We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Madrid Plaza de Espana
Ranked #166 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
anirolf
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The location of this hotel is phenomenal for a tourist! It is right on grand via for good shopping and tours of the hop on and hop off bus. It is also right behind the American plaza with the Starbucks, McDonalds, and burger king so the hotel is easy to find. I strongly recommend this hotel. I wish the breakfast had more variety, and the rooms were a bit more soundproof.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anirolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    775
    261
    52
    25
See reviews for
267
707
131
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jamshedpur, India
Level Contributor
254 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A beautiful little property situatd close to the Plaza de Espana, this hotel offers a truly comfortable stay.

The atmosphere is warm and home-like and the staff very very courteous and helpful.

Rooms are largish by Eurpopean standards as are the bathrooms.
the breakfast buffet was very adequate with good variety of fruits, cereals, cheeses, meats and beverages.

There is a large lobby which is very handy when you're checked out and having to wait awhile for your transport. Incidentally the manger was kind enough to permit a late check-out of three hours.

There a two large lifts so no waiting and no lugging luggage up the stairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanditJamshedpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel lacks basic services. The website stated that tea/coffee facilities are available in the room, this was not the case and I was told by reception they could get me a kettle... and where would i get the coffee from? Then i was directed to the coin operated coffee machine, which didn't work so was then directed to starbucks a hundred yards away from the hotel. It is a pleasant location, although a bit of a trek from the airport. There are lots of nice restaurants and cafe's in the area. The room was comfortable and spacious, although a little dated. The staff are not particularly helpful if you speak to them in English but ask them something in Spanish and suddenly they are very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qurde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, MA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel. The room was nicely appointed and the beds were so comfy. It is on a quiet street very close to the Royal Palace and the Gran Via. Great location and helpful staff. They have good offereings at their breakfast bar. The only thing missing was a bar for the evenings, but it is close to alot of bars and restaurants and just down the street from the metro. I would highly recommend this hotel. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkshiregal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAIRO
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I always stay at The Mercure Madrid Plaza de Espana whenever I am in Madrid, i am a repeated guest since the property was a Sofitel. All the hotel staff with no exception are unbelievably helpful and welcoming. Never had an issue with any of the staff members at any time, they are truely the strongest asset of this hotel. The Hotel is centrally located with access to metro and bus. It is surrounded by many restaurants and its a 5 minutes walk from Gran Via.
However, this property is in a dire need of renovation. I really do not understand why Accor is not paying attention to this fact. This property is very popular and it will remain popular, but guests will eventually be driven away by the shape of the hotel. I really hope this wonderful property receives the attention it deserves.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-Elgawhergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We arrived at this hotel having booked on-line from Australia. The person at reception smiled when he looked at our booking and said "There is a problem here. Do you see the date?" I looked and saw it was the 25th but failed to notice that it said July, not September . He could not have been more helpful and courteous to two tiired travellers offering us a room slightly more expensive than our booking as it was no longer low season. He did not charge us for the original room even though we had been no shows in July, as it had been paid we only had to pay the difference. I thought that was exceptional. Decor is "olde worlde" and charming, Location excellent, room large and airy and the window could be opened. Breakfast was basic but adequate and well priced. No need for a restraunt with so many cafes and bars close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Mercure Madrid Centro
Mercure Madrid Centro
#168 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#22 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Novotel Madrid Center
Novotel Madrid Center
#114 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Hotel T3 Tirol
Hotel T3 Tirol
#169 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Arguelles
Aparto Suites Muralto
Aparto Suites Muralto
#100 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Chueca
Lusso Infantas
Lusso Infantas
#86 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Madrid Plaza de Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Madrid Plaza de Espana

Property: Mercure Madrid Plaza de Espana
Address: Calle de Tutor 1 | Corner Ventura Rodriguez, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#115 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#126 Business Hotel in Madrid
#128 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Madrid Plaza de Espana 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Madrid Plaza de España is a cosy hotel in the heart of Madrid with an elegant and refined atmosphere unique in the city. The hotel combines the French art de vivre and Spanish food and entertainment with its modern design. Our rooms are comfortable and luxurious, our cuisine is delectable and the technology we provide is cutting-edge. Need anything more? Just ask our excellent staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Madrid Plaza de Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Madrid Plaza De Espana Hotel Madrid
Sofitel Madrid
Accor Madrid Plaza De Espana
Madrid Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing