We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, location but poor service at breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Madrid Princesa
Ranked #336 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great rooms, location but poor service at breakfast”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is right next to El Corte Ingles so if you're here to do some shopping this is the right place. The only complaint we have was during breakfast. It was so obvious that they were separating the Europeans from the Asian guests. As soon as you check in for breakfast and you're an Asian they would direct you to another room to eat. The other room was full of "whites" and a lot of empty tables...it was so obvious.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ctinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest. We thank you for your comments and we very much regret your impression concerning our Breakfast service and the possible discrimination of customers. We can assure you that all guest are welcome regardless of their origin. Possibly it coincided with the presence of two or three of our highly esteemed Asian groups which by express request , reserved in the adjoining and connected room to the main Breakfast Room. May be that our staff thought you belonged to any of the groups. We regret that this confusion would have led you to a wrong conclusion. Please accept our sincere apologies. We look forward to welcome you back in a near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    573
    380
    188
    157
See reviews for
340
487
73
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived in Madrid after 24 hours of travel to get to Spain. We stayed at Husa Princesa for 3 nights. The hotel rooms are old, tired, smell like smoke and damp. The staff were disinterested and unhelpful despite our best attempts to communicate in broken Spanish. We hung a do not disturb sign on our door for the most part of our stay, however when our safe broke and we ventured for 3 minutes to the lobby to address the issue with staff we removed it. After having been out of the room for less than 4 minutes we returned to find a housekeeper riffling through our room (keeping in mind this was at 9pm). Understandably she flustered us both and fled, later to return with desk staff to claim a window winder. We finally left for dinner in town, again hanging the do not disturb sign, and returned to find she had yet again ventured into our room despite the sign. We spent the rest of our stay on edge, expecting uninvited staff to burst in at any time. For the price there are much more modern rooms in Madrid. The main positive for this hotel is it's in a great location. I would not stay or recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JWQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guests,

We thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay in our hotel, and we kindly ask you to accept our apologies for the inconvenience. We informed our housekeeping accordingly in order to take appropiate measures to prevent such incidents in the future. We are carrying out an extensive program of refurbishing that allows to offer currently our guests a fully renovated wing ( 148 rooms) , our new Club rooms, that we hope you have occasion to enjoy during your next stay. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

stayed 8 days.. overall a great place... exceptional support and guidance from two informative and kind people at desk; Mar and Alumandeta(spelling?).. exceptional support, very clean rooms, and efficient buffet & breakfast..quiet rooms (Rm 809),easy walking distance to restaurants & Plaza Espana..transportation accessible.. Only issue.. WIFI was not free and should be! except for 30 minutes a day in business area in lobby .. 10 Euros a day.. also we would recommend some variability in breakfast choices...

Room Tip: overall a great place.. pool is part of a gym , indoors and more for lap swimming & exercise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest, We thank you for your nice comments concerning your stay in our hotel, and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay . We have informed about your particular appreciation to Mar and Almudena. Thank you! At the same time we are pleased to inform you that we are working to improve our WiFi system. Looking forward to welcome you back in a near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

if you upgrade to a Club Room you will be assured of a lovely stay. €30 a night very good vfm. I do not know if the standard rooms are ok but the club roons are brilliant. Wifi is free but the process of getting online is very clunky and restricted to solo access per room. Also the roads are vaguely audible but the windows are hermetically sealed and there's not alot the hotel can do about city traffic! unimportant though.

Room 762 was lovely. room, reception, location, vicinity to metro, staff, and general hotel was very good.

couple of mid thirty yr olds, from England. :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pebble191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guests, We thank you very much for your comments and we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay in our Club Rooms. We look forward to welcome you back in a very near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated if you would like be close to all the major city centre sites. Its is close to all the shops, near the main attractions and has excellent travel links. There is a metro stop practially outside which makes it great to get around the city and also to/from the airport. The rooms in the hotel are nice and large, modern with nicely fitted appliances and bathroom. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The price of the hotel was also excellent, if you as we did you decide against the breakfast (Try le pain quotidien madrid - its amazing for breakfasts!) I stayed here in March 2013, I gather it had been newly renovated. The only slight problems were that the air conditioning units were not responsive- i guess that can be easily fixed, and there was a reasonable level of car noise from the streets below as there are busy roads close by. The internet was 12 euros for 24 hr which i thought was excessive to say the least. If you can book this for a good price it is definately worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear guest, We thank you very much for your comments concerning your stay in our hotel last March. Your opinion is very much appreciated, helping us to improve our services and instalaltions. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a very near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel with my family and, though it is not the most modern, it offered good beds, and renovated rooms. Overall service was OK (it's Spain, anyway), lobby was nice, and access to the hotel was super easy using public transportation. Corte Ingles Princesa is just outside the building, which can be a inconvenient temptation. Breakfast was varied, though the restaurant really needs and update.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the building above the main door, have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Com1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear guest, We thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay in our hotel. Your comments will help us to improve. It is our wish to offer the best service and outstanding installations. We look forward to welcome you back in a very near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

When we arrived to the hotel, there were only 2 employees at the front desk who were clearly annoyed and overwhelmed with checking in new arrivals.
While they had a currency change "available" it seems I always arrived at a bad time for them..either they were "counting" or cashier was not available..
I was told varying things like no more than $200.00 could be changed daily, but this changed to $100.00 at times.
Rooms were a nice size and clean, large department/grocery store next door.
Within walking distance to palace and chapel.
Breakfast was average.
It would have been a much nicer experience if the reception staff were friendlier and didn't act like you were bothering them.
Wifi is not free,except 30 min/day in lobby with a ridiculous code the desk has to assign you.
Good luck uploading pics to Facebook

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerim12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guest, We thank you for your interest in our hotel and your feedback concerning your stay. We regret the lack of attention you felt at our reception. It is our aim to offer our guest always our best. Our apologies. Currency change limit depends on the available cash in every moment , and that's why this limit can vary. At the same time, we are pleased to inform you that we are working to implement a more efficient and free WiFi for our customers. We hope to offer this service very soon. We look forward to welcome you back in a very near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#138 of 444 in Madrid
2,046 reviews
Centro
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#65 of 444 in Madrid
2,038 reviews
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
#155 of 444 in Madrid
1,217 reviews
Centro
Catalonia Gran Via
Catalonia Gran Via
#170 of 444 in Madrid
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Madrid Princesa

Property: Courtyard Madrid Princesa
Address: Calle Princesa 40, 28015 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel Husa Princesa)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#175 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Madrid Princesa 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Madrid Princesa is set in the heart of Madrid's political, commercial, historic and cultural centre. Walking distance from Plaza de Espana, Gran Via, Royal Palace. In Arguelles district next to El Corte Ingles, department store. It offers 423 rooms and suites which are all air conditioned and have an en-suite bathroom, personal desk, smoke detectors and a fire-sprinkler system. It also boasts conference rooms and banquet halls for between 10 and 600 people, as well as a Bistro bar,terrace . Private Fitness Center (indoor swimming pool) for members only, free of charge for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Princesa Hotel Madrid
Husa Princesa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing