We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Madrid Experience”
Review of Hotel Arosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Arosa
Ranked #238 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Madrid Experience”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Overall, this hotel is not bad but we had some issues. The hotel has a strange setup. The reception area is up some stairs and quite small. There are two elevators but one of them is tiny. So, first impression is not great. However, once you get to the second floor, they have a huge lounge with a nice bar and lots of comfy couches and two computers you can use. A breakfast buffet is served there and it was very good. Lots of choices and great coffee.
The problems we encountered were with our room. We had booked what they call an "executive room". As far as I can tell, this just means that you get a queen bed instead of a double. The first room we got on the fifth floor was dark and overlooked an inner section with ventilation equipment. The wallpaper was peeling on the wall. Might have stayed there but they had turned off the air conditioning for some reason and it was hot during our stay. So we had to open the windows and then you could hear these fans going all night. Drove me crazy! So, the second day, we asked for a better room. We got a room on the seventh floor which was about the same but brighter with no peeling wallpaper. To our delight, the air conditioning was turned on again so we could keep the windows closed during the night. No noisy fans but still not that quiet as you could hear everything in the hallway and adjacent rooms. But I guess that's pretty standard in European hotels.
Overall, we felt we got the room for a good price (with free breakfast and minibar) considering its location in the heart of Madrid. Just wished we had slept better!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

I am sorry your stay didn't meet your expectations. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

I appreciate your sharing your concerns and it is my hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future and to offer you our undivided attention.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again

Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next visit.

With my best regards,

Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    610
    314
    112
    50
See reviews for
181
555
190
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The best thing of the hotel is its location: 10 meters from Gran Via St. between Callao and Gran Vía Metro stations. Hotel is confortable and has good beds, but tiny rooms and old fashion bathrooms. Common areas are large and have been renovated with good taste. Free internet. Free storage of luggage if you go out for few days and come back, as I did. Personel is polite, but they never help with the luggage to ran up the stairs from the street to the reception. Good choice for few days in Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Gran Via. You will have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for the attention you have shown by giving your opinion regarding your stay. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

I truly look forward to your next visit.

With my very best regards,

Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Stayed for 2 nights in early October and could walk everywhere. Metro station only metres away. Room very basic but clean and wifi good. Staff have very little English but easy to get around anyway.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank celestih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for the attention you have shown by giving your opinion regarding your stay. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

I truly look forward to your next visit.

With my very best regards,

Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
174 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a 2-3 starred hotel, no more. Very plain, room has a bed, a very plain tabletop (not desk) and an old box type TV with 20 or so channels. Breakfast is good, not great. Location is ok if you like to be in downtown. Overall, nothing special. Personally I was disappointed in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

I am sorry your stay didn't meet your expectations. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

I appreciate your sharing your concerns and it is my hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future and to offer you our undivided attention.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again

Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next visit.

With my best regards,

Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
151 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very good Hotel but to exspensive what you got for your money. Breakfast ok, service ok, but the room where to tiny and the bed was very low and not nice to lay in. All very clean and every floor in a different style, we was in 8th floor and it was a little in Japanese direction. Bathroom ok and also very clean. But all over are 148 Euro a night to much for this Hotel. Good that the Hotel is right in the Center of Madrid at Gran Via, near Metro and Plaza del Sol and Plaza Major.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room, to get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soccerwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Let me start by thanking you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a few days in mid-September and loved the location, our room, breakfast and service. The only problem was the internet. Our WiFi signal was strong but internet connection service was very spotty at best. Only one of the two computers in the restaurant area worked, so if there wero other people who wanted to use it you were out of luck. They have very nice property but in 2012 they must get better internet service. I think they just do not have enough capacity going outside.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for the interior section. No view but very quiet. Rooms facing Gran V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonK1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Client,

Let me start by thanking you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create and enjoyable experience for each of our Guest.

I have certainly taken your comments on board, and I hope that we may be able to welcome you back again in the future for a 100% positive experience.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!


Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel, primarily due to the location (which is seconds away from one of the main shopping streets, Gran Via) but also due to the reasonable price for a clean and comfortable room with a nice powerful shower.

We stayed for 3 nights mid September (choosing to not pay extra for breakfast) and were very happy with our room - we were lucky enough to get one of the 16 Zen rooms (ie Japan inspired decor) so the room felt new and clean with efficient air con. However my boyfriend did find the mattress too hard!

There is free wi-fi, along with computer terminals freely available on the 2nd floor where the bar is and we were lucky enough to be there when they were giving away a free glass of cava to each guest between 18:00 - 20:00 on a daily basis! We only used the reception to check in and out however the staff were friendly and efficient, and happily pointed us to the spacious luggage room available for guests on the day of our departure.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family, and would be happy to return again. I wouldn't imagine the breakfast is very good value for money given the many cheap bakeries dotted around but that's just my personal preference!

Room Tip: I'd try asking for a room not facing Gran Via (as I can imagine it might get quite noisey during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzeyQ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

I look forward to your next visit so we can offer you our undivided attention.

With my best regards,


Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Regente Hotel
Regente Hotel
#223 of 436 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel
Centro
Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arosa

Property: Hotel Arosa
Address: Calle Salud 21 | Edificio Gran Via, 29, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#150 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arosa 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel located in the heart of Madrid, just in the center of Gran Via the commercial, toursit and monumental area of the city with easy access and parking facilities. Our Clients enjoy FREE WIFI in all hotel areas, Internet corner with two computers and printer with FREE internet access, Minibar, FREE save deposir box in all rooms. Come with us and enjoy Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Arosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing