We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Hotel Arosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Arosa
Ranked #246 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Stayed for 2 nights in early October and could walk everywhere. Metro station only metres away. Room very basic but clean and wifi good. Staff have very little English but easy to get around anyway.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank celestih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

I thank you for the attention you have shown by giving your opinion regarding your stay. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

I truly look forward to your next visit.

With my very best regards,

Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a 2-3 starred hotel, no more. Very plain, room has a bed, a very plain tabletop (not desk) and an old box type TV with 20 or so channels. Breakfast is good, not great. Location is ok if you like to be in downtown. Overall, nothing special. Personally I was disappointed in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

I am sorry your stay didn't meet your expectations. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

I appreciate your sharing your concerns and it is my hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future and to offer you our undivided attention.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again

Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next visit.

With my best regards,

Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very good Hotel but to exspensive what you got for your money. Breakfast ok, service ok, but the room where to tiny and the bed was very low and not nice to lay in. All very clean and every floor in a different style, we was in 8th floor and it was a little in Japanese direction. Bathroom ok and also very clean. But all over are 148 Euro a night to much for this Hotel. Good that the Hotel is right in the Center of Madrid at Gran Via, near Metro and Plaza del Sol and Plaza Major.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room, to get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soccerwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Let me start by thanking you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a few days in mid-September and loved the location, our room, breakfast and service. The only problem was the internet. Our WiFi signal was strong but internet connection service was very spotty at best. Only one of the two computers in the restaurant area worked, so if there wero other people who wanted to use it you were out of luck. They have very nice property but in 2012 they must get better internet service. I think they just do not have enough capacity going outside.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for the interior section. No view but very quiet. Rooms facing Gran V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonK1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Client,

Let me start by thanking you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create and enjoyable experience for each of our Guest.

I have certainly taken your comments on board, and I hope that we may be able to welcome you back again in the future for a 100% positive experience.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!


Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel, primarily due to the location (which is seconds away from one of the main shopping streets, Gran Via) but also due to the reasonable price for a clean and comfortable room with a nice powerful shower.

We stayed for 3 nights mid September (choosing to not pay extra for breakfast) and were very happy with our room - we were lucky enough to get one of the 16 Zen rooms (ie Japan inspired decor) so the room felt new and clean with efficient air con. However my boyfriend did find the mattress too hard!

There is free wi-fi, along with computer terminals freely available on the 2nd floor where the bar is and we were lucky enough to be there when they were giving away a free glass of cava to each guest between 18:00 - 20:00 on a daily basis! We only used the reception to check in and out however the staff were friendly and efficient, and happily pointed us to the spacious luggage room available for guests on the day of our departure.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family, and would be happy to return again. I wouldn't imagine the breakfast is very good value for money given the many cheap bakeries dotted around but that's just my personal preference!

Room Tip: I'd try asking for a room not facing Gran Via (as I can imagine it might get quite noisey during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzeyQ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

I look forward to your next visit so we can offer you our undivided attention.

With my best regards,


Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Ok before I start, I just wanna say that I didn't have a really good time in Madrid, had missed out on a tour because there was miscommunication with where we should meet; and me & a friend got robbed on the metro train heading to the airport, we didn't see or feel who did it. I lost my wallet which contained my most important thing, my passport. The security and some locals there were not helpful. And I saw a protest/riot at night near the Sol train station city centre, which kinda put me off. But having said that, I know those experiences do not reflect all of the country and there are still good people, services and locations around. One point is this hotel, which we booked through Expedia, at a pretty good rate. It was a little hard to find as it is situated on a side-street, but it was clean, featured Spanish architecture, beds, functional showers and air-conditioning. The staff spoke above-average servicable English, and were helpful to us, especially in suggesting different tour companies that had offered the exact same tours the original tour company we booked with did, so we went with them. The bar/lounge/computer area is large, and there is even a private phone booth for those who don't have mobile phones wanting to call privately. I really enjoyed the hotel, despite a lot of problems we had in Madrid, and would recommend people making a booking there, and avoiding the metro train as much as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am very thankful for bringing up such a positive feedback. I am so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

I shared your feedback with all my team and they felt much rewarded by your words.

I very much regret for the bad experiences you had in Madrid.

I thank you once again for this wonderful message.

I truly look forward to your next visit.

With my very best regards,

Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

After 4 (business) nights at one of the best rated hotels in Madrid I moved to this hotel for one night. I was certainly a down grade in terms of standard, but keeping in mind that it was half the price compared to my first hotel, I think this hotel is value for mony. How much can you expect if you pay approx. 70 Euro for one night? If and when I should go to Madrid again privately, I would certainly consider this hotel. The room was small but nice and clean with no noice from the street. The location is perfect in the old part.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OMICPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Clients,

I thank you for the attention you have shown by giving your opinion regarding your stay.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create and enjoyable experience for each of our Guest

I truly look forward to your next visit.

With my very best regards,

Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Centro
Regente Hotel
Regente Hotel
#227 of 438 in Madrid
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel
Chueca
Petit Palace Chueca
Petit Palace Chueca
#148 of 438 in Madrid
829 reviews
Malasana
Petit Palace Triball
Petit Palace Triball
#53 of 438 in Madrid
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arosa

Address: Calle Salud 21, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#155 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $79 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arosa 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel located in the heart of Madrid, just in the center of Gran Via the commercial, toursit and monumental area of the city with easy access and parking facilities. Our Clients enjoy FREE WIFI in all hotel areas, Internet corner with two computers and printer with FREE internet access, Minibar, FREE save deposir box in all rooms. Come with us and enjoy Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Arosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing