We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location and wonderful sun terrace with hot tub”
Review of Catalonia Atocha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Atocha
Ranked #81 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed here to explore the city of Madrid. It was a very easy hotel to get to using the subway and a great location to visit all the main attractions in the city, particularly on foot. The reception team was very helpful. My room was on the seventh floor which gave easy access to the sun terrace which had a few sun loungers, chairs, tables and most importantly the hot tub. There were great views across the city to the hills outside from it and beach towels were provided. The room was a good size, very quiet, with good, comfortable beds. The view from the room wasn't anything to write home about but it didn't matter as I was out and about for most of the time. The bathroom was spacious but did have a smoky glass door which didn't give much privacy. Breakfast was buffet style with lots of options. A great, reasonably priced hotel which allows you to make the most of Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a seventh floor room to make the most of the sun terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonkatruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have just returned from Madrids Catalonia Atocha hotel, This hotel cannot be recommended enough for me, Very clean, modern and stylish, with very helpful and pleasant staff. The hotels Jacuzzi on the roof terrace with sun deck make all the difference and is a nice place to relax after or before exploring the sights and restaurants of Madrid. We asked for a quiet room, and were given a room at the rear of the hotel on floor level 6 a nice room with good facilities, mini bar, safe and of course the en suit bathroom all stylish/ clean and looked very new. We were offered a special deal on the breakfast,at 10 euro's and well worth it, with a nice selection of fruit, pastries cold meats and cheeses all fresh and a hot food section for eggs, omelets etc cooked to order. Would we stay here again, a big yes, Easy access from the Airport via metro, only a few steps to negotiate and three changes all very easy, or train direct but more of a walk from station to hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy-Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

We wouldn't need any Comercial Department with some more guests like you!!!! Thank you very much indeed for your very kind review. We hope you will visit us again in your next trip to Madrid. Best regards and thank you again for your compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. Its in a really good location with lots of restaurants close by, the staff were extremely helpful & friendly, and the cleaners were very efficeint. Would stay here again & recommend to others

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind appreciations. And thank you specially in the name of our Cleaning Staff. They will be very happy to see that our guests appreciate the efforts they make daily to keep our hotel as clean as it is. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Best regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Spent time in a junior suite before going on a tour of Spain and then stayed one night in a terrace room at the end of our travels. The junior suite was huge with amazing old painting on the ceiling, wooden floors, huge bathroom with great corner jacuzzi bath. Good for aching limbs at the end of the day! The separate shower was one of the best we have come across in any hotel. The terrace room was smaller but has the great advantage of having an outside sitting area with recliner, chairs, tables and sun canopy. We thought the rooms were amazing value for a capital city and they had a bargain breakfast price of 10 euros when we were there for a very good breakfast. The hotel is close to all three main art galleries, the Prado, Thyssen and reina Sofia and in the other direction is the main square, and Santa Ana. The only down side is the busy and slightly run down street where the hotel is located so there can be some traffic noise from the lower floor rooms. However we found the area perfectly safe with no concerns walking around at night. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: A higher room to avoid the traffic noise of the street. It has 7 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison22Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

This is really a nice review (and a useful one for the other users of this site). You have enjoyed our Junior Suite and also one of our Superior rooms. Next time you can book one of our Standard rooms and you will get a full knowledge of our facilities. Thank you very much for your compliments. It will be a great pleasure for us to see you soon among our clients. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Catalonia Atocha Hotel is fantastic. It is ideally situated in Madrid. You can walk to the Plaza Mayor in 10 - 15 minutes and there're a lot of little pedestrians streets nearby. The rooms are beautiful, comfy and silent. The bathroom is also really nice with an italian shower. And the breakfast (promotional offer when we were there) is absolutely delicious. The only "negative" (which is not really negative) is that our room was a little dark and we were inside just to sleep so that really didn't matter.
On the roof, there is a wonderful terrace with a big jacuzzi. It was very pleasant. We highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isa1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review and, of course, thank you very much for recommending our beautiful hotel. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Best regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Choose this hotel because it was within the museum triangle and therefore a easy walk to everything.

Positives
-centrally located but on a very busy street
-supermarket around every corner
-there is a rain-type shower head with a lot of pressure - my friends and I agree that this was the highlight of the room
-room is spacious and is pretty clean/modern (although you can tell it needs some upkeep-this is surprising for a hotel that is no more than 2 years old)
-cold a/c...also good in the summer
-yummy mom/pop bakery located next door-try the empanadas.

Negative:
-I'm surprised none of the other reviews have mentioned this...but this hotel is located directly across a very large and obvious sex shop! This made my friends and I feel very uncomfortable walking around at night...which goes to my next point...
-I would not recommend walking around alone at night in this area...a little shady especially as you head towards the Sofia renia museum.
-the wireless is very unreliable and disconnects every 15-20 mins
-the rooms keys don't work majority of the time. Had to go to the front desk at least 2 times to get new keys. This might not be a big deal, but when you have been walking in the heat for hours or are coming home after a late dinner, the last thing you want to do is go to your room and then go back down to the lobby to have them fix your key.
-the beds were slanty so we always felt like we were rolling off...
-stayed in room 313 and had a view if the wall. Which isn't so bad but it just meant that the room was constantly dark.
-not in the restaurant district...so the pickings for yummy food is slim if you stay in area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BayAreaChino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for using your time to give us your impressions about hotel Catalonia Atocha****. Regarding your comment about the sex shop, by no means whatsoever should that be of any concern. Unlike other continents, the mere existence of a sex shop is of no implication of seediness, danger, delinquency or corruption. Throughout Europe sex shops can be found in the most prestigious of places, for example there are several sex shops surrounding the Royal Palace in Madrid (a very prestigious area in Madrid).
Regarding the wireless network, it is customary in Spain to have automatic disconnection in the event the WIFI service is not being used. This is a measure to prevent a network over load.
In reference to the your room key misfortune it is very possible that the electronic room keys´ memory will be erased if the key is placed next to specific electronic devices i.e. cell phones. We have taken your concern seriously and in the future we will begin printing such warning on the room key itself.
Regarding the restaurants, next time do not hesitate to ask our Receptionists for recommendation; some of the best restaurants in Madrid are within walking distance.
We are extremely surprised and concerned about your experience with the bed. All of our beds are less than eighteen months old. They shouldn’t be slanted. We will check room 313 in case there might have been a defect from the manufacturer. In any event, the next time you stay with us please advice the Front Desk and we will be more than happy to provide you with a more suitable room.
Best regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Iris I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
#199 of 441 in Madrid
1,353 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#80 of 441 in Madrid
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#40 of 441 in Madrid
780 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 441 in Madrid
1,636 reviews
Huertas
ME BY MELIA MADRID Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atocha

Address: Calle Atocha 81, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#40 Business Hotel in Madrid
#63 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $120 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Madrid, a few meters from Paseo del Prado and Atocha Station, the gateway to Madrid of high speed trains (AVE), Hotel Catalonia Atocha benefits from a strategic location; one step away from the main museums and tourist attractions of the capital and in an area of ​​great commercial and leisure activity. The hotel is complemented by a café-snack bar, a restaurant for conventions and events, free Wi-Fi and a beautiful terrace with heated seasonal jacuzzi with spectacular views over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atocha Calle Atocha 81 Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing