We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spanish cuisine”

Las Cuevas de Luis Candelas
Ranked #335 of 10,916 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $64
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro
Description: Las Cuevas de Luis Candelas, is one of the most historic restaurants in Madrid. Founded in 1949, is located in the Arc de Cuchilleros, next to the emblematic Plaza Mayor. Named after the famous caves gave shelter in the nineteenth century the most famous bandit of the capital, Luis Candelas, who robbed the rich to help the poor. It offers excellent traditional cuisine: the Roasted Suckling Pig and Roasted Lamb in a wood oven, the Madrid stew, Grilled Fishes, or typical desserts of Madrid. It has a wonderful terrace and an extensive wine list. It opens till 13:00 to 00:00 everyday.
Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great spanish cuisine”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great food, great atmosphere in the old part of Madrid. Have been there several times and it's always nice

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ramongr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    202
    76
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“charming al fresco lunch”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

cute off the main drag restaurant, claim to fame Jimmy Carter ate here! looks like a very old castle type place, the servers wear the traditional garb of the era. All charming servers. Nice hot sunny day in Madrid for an al fresco lunch. We started with the Iberico ham and chorizo (every meal in Spain started with the Iberico) I had a traditional Spanish Tortilla very yummy and very filling! My mother in law had the gazpacho and raved as it was layered and made in her soup bowl. My husband had a steak and father in law a salad (that he raved about) over all great meal , great location, atmosphere. The server walking around with the rifle was cool too, Recommend

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chewtoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The restaurant is in a cave. The food was nice. We started with the octopus which was very flavoursome. As mains, we had the lamb and the sea bass which were both good. My friend really enjoyed his Gazpacho and thought it was one of the best he has ever had. In the middle of dinner there was some spanish singers with their guitars which created a very lively and authentic atmosphere. The waiter was very helpful in giving us direction after the dinner. I would urge people to consider this restaurant instead of eating at Plaza Mayor (very touristy and not worth the price) if they are around this area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Most overated, overpriced tourist trap”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Strictly for rich foreign tourists.
Overated, unfriendly, rude service, unfit food.
Do not visit if you value good service, good food, or good value.
Go anywhere else on the Plaza but here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mulltiflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excelent choice for good dinner”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The place is really nice, attention also excellent and delicious food. We really enjoy our meal. There was a visit of spanish singers called "tuna" with their guitars. You feel like living in ancient years as everything is traditional decorated, One thing I have to mention is that I forget my I-phone 5 on the table and left the restaurant that night. I noticed this when I was in the bus going to my hotel. We called and they told us to pick it up,the next day. We did so. A really wonderful experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Cuevas de Luis Candelas also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Las Cuevas de Luis Candelas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing