbished part of the hotel. The room was clean, large and the beds were comfy. It was well placed for a city break, we used the hop on hop off tourist bus and the stop wasn't too far away as were the normal bus stop and metro stations. Breakfast was great and for what we paid I was pleasantly surprised. We had all the complimentary toiletries and had a bottle of cava and fresh fruit on arrival.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for the review you posted on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you had a nice stay We look forward to welcoming back again one day soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed here because my boss asked me to stay at a hotel close to hers (Melia Pincesa was booked)...the hotel was clean, but it was very outdated, the location also wasn't very good. I've stayed at other hotels in Madrid that I would definitely would recommend (like Preciados or Melia Princesa). To top it off, I was given a 'coupon' for their breakfast, which made it 10Euro and it was the worst hotel breakfast I had in Europe! I traveled there for work this past june, I was in Europe 15 days, stayed in 10 different hotels and this was by far the worst...it was packed (lots of hands touching the buffet)...but what made it the worst was that the orange juice (zumo), which is normally excellent in Europe, especially in Spain...was watered down!!! one of the employees told me to try the pineapple one because that one was better. I had to leave there and go to a coffee shop down the street.

Room Tip: just go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvira E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Der guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear your experience did not meet your expectations.Your comments will help us to improve our standards. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

First of all if you have booked the Husa Princesa, do NOT believe the latest reviews. We have just come back from a four day break (yesterday) and after reading them was not looking forward to it. The moans were about the food, the lifts, the lack of complimentary toiletries etc. What we had was a very large room (standard), very clean with embroidered towels and replaced everyday. Toiletries provided were body milk, shampoo, soap, shower cap and comb. We also had a sewing pack,shoe cleaning sponge,a shoe horn, emery board and a trouser press. The safe is free and wi fi free for half an hour.We had a bottle of cava in an ice bucket, fresh fruit and the fridge was fully stocked with drinks. The staff were very good, the choice of food at breakfast was really good and pllenty of it.I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would certainly return. Madrid was amazing and we bought a three day metro pass for 18.40 euros and it was well worth it. Metro was spotless and the easiest way to get around.

Room Tip: twelve floors we were on the 11th, no problems with the lifts (there are three) and very quiet, room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind advise to TripAdvisor readers and we very much appreciate your review regarding your stay with us. We are very happy to know you enjoyed our hotel and we look forward to welcome you back soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Booked the hotel and did not expect a lot for what we paid WHAT A GREAT HOTEL! Our room was large and comfortable had everything we needed okay if you were really petty some scuffs in places but good shower really comfy beds and what a breakfast not even a fusspot could complain the selection was amazing plus real coffee via the nespresso machines. The staff were always friendly and helpful the main lounge was airy and bright we came for our nightcap and to read at end of wonderful days in Madrid. The metro and bus stops just outside the hotel so no need for taxis to from airport. We will be back to Madrid and this is the hotel we will return to.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizilizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay at the Husa Princesa. We are very glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#148 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Centro
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#66 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
#158 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Malasana
Dear Hotel Madrid
Dear Hotel Madrid
#130 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Madrid Princesa

Property: Courtyard Madrid Princesa
Address: Calle Princesa 40, 28015 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel Husa Princesa)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Madrid Princesa 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Madrid Princesa is set in the heart of Madrid's political, commercial, historic and cultural centre. Walking distance from Plaza de Espana, Gran Via, Royal Palace. In Arguelles district next to El Corte Ingles, department store. It offers 423 rooms and suites which are all air conditioned and have an en-suite bathroom, personal desk, smoke detectors and a fire-sprinkler system. It also boasts conference rooms and banquet halls for between 10 and 600 people, as well as a Bistro bar,terrace . Private Fitness Center (indoor swimming pool) for members only, free of charge for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Princesa Hotel Madrid
Husa Princesa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing