We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of LeCafe

LeCafe
Ranked #4,820 of 10,522 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $17 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Barrio de Salamanca
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food and wine”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a very good meal here, probably one of the best while in Madrid. We greatly enjoyed the grilled scallops and wine.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wilson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good food in a modern restaurant”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I had a set lunch menu, and it was good value, for the good food I got. I guess that a la carte could be expensive (A la carte is £££ not ££). At lunch the clientele is mostly business, so the set menu of that day at least was only in Spanish, but if you are going to look for decent food in Spain you should know a bit of Spanish. I had chipirones (squid) which is quite traditional in Spanish cooking (I believe, I am no expert). So I guess the style is modern spanish cooking. The dessert choices were brownie and tarta casera de queso (cheesecake). The cheesecake was lovely. Service was very efficient, and friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Sear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very memorable meal!”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We had an amazing time at this restaurant, from start to finish! I was visiting Madrid with my dad and 5-year-old son, so we arrived at the restaurant a bit early for Madrid (around 9:00 pm). Although I don't think that many children dine here, the wait-staff were very gracious and helped us find a dinner that my son would enjoy (he did!). The appetizer was delicious, but my main course was really fabulous - it included seared fois gras, which was done perfectly, with a little crust outside but still tender and succulent. And the wines were a bargain! My dad's meal was excellent as well. After dessert, the wait-staff brought us some minty liqueur while my son was curled up on the bench, asleep. By this point, the restaurant was quite full with a fairly trendy crowd, but they didn't rush us in the least. I'm sure there are other fabulous restaurants in Madrid to try, but I can't wait to go back here! (I seriously can't understand the reviewer who said the food was mediocre at best.)

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K_Alice_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pricy lunch”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had lunch here with the locals of the area. Very few tourists (if any other than us.) Stylish decor and good service (that would have been better, if our Spanish was better.)

The food was quite good, though a bit rich. We did not finish our duck and scallop entrees. The house wine was very good and affordable. Wine, water, starters and entrees totalled about 75 euros for two, making it our most expensive meal of the trip.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BaronVonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“nice restaurant with delicious food”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Close to Puerta Alcala and near NH Recoletos Hotel, this restaurant is a good option for lunch or dinner. Lobster rolls with torta del casar cream or foie as starters, tuna or deer sirloin steak tartar witn wasabi mayonese are some of their specialities. They have discounts for dinner during week. W/o discount, if you order 2 dishes+1 beer, you will pay below 30 but you will have had really good meal with excelente service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LeCafe also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to LeCafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing