We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home!”
Review of Hotel Persal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Persal
Ranked #123 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Lovely friendly staff, ideal location for everything - cafes and bars nearby, jazz club a few doors away. Taxi rank just in Plaza Santa Ana nearby. My 2nd visit here and was even better this time. Worth paying for a twin room even if you are only 1 to get more space and better room. Perfectly adequate breakfast in their cafe, room equipped with books and games and you can get a drink or coffee there in the evening - ideal if you are travelling on your own or with friends.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a twin or double if on your own to get a better room with more space. Single rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean551979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 822 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our 3rd year staying at this hotel and we always stay at the beginning and end of our stay...so usually at least 6 nights total.

While the hotel itself is very modest, the staff is very friendly. There is a breakfast buffet included that provides the basics to start your day right. The rooms are small, but function well for what you need them for...sleep.

The location is terrific, by the Plaza Santa Ana and San Miguel. You are a short walk from the Plaza Mayor and Plaza del Sol to your left or the Prado Museum and Botanical Gardens to your right.

Down the block, there is always a few "ladies of the night/day", but they aren't offensive to look at and kids won't know what they are looking at...just the adults. And given that they stand on a busy street corner...they blend in with everyone else going about their business of being tourists.

Definitely would stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Fab hostel more like a hotel. Everything good about it. Perfect location for all city. Near Sol for metro transport from airport. Lovely Plaza (2 with St Ana) pedestrian so no traffic. Lots of bars and restaurants----------would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Room 412 has perfect view. Quieter at back but front rooms with views have good windows that block o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seetrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Nice hostal with perfect location to walk through Madrid. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Good restaurant ("Ginger").

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Doreen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have now stayed at Hostal Persal twice, most recently in August 2012. Each time it has been fantastic! I was originally booked elsewhere and when that turned out to be less than expected I immediately switched to Hostal Persal. The location is in the center of everything, 2 minute walk south from Puerta del Sol, 5 minute walk from Plaza Mayor, San Miguel Mercado, and Cava Baja (great tapas street), and 10-15 minute walk from Retiro Park. The room was great! All bathroom necessities were provided. Bed was more than adequate and most important the room has AIR CONDITIONING, which was very necessary this summer as it was 105 degrees when I was there. Wifi works in the rooms for free and everything was very clean. We requested a balcony room and got it with no extra charge. The view of Plaza Angel was beautiful. Felix at the front desk is very helpful and nice. Breakfast is included and simple, just toast, cereal, and yogurt. But just the free coffee and tea was great as I would have gone and paid a couple euro elsewhere for it in the mornings. This is the best hostal I have ever found and it should be noted it is really a hotel as it lacks nothing.

Room Tip: Balcony units are great, we had 301 for a double, it was small, but very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalPersal, Gerente at Hotel Persal, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear guest,

We really appreciate your opinion and the time you have taken to express it.

We hope not to let you down in further visits!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Perfect spot close to Plaza Santa Ana with lots of restaurants and action. Placed on a nice litte square with the coolest Jazz bar (Cafe Central) Extremely friendly, nice clean rooms and an OK breakfast. But it is really all about location. I will definately stay here again next time.

Room Tip: Had one on 4th floor with small Balcony. Just great. But notice that elevator only goes up to 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sorhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalPersal, Gerente at Hotel Persal, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for expressing your opinion about us!!!

We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

So getting here wasn't a problem considering it's location is at the heart of the city. Taking the 24 hour bus that runs from the airport to the Banco de Espana, and from there taking the underground metro to Sol making it a smooth transition. The hostal had small rooms, but they were enough and pretty up to date. The staff was very kind, we would ask about certain things about the city, and they would be very helpful. The only thing I can think that was a little issue, but not anything that cause frustration. The WiFi was somewhat difficult to get in the room, but yet again we were at the very top of the building. Going down to the lounge area would get you a better connection. Great stay, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manicrobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Plaza D'ort
Plaza D'ort
#386 of 440 in Madrid
143 reviews
Maydrit Hotel
#107 of 440 in Madrid
1,511 reviews
Huertas
Casual Madrid del Teatro
Casual Madrid del Teatro
#142 of 440 in Madrid
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#45 of 440 in Madrid
1,306 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#48 of 440 in Madrid
640 reviews
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#225 of 440 in Madrid
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Persal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Persal

Address: Plaza Angel 12, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#97 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $74 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Persal 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in a building dating back to 1871 which preserves its original structure, Hostal Persal is located in Barrio de las Letras, in the very heart of the historical and tourist centre of Madrid, 100 metres away from Puerta del Sol, beside Plaza de Santa Ana and very close to Plaza Mayor and Prado, Thyssen and Reina Sofía museums…Hostal Persal is located in a pedestrian area with access for taxis and private vehicles to its doorstep. There are two public car parks just 50 metres away from our establishment (Plaza Santa Ana and Plaza Jacinto Benavente). Plaza de Santa Ana is famous for being an area for tapas and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Persal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Persal Madrid
Hostal Persal Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing