We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelente hotel”
Review of Catalonia Atocha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Atocha
Ranked #75 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Seems like an absolutely lovely hotel, but this review is purely based on our afternoon tea. We waited nearly an hour and then some of the desserts were missing because they weren't ready, so there were just little spaces and they came later on only after we enquired about them. I heard a few people complaining about the lack of fillings etc. I think they were just having a really busy day, but it was such a shame. It just didn't have the same feel as The Sanderson tea for example. Staff were lovely and very attentive with a guest who had a nut allergy. The setting is great, but didn't feel very special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurent U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your nice review about our Cafeteria. As far as I understand, you didn't stay in the hotel. If this was the case, I hope you will give us a chance in your next trip to Madrid. Once again, thank you for your kindness. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,393)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Atocha
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

After two nights spent in this hotel I'm pleased with my choice:
- good location close to plaza mayor but no noise (we could sleep with our window open)
- excellent shower
- adequate sized room
- service was quick and professional
- excellent wifi

Only downside: for the price of the room they could have included the use of a bathrobe and slippers (this is now reserved for the superior rooms)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Alanake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed there for three nights last week. The hotel is modern and conveniently located by the Prado and Thyssen-Bornemisza museum. The Anton Martin subway station is just yards away. There are several eating and drinking options at Plaza Santa Ana which is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol are both within walking distance (my opinion). The rooms were clean, but on the small size. We found the beds to be comfortable. The staff was professional and offer eating recommendations when asked. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TX1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear guest,

We are glad you had a good stay in our hotel. Do not miss the opportunity to visit us again in your next trip to Madrid. If you do it in summer time, you will have the opportunity of enjoying the wonderful experience of having a cup of wine in our Jacuzzi-Terrace on the seventh floor while you see a beautiful sunset. Thank you very much for your kind and wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Clean, friendly place with some nice sized rooms.
The hotel has a standard rate and from that you can add extra features, like a terrasse, breakfast etc.
We can recommend the terrasse, in springtime, where you can soak in the sun in shelter from the wind. Room 615 is great.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. Your suggestions will help future clients in the moment of making a decision. And we absolutely agree with your advice: 615 and the other three rooms with a terrace are the best way of enjoying the wonderful spring weather and clear sky of this time of the year. A little tip for your next trip to Madrid: next time do not hesitate to book our superb Junior Suite. Be sure you won't be disappointed. Thank you again for your kindness. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel is well located, near (walk distance) from Sol Metro Station, Atocha Station and Paseo del Prado. Also, all the staff team is very useful. It's not a cheap one, but the good location, staff and confort compensate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review, especially for those words regarding our Staff. We also believe they are definitively a great team! We will do our best to keep providing the same good service in the future (and of course we hope you will appreciate this in your next trip to Madrid). Thank you again for your kindness. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Cool place to stay, right in middle of town and walking distance from the prado, Etc. rooms were nice, just a little small... And be sure to get exterior room (12 euros extra) or your window looks out to a wall. Overall a neat place though- sort of modern, and very clean...

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiglyWigly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review. Regarding the supplement for the exterior room is fifteen euros, not twelve. Depending on the sensitivity to noise, we would recommend either a standard room (interior) or one of the rooms facing the street, even if these rooms they have double window. Of course, exterior rooms have a nicer light. Thank you very much again for your kindness. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I arrived for 2 nights, got my room in few minutes with early check-in with no extra cost and they gave me the option for late check out as well, without paying for extra night.
Stuff is really friendly and helpful. The room is big enough and clean.
The location is great, not far from the famous museums and few minutes walk to the shopping area.
The nearest metro station is only 200 meter from the hotel, very convenience .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yossial1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear guest,

We won't tell you a lie: we wish we only received reviews like yours! But unluckily for us, and as we say, variety is the spice of life. But we will keep trying to provide the best service in order to get more reviews like this one. Thank you very much for your time. We look forward to hearing from you again very soon. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#39 of 438 in Madrid
714 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#7 of 438 in Madrid
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#76 of 438 in Madrid
541 reviews
Huertas
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
#180 of 438 in Madrid
1,300 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#69 of 438 in Madrid
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atocha

Address: Calle Atocha 81, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#37 Family Hotel in Madrid
#40 Business Hotel in Madrid
#58 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $133 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Madrid, a few meters from Paseo del Prado and Atocha Station, the gateway to Madrid of high speed trains (AVE), Hotel Catalonia Atocha benefits from a strategic location; one step away from the main museums and tourist attractions of the capital and in an area of ​​great commercial and leisure activity. The hotel is complemented by a café-snack bar, a restaurant for conventions and events, free Wi-Fi and a beautiful terrace with heated seasonal jacuzzi with spectacular views over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atocha Calle Atocha 81 Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing