We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superior hotel with benefits!”
Review of Catalonia Atocha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Atocha
Ranked #64 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A superior hotel with benefits!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed in this hotel I early August 2013. I choose this hotel after much research as I was looking for something special which is what we got. We stayed in a superior room with sitting area, terrace and large bathroom facilities. The terrace was a real added bonus for relaxing. The hotel was very clean, well presented throughout and comfortably modern. Both the hot tub and sun terrace on the top floor was a lovely place to relax during the evening after a day sightseeing in the heat and before heading out for some food. Towels were provided for guests and you could also ring down to the bar for drinks.

We also ate in the hotel restaurant which was very well priced and good food. The staff are very friendly and willing to help. The breakfast was great too with eggs cooked to order. The hotel is well located for getting around Madrid with Plaza Major a short walk away, the soho area is behind the street the hotel sits on and Atocha train station is also a short stroll.

Really I could find no fault with the hotel and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room with terrace. It's well worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMAC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
As you mention in your review, there are plenty of hotels in Madrid, so thank you very much for choosing us after a careful search and, of course, thank you for your extremely kind compliments, especially for those referring to our restaurant and our buffet breakfast. Last year we have been working hard in order to improve the variety and quality of the food and service.
Fortunately the weather was good and you could enjoy our rooftop terrace and the Jacuzzi. We are glad to know that you could enjoy the wonderful views over the city.
Once again, thank you very much for your nice review. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    505
    105
    25
    9
See reviews for
194
556
85
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were on our honey moon and first landed in Madrid. We took the renfe train from the airport which is very recommended as well to atocha st. The hotel is located on atocha st. Which is a very Main Street and transportation is comfortable. We got welcomed with an upgrading of the room for our celebration. The staff were very kind and friendly and helps us with site seeing and finding out info. For our next flight. The room was very nice, everything was tide up and clean. The breakfast was nice and diverted. This is a good hotel for those who are staying in Madrid

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhalfon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
First of all, congratulations for your wedding. We are glad to see that our hotel was a successful step in your Honey Moon trip. We hope you will visit us again in the future. It will be a pleasure for us meet you again soon. Thank you very much indeed for your nice words. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Emailed ahead advising that we were arriving after spending 12 hours on a night train and they were extremely helpful. We arrive at 10am and they let us check in early without extra charge. Showed us all the places on the map that we should visit. Very close to everything and only a 10 min walk from the atocha train station. Even though we were only there for one night it was exactly what we wanted and would def return

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtw1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your compliments and nice review. We hope you will trust our hotel again in your future trips to Madrid and you can stay with us for 2-3 days at least. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is probably one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in - especially for Europe. The location is awesome, the room was very nice, comfortable, very spacious. Bathroom was terrific with dual sinks - very handy. AC worked wonderfully. We went ahead and splurged for the superior terrace room - a two room suite - and it was worth every penny! It was so nice to sit on our private balcony (which had a chaise, table with 2 chairs, retractable canopy) in the morning to have coffee and pastry and in the evening to watch the sun set. Room was very quiet especially considering we were right in front of the elevator.

We had breakfast in the hotel the last morning and it was not expensive as they were running a special. The selection was very nice, complete and the food was good.

The room had a water boiler but they didn't supply coffee-just tea. We may have been able to get coffee from the front desk but as we had brought our own Starbucks Via, we didn't need it.

The room had wonderful waffle robes and slippers, large comfy towels and every possible toiletry you could imagine. We even had a bidet.

As is usual for Europe, there were no wash clothes but as seasoned travelers, we knew that and brought our own.

Had a nice roof top sunning area. There is no pool but a large hot tub. Lots of lounge space to relax.

The staff was friendly, the hotel was modern, very clean and had interesting design elements. We were stunned at how inexpensive it was for what we got.

Location was very close to the metro, close to many tourist areas. Area felt very safe, even late at night.



It is a highly recommend. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: consider the splurge for the balcony room as it was well worth the extra Euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
“Perfect stay” We would like to hear this from all our guests. Thank you very much for your long and detailed review about your wonderful stay in Catalonia Atocha hotel. We are glad to know you made a reservation for one of our beautiful rooms with terrace, a great way of enjoying the beautiful views over the city and the summer sun. In your next trip to Madrid, do not hesitate to make a reservation for one of our Superior rooms with terrace. They are even larger and they include a small lounge with an extra television and a sofa. Thank you again for your kindness. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

It was to my surprise one of the best hotels I stayed in quality wise, I would give this hotel a 10 on 10 rating for everything, nice modern rooms, very clean and tidy, good breakfast, nice location, a must stay hotel, will always stay here when I am in Madrid

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salmanhafeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much indeed. It is a great honor for us to be one of the best hotels where you have ever been. “10 on 10 rating for everything”… Definitively we cannot expect a better review. We wish we had hundreds of reviews like yours. Thank you again for your compliments. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed Catalonia Atocha hotel recently and it was great ! Reception staff excellent. The room spacious, very clean and modern. Superb, clean and modern hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Beds were comfortable. There was no problem with traffic noise. The location is great, near the Metro, Atocha train station, major museums, monuments and good restaurants.
Wi-fi was free and working well.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you, thank you and again thank you on behalf of all our staff…A review like yours becomes the best publicity for us and it will encourage our people to keep offering the kind of service that you enjoyed that much. We really appreciate your kindness and we hope you will visit us again very soon. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I found this hotel by using tripadvisor and booking.com and all the reviews are true. The hotel was in an excellent location with brilliant restaurants and bar just two minutes away. All the main attractions are also within very easy walking distance. The rooms themselves had everything, a really comfortable bed and especially liked the long pillows. The bathroom was very nice, liked the shower especially. The black out curtains meant that we slept like babies but also able to have the window open to get all the sun. We took full advantage of the roof top and did both sunbathing and hot tub most mornings. I would highly remember to getting pastries from the bakery America two shops over from the hotel and bring it back and eat it up on the roof. The concierge and reception were so nice and so helpful, I left something in my room after checking out and they got housekeeping to look for it for me. They were also very nice with answering questions and getting extra towels etc. The internet was very good but something hard to be picked up by our iphones in the rooms. We all said that when we come back to Madrid would stay here again for certain.

Also I would make sure you go to a restaurant called Triciclo which is a few blocks over for dinner was a surprise find but beyond brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are impressed by the length of your really kind review...impressed and very pleased. Thank you very much indeed for your kindness. It will be a pleasure for us to meet you again in the hotel. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#7 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#46 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#74 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Huertas
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
#196 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atocha

Property: Catalonia Atocha
Address: Calle Atocha 81, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#37 Family Hotel in Madrid
#40 Business Hotel in Madrid
#49 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Catalonia Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atocha Calle Atocha 81 Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing