We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, perfect room.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal la Macarena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal la Macarena
Ranked #254 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Co. Donegal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, perfect room.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hostal la Macerena is located a few minutes walk from the Plaza Mayor just off Sol square in Madrid. A few minutes walk will take you from the quiet bustling streets of the old town to the busy main streets packed with all the big name stores. The Hostal la Macarena is a delightful old building with winding stairs taking us to our room on the 3rd floor. Room was small as European rooms are but totally ample for the three of us and a nice clean bathroom completed everything we could have wanted. Staff are friendly and helpful and nearby there are hundreds of places to choose to eat or simply sit in the sunshine and drink sangria! Room is nothing fancny but the addition of a balcony complete with old fashioned shutters was perfect, exactly what we were looking for to.
An excellent choice to explore Madrid, both new and old quarters of the city. On a Sunday a few minutes walk took us to the flea market which was a lovely place to pick up some souveniers and spend a few hours exploring.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferR1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    84
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
15
76
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I love this hotel and have stayed here multiple times. It's a smaller hotel, with smaller rooms (but very clean and comfortable) and all of the staff is wonderful and very helpful. It's located on a lively street in the heart of the city (if you don't like the noise, ask for a room on the side street) and the rooms have balconies, so it's great to look out over the city. I have recommended it to all of my friends and now everyone I know stays here and loves it. You can't go wrong with the price or the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Clean, affordable and right in the heart of Madrid. Walking distance to madrid's most famous tapas markets and streets. We were very happy with our accommodation choice. Will definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ten22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

My friends and I spent four days in Madrid and absolutely loved this place. Although the rooms were small, they were very clean, the beds were comfortable, and we had a nice little balcony. The bathroom was spotless, too. The only "complaint" would be that it's right in the middle of everything, so it's pretty noisy at night outside. Don't plan on actually getting to sleep until about 2am. However, it's pretty quiet in the mornings. We happened to be there during the soccer match between Spain and Italy (Spain won, so you could imagine the days of noise that followed). The owners were wonderful and very accommodating, despite the language barriers. We got really good at charades! Highly recommended if you're looking for a clean, friendly establishment in the middle of it all. Close to the Sol Metro station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

basic but very charmiong old fashioned hotel. Staff very friendly although english limited but that adds to the charm. The location really could not be better to sample Madrid life, Plaza Mayor and
San Miguel market place are really buzzing. The Emma Cafe/restaurant around the corner was our favourite but you will be spoiled for choice of good value eating places.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Conn.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Hostal Macarena could not be in a more perfect location, just under the Arco de Cuchilleros that leads to the Plaza Mayor, possibly the most scenic spot in Old Madrid. (To complete the picture, in the evening strains of traditional accordion and flamenco guitar rise from the street as the aroma of wood-fired stoves fills the air.) There are plenty of shopping, dining and tapas options nearby; it's also a short walk from the Mercado de San Miguel (San Miguel Market) and the Puerta del Sol, which is also the nearest Metro stop.

This is a simple, old-style private hotel atop a tavern in a gorgeous old building. The hotel itself is a second-floor walk-up with a tiny elevator crammed into the stairwell shaft. It is not luxurious, but to our tastes it was very romantic in an old-fashioned way. The interior is clean, simple and homy; rooms have commodious beds and some have balconies overlooking the scenic Calle de las Cuchilleros. (Some might find it a little bit noisy, although jet-lagged as we were it was not a problem for us at all.) The proprietors were helpful but did not seem to speak much English.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edcro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I LOVED this little hostal. Stayed for 5 nights and will definitely be back. It is small but spotlessly clean and located in an amazing part of the city. Riccardo at the front desk (he may be the proprietor) did not speak a lot of English but we communicated well and he was a doll--so helpful. I paid 68 Euros for a double room (it was two weeks ago, in November). Highly recommend this little place. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellispec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
#231 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Centro
Hostal Hispalense
Hostal Hispalense
#289 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Centro
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
#258 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Mayor
Petit Palace Mayor
#81 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Centro
Hotel Plaza Mayor
Hotel Plaza Mayor
#264 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Centro
Hostal Cruz Sol
Hostal Cruz Sol
#297 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal la Macarena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal la Macarena

Property: Hostal la Macarena
Address: Calle Cava de San Miguel 8, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal la Macarena 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal la Macarena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Macarena Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing