We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel and great location for the galleries”
Review of Catalonia Atocha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Atocha
Ranked #72 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel and great location for the galleries”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Spent time in a junior suite before going on a tour of Spain and then stayed one night in a terrace room at the end of our travels. The junior suite was huge with amazing old painting on the ceiling, wooden floors, huge bathroom with great corner jacuzzi bath. Good for aching limbs at the end of the day! The separate shower was one of the best we have come across in any hotel. The terrace room was smaller but has the great advantage of having an outside sitting area with recliner, chairs, tables and sun canopy. We thought the rooms were amazing value for a capital city and they had a bargain breakfast price of 10 euros when we were there for a very good breakfast. The hotel is close to all three main art galleries, the Prado, Thyssen and reina Sofia and in the other direction is the main square, and Santa Ana. The only down side is the busy and slightly run down street where the hotel is located so there can be some traffic noise from the lower floor rooms. However we found the area perfectly safe with no concerns walking around at night. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: A higher room to avoid the traffic noise of the street. It has 7 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison22Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
This is really a nice review (and a useful one for the other users of this site). You have enjoyed our Junior Suite and also one of our Superior rooms. Next time you can book one of our Standard rooms and you will get a full knowledge of our facilities. Thank you very much for your compliments. It will be a great pleasure for us to see you soon among our clients. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    511
    106
    25
    10
See reviews for
196
561
85
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montbeliard, France
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Catalonia Atocha Hotel is fantastic. It is ideally situated in Madrid. You can walk to the Plaza Mayor in 10 - 15 minutes and there're a lot of little pedestrians streets nearby. The rooms are beautiful, comfy and silent. The bathroom is also really nice with an italian shower. And the breakfast (promotional offer when we were there) is absolutely delicious. The only "negative" (which is not really negative) is that our room was a little dark and we were inside just to sleep so that really didn't matter.
On the roof, there is a wonderful terrace with a big jacuzzi. It was very pleasant. We highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isa1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review and, of course, thank you very much for recommending our beautiful hotel. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Choose this hotel because it was within the museum triangle and therefore a easy walk to everything.

Positives
-centrally located but on a very busy street
-supermarket around every corner
-there is a rain-type shower head with a lot of pressure - my friends and I agree that this was the highlight of the room
-room is spacious and is pretty clean/modern (although you can tell it needs some upkeep-this is surprising for a hotel that is no more than 2 years old)
-cold a/c...also good in the summer
-yummy mom/pop bakery located next door-try the empanadas.

Negative:
-I'm surprised none of the other reviews have mentioned this...but this hotel is located directly across a very large and obvious sex shop! This made my friends and I feel very uncomfortable walking around at night...which goes to my next point...
-I would not recommend walking around alone at night in this area...a little shady especially as you head towards the Sofia renia museum.
-the wireless is very unreliable and disconnects every 15-20 mins
-the rooms keys don't work majority of the time. Had to go to the front desk at least 2 times to get new keys. This might not be a big deal, but when you have been walking in the heat for hours or are coming home after a late dinner, the last thing you want to do is go to your room and then go back down to the lobby to have them fix your key.
-the beds were slanty so we always felt like we were rolling off...
-stayed in room 313 and had a view if the wall. Which isn't so bad but it just meant that the room was constantly dark.
-not in the restaurant district...so the pickings for yummy food is slim if you stay in area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BayAreaChino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for using your time to give us your impressions about hotel Catalonia Atocha****. Regarding your comment about the sex shop, by no means whatsoever should that be of any concern. Unlike other continents, the mere existence of a sex shop is of no implication of seediness, danger, delinquency or corruption. Throughout Europe sex shops can be found in the most prestigious of places, for example there are several sex shops surrounding the Royal Palace in Madrid (a very prestigious area in Madrid).
Regarding the wireless network, it is customary in Spain to have automatic disconnection in the event the WIFI service is not being used. This is a measure to prevent a network over load.
In reference to the your room key misfortune it is very possible that the electronic room keys´ memory will be erased if the key is placed next to specific electronic devices i.e. cell phones. We have taken your concern seriously and in the future we will begin printing such warning on the room key itself.
Regarding the restaurants, next time do not hesitate to ask our Receptionists for recommendation; some of the best restaurants in Madrid are within walking distance.
We are extremely surprised and concerned about your experience with the bed. All of our beds are less than eighteen months old. They shouldn’t be slanted. We will check room 313 in case there might have been a defect from the manufacturer. In any event, the next time you stay with us please advice the Front Desk and we will be more than happy to provide you with a more suitable room.
Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Easy walk from rail station or airport via metro. Central location, easy walking to all major sights. Rooms clean, modern, with great bathrooms. Note that bathroom door is a swinging glass door and doesnt provide much privacy or noise muffling. Not a problem for me and my wife, but could be an issue for some. In-room wifi worked well.
We chose a room in the back, facing a light shaft, as we were more interested in quiet and dark to get over jet lag. We didn't use the top floor deck (great views!) or hottub due to poor weather, nor the restaurant or breakfast, and didn't need AC, so can't comment about those things. Overall very satisfied and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Catolinia Atocha is right by the Atocha train station and not that long a taxi ride from the airport, and a very nice hotel, close to the action of this vibrant city. It is an ultra-modern, trendy boutique inn, with gleaming marble in the public areas. Not quite up to the impression of the main floor is the laminate flooring in the rooms, and the basement restaurant, which is quite narrow as well as underground. The square granite sink was trendy, but not so practical, as it didn't drain well. My room had a pleasant window seat, and the room was a reasonable size for a downtown property. One tiny shortcoming was that there were no tissues in the room. This was my first hotel on a two week coach tour, and it was a good choice by Globus. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you for the very kind review. We absolutely agree that the square granite sink is very beautiful but not practical. Taking into consideration our guests complaints, the sink supplier is preparing a solution to the problem with the drainage. It would consist of two extra granite pieces, but we currently do not have a confirmed date for this work. I hope it will be fixed for your next stay! Once again, thank you very much indeed for your very kind words. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We have visited Madrid just before New Year 2012. We read through many reviews and selected a place wich would allow us to live a walking distance from all the interesting places, as well as comfortable and to expensive. The terrasse of the roof with jacuzzi „bought“ us even though it was winter time and the little pool on the rooftop was closed. By the way the view from the roof is great and it is open from early morning till night.

The staff was exceptionally welcoming and helpful, the room was very clean and cosy though small, but that was not a problem at all. The walls are thick, so the sound isolation was very good. The wooden panels of the stylish interior still smelled fresh wood, which was very nice )
The bathroom was clean and nice. In our room there was a shower cabin (no bathtub), but that was enough for us.

We loved the place and would gladly recommend it to all of our friend travelling to Madrid.
By the way, Marche Saint-Miguel—the best place to eat in Madrid is located just 10–15 minutes walk from the hotel. It is open until 3am in summer, I believe. The food and wine there was so good that after eating in several restaurants we decided to have breakfast only there )

But that I should tell you in another review, n'est pas? )

Room Tip: There are several rooms with the balcony in them, others have just micro-balcony )
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank netocrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
It is always nice to receive this kind of review, but I have to say that yours is special (since I guess you stayed in the hotel several months ago!). Thank you very much for your compliments and for recommending the hotel. On the other hand, let me tell you one more thing: you are right; eating in the "Mercado de San Miguel" is awesome, especially during the week (Saturday and Sunday are a little bit crowded). But regarding breakfast, next time I would recommend you try our buffet breakfast. You will enjoy a huge variety of both cold and hot food: different kinds of fresh fruit, homemade cakes and puddings, a big assortment of pastries, cold cuts, toasts, fresh squeezed oranges, fruit juices. You will also find a “Show Cooking” corner where you will be able to ask for any of your favorite warm dishes (fried or scrambled eggs, omelets, bacon...), and all this for a very competitive rate if you book it at the time of your check-in. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 436 in Madrid
1,453 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#44 of 436 in Madrid
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#76 of 436 in Madrid
447 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#33 of 436 in Madrid
1,708 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#64 of 436 in Madrid
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atocha

Property: Catalonia Atocha
Address: Calle Atocha 81, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#37 Family Hotel in Madrid
#40 Business Hotel in Madrid
#55 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Catalonia Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atocha Calle Atocha 81 Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing