We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too much expensive but in good conditions”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Arosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arosa
Ranked #234 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Too much expensive but in good conditions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel is in the center of Madrid; for one night I payed 50€ for a single room with private bathroom and breakfast. The hotel is an 'old style' hotel. The room was cleaned and comfortable. Good for families or adult couples.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hidro_acs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience and for your mixed review posted following your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to see that you have quoted too much expensive our rate of 50€ for the room with buffet breakfast, in the center of Madrid.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

I look forward to your next visit so we can offer you our undivided attention.

With my best regards

Pilar Ruiz
Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    604
    310
    108
    50
See reviews for
181
550
188
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Arosa is located on Gran Via the Boardway of madrid. Do not spend exhorbitant amount as Taxi fares. One can take the metro from the airport to Gran Via and the hotel is minutes and a short walk away from Gran Via Metro station. The only problem is in case one is carrying heavy luggage would have to drag it two levels above from the underground station to ran Via. Very close to metro, bus, City Sight Seeing Bust stop, etc. Easy walking distance to plazas, museums and parks.

The lift is very small and can barely accomodate the passenger and the luggage. We were given a room on the 7 floor with barely any view. The desk manager upon request had no problems to provide an alternate room on the 6th floor with excellent view of Gran Via. The beuty of the night lit Gran Via is beyond words. The qiality of bed linen is very good, but the bed needs replacement. We were in the right corner room with big windows. The air conditioing was good and the room was clenaed everyday. Bathroom was rather very small. But Arosa's strength lies in its proximity to important monuments and other places of interest.

Breakfast spraed was good and very tasty. The chef would come and talk to the guests often. Overall had a good experience at Arosa.

Stayed from 14 Jan. 2013 until 17 Jan. 2013.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the 6th and 7th floor facing Gran Via. Room on the extreme right corner of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me start by thanking you for your opinion regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create and enjoyable experience for each of our Guest.

I have certainly taken your comments on board, and I hope that we may be able to welcome you back again in the future for a 100% positive experience

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

With my very best regards,

Pilar Ruiz
Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Rooms not as good as the last visit, booked on the Zen floor last time and the room found it to be excellent, this time booked a room on the 6th floor which was put in a smoking room although changed the next day to the 5th floor to a single small room with a window opening onto a shaft. It is a good location for city visits and plenty of restaurants, but as on business this was not relevant. Will stay again but will make sure I book on the Zen floor.

Room Tip: Booka room on the Zen floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations this time.

I appreciate your sharing your concerns and it is my hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future and to offer you our undivided attention.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next visit.
.
Again, I very much regret for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Pilar Ruiz
Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Excellent location. On Gran Via and very close to metro, bus, citymadrid bus. Also easy walking distance to plazas, museums, parks, palaces etc. Clean rooms. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast/bar staff offered excellent customer service. The breakfast had excellent variety and very plentiful to send us on our way to a busy day! Home to the smallest elevator in the world.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very thankful for bringing up such a positive feedback. I am so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create and enjoyable experience for each of our Guest.

I truly look forward to your next visit.

With my very best regards

Pilar Ruiz
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Hotel is very central, close to all central highlights of Madrid incl palace, parks, museums, galleries etc. Quiet room, breakfast room overlooking Gran Via, helpful staff, small irregular shape elevators a quirky feature .... worth a visit

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I sincerely thank you for the attention you have shown by giving your opinion regarding your stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create and enjoyable experience for each of our Guest.

I am pleased to see that you enjoy our elevator..

Hoping to have the pleasure to meet you on your next visit, I remain with best regards.

Pilar Ruiz
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The perfect location for Madrid with Metro station one minute away and everything close at hand. Our room faced the courtyard, so while we missed the view, it was very quiet. The bar on the second floor was a wonderful place to relax at the end of the day with a free cava and a bar man who believes in generosity when it comes to drink measures. It was worth booking just to use that lift! Make sure that you make yourself aware of any "offers" like discounts on breakfasts as the reception staff forget these details.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pfoster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

I look forward to your next visit so we can offer you our undivided attention.

With my best regards,


Pilar Ruiz
Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronse, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Perfect location close to Gran Via nearby the metro, but you can visit the city by walking: nearly
all the curiosities are close to the hotel!
The rooms are comfortable and clean (standard room).
The staff at the reception and in the bar is friendly.
Breakfast is plentiful.
The elevators are very small but that is not a real problem: the stairs are perfect.
The daily free glass of cava between 6 and 8 pm is a nice offer.
Good hotel for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very thankful for bringing up such a positive feedback. I am so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

I shared your feedback with all my team and they felt much rewarded by your words.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Pilar Ruiz
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Regente Hotel
Regente Hotel
#224 of 445 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel
Centro
Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arosa

Property: Hotel Arosa
Address: Calle Salud 21 | Edificio Gran Via, 29, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#147 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arosa 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel located in the heart of Madrid, just in the center of Gran Via the commercial, toursit and monumental area of the city with easy access and parking facilities. Our Clients enjoy FREE WIFI in all hotel areas, Internet corner with two computers and printer with FREE internet access, Minibar, FREE save deposir box in all rooms. Come with us and enjoy Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Arosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing