We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Arosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Arosa
Ranked #236 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Toronto,Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Hotel: Location is excellent for first time guests. We had booked the executive package and were quite happy with the Japanese themed room(bed is low). No issues at all with staff. We had breakfast but were disappointed that on our last day we missed it since breakfast only starts at 7am unlike other hotels where it starts at 6am. We also tried the hotels gym and it was adequate. Internet in room did not work very well, and we resorted to using the pc's in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    603
    310
    108
    50
See reviews for
181
549
188
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

the smallest pair of elevators i have ever been in. One fits about people in the other three. My companion and i had a room( 6th floor) near the alley , i always heard a person taking out the trash at around 3am , other than that it was quite.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unicron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for your mixed review posted following your recent stay with us.

I appreciate your sharing your concerns and it is my hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future and to offer you our undivided attention.

I have certainly taken your comments on board, and I hope that we may be able to welcome you back again in the future for a 100% positive experience.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next visit.

With my best regards

Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
Best Western Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
404 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and don't really have many complaints. It is very centrally located on Gran Via with easy access to all the tourist attractions and was also good value for money. We were lucky to have been allocated a corner room on the 6th floor which was very spacious - with a small sitting area. The drawback was there was no lighting for this area which seemed a bit odd to say the least. It wouldn't have taken alot of imagination to put a standing light in a corner. Also for a four star hotel, the most basic tea/ coffee making facilities were not available in the room which in this day and age is expected even in lower rating hotels. In general, it seemed more like a 3 star than 4 star hotel. The staff were responsive when help needed, but they were not particularly friendly - wouldn't have taken much to smile a little bit more!! We did not have breakfast there as 14 euros did not seem very good value. The lift situation is indeed hilarious (or infuriating? or both?) as referred to by many guests - the tiniest lifts to service such a massive hotel is really beyond reason. However, I have to say we didn't have to wait long most of the time for the lift - perhaps we were lucky. And also as we travelled light, we had no issue with luggage, etc not fitting into the limited space. All in all, a great location which made up for the other faults. The entrance is on the side on Salud rather than on Gran Via. It was a shame with the scaffolding, I am sure it looks alot more attractive without it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doofvfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent experience with us .

I note your ratings were positive, and we will endeavor to address the issues you have raised.

I very much regret for all the inconveniences we may cause to you with the scaffolding but, there is need to tell you that the improvement works are a normal, apart from necessary, duty for any Hotel all over the world so that this keeps up to the highest standards.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
Best Western Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
204 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

After many city tours throughout Europe as well as Spain (lately Barcelona and Valencia) we choose Madrid and an hotel right in the center with walking distance to all high-lights. Arosa is a very best choice. We booked in advence for a week at a moderate price. The entrance and the reception on the 2nd floor seemed quite odd. Scaffolding all around the building, but people were taking it down. We changed rooms from the 5th floor to the japonese floor, without scaffolding. Reception was very friendly and helpfull. We ended up in a spacious room, all funrnished in japonese way, so the beds were okay, but close to the floor. Bamboo type of vinyl flooring, excellent bathroom.

The breakfast which was included in the price was ok, however the hotel was very busy (gay parade) so you had to wait refilling eg scrambling eggs. The lounge and bar were cosy, free drink and cocktails ok., service very good.

Wifi on the room works excellent, no problems printing our e-tickets in the lounge. A point of criticism is the location of the reception and the 1 1/2 elevator for a think 160 rooms. As architect I know something about capacity calculations on elevators. I never have seen this nor designed this my live. Looking to the emergency plan I saw two extra lifts in the other emergency stairwell. I am curious how the future wil look like in Arosa.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heinjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Let me start by thanking you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create and enjoyable experience for each of our Guest.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!


Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
Best Western Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nurnberg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Location: this is the best part of this hotel. The entrance to the hotel is on a side street to Gran Via, the most famous street in town with lots of stores, coffee shops and restaurants. You can walk from here to most of the sights and there are several metro and bus stations nearby. Unfortunately in the pedestrian area to the right of the Gran Via metro station there seems to be the red light district.

Room: we booked the executive room and I think we probably got the best room in the hotel: on the 8th floor overlooking the Gran Via. The room is pretty small (I expected it to be bigger for an executive!) with ugly PVC flooring but on the plus side the bathroom is very nice with complementary liquid soap and shower & hair gel. The room is overall nicely furnished but the bed is too low and the matrace is only placed on top of it in the middle so there's a big gap betweet the matrace and the wall, which might look fashionable but it's uncomfortable. The view of the room is on Gran Via but they're restoring the building front so there's scaffold right in front of the windows which ruins the view. For our entire stay I have not seen any workers doing any cleaning and painting on the building front.

Breakfast: the usual bread rolls, toast, boiled eggs, hams, sausages, bacon, cheese, pastry, croissant, muffin, three types of cereals, fresh fruits but microwaved scrambled eggs and no salads. Ice cubes for the juices was a nice touch. There's also miso soup with rice which I found unusual.

Free wireless internet: username and password is provided by the reception free of charge upon request. Even though connected to the network with 2-3 lines, the internet doesn't work most of the time. I constantly have to try to re-connect until it starts working but even then it works only for a few minutes.

Lobby: very nice with a bar, comfy couches and two computers connected to the internet (username and password from the reception). I checked in for our return flight on one of them and printed the tickets directly to the printer at the reception at no extra cost.

Staff: they get the job done but it wouldn't hurt if they would be friendlier and most importantly if they would smile a bit.

What I found incredibly disturbing is the cleaning lady cleaning up in the rooms next to us at 8 in the morning! The walls are thin so I could hear her bump into things, speaking loud and vacuum clean like she was right next to me. Of course on a more normal time for cleaning up when the guests are in the city, like at 12 at noon, her cleaning stuff was on the hallway but she was nowhere to be found.

Gym: there's a gym on the 8th floor but we didn't try it.

All in all, I think this is more like a 3* hotel and, if you want good location and you can accept these limitations which I described above (like we did), you'll have a nice stay.

P.S: The tiny elevator is hilarious!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moniqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Many thanks for your mixed review following a recent stay with us.

I have certainly taken your comments on board, and I hope that we may be able to welcome you back again in the future for a 100% positive experience.

I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next visit.

With my best regards

Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
Best Western Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

I stayed 1 night at Best Western Arosa, and I wasn't very impressed with the overall quality of this over-starred (4*) hotel. I would give it no more that 3 and half stars. The hotel is centrally located just a few feet away from the metro station Gran Via, and also a couple of minutes walk to the famous Plaza del Sol. The smallest elevator I've seen so far was in this hotel, and I don't think an overweight person would fit in it. Unlike other hotels in Spain, you need to use your credit card to lock and unlock the in-room safety deposit box, which basically defeats the main purpose of storing the valuable items (including the credit card) in the box. The breakfast is overpriced (€14) and it's not worth the money. There are so many cafes around the hotel, where you can have breakfast for a lot cheaper.

On a different note, there is a nice restaurant with friendly waitresses just a few steps down the street from the hotel that serves very delicious Galician food, and you won't regret eating there either lunch or dinner. To not get confused with other restaurants nearby, this Galician restaurant has a large glass door entrance and the table chairs are in white/green color.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Let me start by thanking you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

With my best regards,

Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
Best Western Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Center town is just close by, you can get metro easily, everything what you like to visit is reachable by foot, yes the best way to see town anyhow ! People at reception are quite nice and helpful, we did not have breakfast included in arrangement but could get it at hotel without problem, there was a special offer when we went. Breakfast is good : orange juice, coffee or tea or milk, bread, toast, ham, marmelades, honey, butter, eggs, chease, sweets and fruits. Maybe it could be different sweets every day, but of course you can choose everytime something else, one day salty, one day sweet, and one day cereals. Outside the hotel there are many places where you can get some sweets and full breakfast too. Rooms on last floor, japanese floor, are just beautiful. Room big enough, bathroom too, everything is very clean. Sure a nice place !

Room Tip: book room on advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milou27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Let me start by thanking you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create and enjoyable experience for each of our Guest.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!


Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
Best Western Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Regente Hotel
Regente Hotel
#224 of 445 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel
Centro
Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arosa

Property: Hotel Arosa
Address: Calle Salud 21 | Edificio Gran Via, 29, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#148 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arosa 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel located in the heart of Madrid, just in the center of Gran Via the commercial, toursit and monumental area of the city with easy access and parking facilities. Our Clients enjoy FREE WIFI in all hotel areas, Internet corner with two computers and printer with FREE internet access, Minibar, FREE save deposir box in all rooms. Come with us and enjoy Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing