We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a good location”
Review of Catalonia Atocha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Atocha
Ranked #73 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a good location”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The room was large and clean and the staff were very helpful. There was a metro station nearby although it's a few different lines to the airport but probably wouldn't take more than 45 mins.

We had a room on the first floor and we kept hearing a noise like someone wheeling bins, but I think it was noise from suitcases on the floor below. It might be worth asking for a room higher up.

We didn't get breakfast because we wanted to try the local food but there was a nice seated area on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor or above, as it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your nice review. It is a pity you didn't have the opportunity to enjoy our buffet breakfast, with a wide variety of fruit, pastries, cakes, cold cuts and including new products like the fresh squeezed oranges, the yogurt station with chopped seasonal fruit and the new coffee machines...We hope you will enjoy this service in your next stay in the hotel.
Thank you again for your nice comments. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    529
    107
    25
    11
See reviews for
202
575
87
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was the second time I stayed in this hotel in the last 3 months.After the first visit I wasn't sure but this time made my mind up that this is a very good hotel.
On previous visit we had a large room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. It was really quiet and to be honest a bit too quiet and deserted. In fact I think they forgot about us as it was nearly 3 or 4pm before the beds were made up. The room (001) was also very dark with very little natural light.
This time we had a room on 3rd floor at front of building which was good except for some street noise at night.

Showers are amazing.

Location is really good - within walking distance to all attractions.
We booked through the hotel website and they gave us a welcome drink , late checkout and some bottled water a really nice touch and for the same price as the other sites. As well as this promotion they were doing a buffet breakfast for 10 euro .
Wifi is free which was great. Could do with coffee making facilities in the room.

Staff were excellent - friendly and helpful

The building itself is really beautiful and kept to a very high standard. Very modern rooms and lovely beds

Would certaintly stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheebad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are very happy to see that your second stay was better than the first one. We will do our best to make your third stay even better! Thank you very much indeed for sharing your experience with the other users of this site. We really appreciate it. Looking forward to seeing you soon, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

As they say in Madrid excelente! Tanja received us very well at the check in, a breeze. The rooms were very nice, we were on the 6th floor without any view but were only there a few hours to relax. Bathroom great, mirrors even after half an hour hot shower, you could see yourselve! Breakfast buffet very complete, perfect for maximum 4days visit, otherwise it may be repetitive...

Great location, walging from Atocha train station up the Hill Aboutaleb 10min if not take the metro to stations to Anton Martin... Absolutely recommendable to all my family And friends...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chanchi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
It is great when we receive good reviews from our guests. In this case, we are especially happy for one reason: you mention you had a long shower and, even if water was very hot, the mirror was clean in the end. The reason why the mirror was clean and dry is the anti-fog system. The system is very simple and consists of a resistance behind the mirror connected to the light switch. It is simple but effective. And you have been the first guest who has made a comment about it! I will copy your review to our Construction Works Department. Thank you very much indeed for your kind words. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Spotlessly Clean, modern and comfortable hotel in an excellent location. The shower was fantastic and although room was smaller than I expected and there was not bath We couldn't fault it otherwise. We didn't try the breakfast as we ate in a lovely coffee shop down the road for a fraction of the cost. We'd recommend the hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel only have windows out to a courtyard which runs the height (7 stories...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bid81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with friends in september, was very happy with the hotel. its very modern the rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. it had friendly staff and the location was really great, walking distance to major attractions...will definitely go again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BesteK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
"will definitely go again" This is the best compliment you could have ever done to us. Thank you very much for your very kind review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days in September. It was fab, really clean. It has a rooftop area with sun loungers and a jaccuzzi. The staff in the hotel was super helpful and friendly staff.
Location wise it was perfect, within walking distance of the main area and right beside the tram stop making it really efficient to get to the football stadium and zoo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aisling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your kind review. As you mention, the location of the hotel, just in front of Anton Martín Subway Station (Line number 1) makes the use of subway a very easy and comfortable way of moving around. The city of Madrid has one of the best subway systems in the world. And the subway is the fastest way of arriving in the main sights far from the city center, like the Real Madrid Stadium, the big park of Casa de Campo, the Ifema Conventions Center, the Airport.... Thank you again for your nice words. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 435 in Madrid
1,494 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#41 of 435 in Madrid
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#83 of 435 in Madrid
501 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#21 of 435 in Madrid
1,938 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#69 of 435 in Madrid
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atocha

Property: Catalonia Atocha
Address: Calle Atocha 81, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#37 Family Hotel in Madrid
#40 Business Hotel in Madrid
#56 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atocha Calle Atocha 81 Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing