We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and close to city centre, shops and metro.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vincci Soma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vincci Soma
Ranked #179 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Comfortable and close to city centre, shops and metro.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Always wanted to visit Madrid so we were pleased that the hotel was clean and comfortable. Very close to the city centre (walking or metro) with an excellent evening menu. Staff were helpful especially the evening staff in the restaurant/bar.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VINYLWEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    397
    196
    54
    33
See reviews for
132
288
71
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I booked the Soma for a one night business trip because of its location being close to my meeting the next morning. I arrived in the evening with a lot of work to do to prepare for this meeting.

Firstly, the location is good. Right amongst the shops and very close to the Goya metro station (easily reachable from the airport). The reception is clean and efficiently run, the restaurant provided a fairly average breakfast and my room was comfortable if not particularly luxurious.

My main disappointment is a familiar one. I choose hotels partly based on the provision of free wifi in the bedrooms, very important if you need to work during your stay and essential if you intend to download presentations, graphic work and detailed spreadsheets. The Vincci Soma stated clearly on its website that it offers free wifi in all rooms. This is totally misleading! You can barely connect to the hotel network and if you manage to get a connection it is very slow and kicks you out after a few seconds.

Twice I contacted reception to complain and twice they sent their "expert" to fix it. He couldn't get it to work, in fact he knew that he would fail because, as he agreed, the wifi didn't work in any of the rooms! When I asked reception what I was supposed to do as I had vital work to carry out, they said that they offered a cable to connect guests to the internet when the wifi failed! I told them that my computer had no cable connectivity and they told me there was nothing that they could do. Useless!

The next morning I received a free breakfast to compensate me for the inconvenience but this still didn't help me prepare for my meeting. I had to find an internet cafe nearby and use that to obtain the necessary data.

It is clear that the Soma is quite aware that their wifi doesn't work so why keep offering it on the website? Either put it right or be honest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillyAlicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for sending us your opinions. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with the hotel´s location, the reception, breakfast buffet and the room. Our guest´s satisfaction is our reason to be and what we work for every day in Vincci Hotels.
We regret, though, if a particular malfunction caused the problems you describe with the wifi connection and would like to inform you that thanks to your opinion we have started using a wifi antenna so that this does not occur again. However, we would like to mention that in our hotel we offer free and quality internet wifi connection, as well as a business corner in the library with a library with internet and a printer available for guests. We are sorry if you were not informed about it during your stay and for any inconveniences caused.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was quite close to 'palacio de los deportes' as we had tickets for a concert. The staff was great and very polite. The standard of the rooms was good -clean and spacious-. I was surprised by how close it was to...everything! Tube, shops, main attractions, etc. definitely recommend it if you are not fond of walking and want quick acess to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misspf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Overall, an ok hotel. Nothing really bad or negative to say. We were on a tour and it was an average "package tour" hotel. Hotel guest computer was worthless. Highlight was that the subway station was basically across the street and we had easy access to the old town and Palace for less than two euros. Subway ticket machines were very easy to use.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELDJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We would like to let you know that we will take your opinions into account: they will doubtless help us to improve the customer service we offer our guests in the future.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angouleme, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Two nights in a "family room" for three people. The location is great, right on Calle Goya in the chic shopping zone and easy walking to nearby attractions. The staff are universally friendly and helpful. All good. So, the downside. The downside is that the aircon (at least in our room, was virtually non-existent leading to a very stuffy room, the rooms are tired and scrappy and the lift is poky and takes forever. Nevertheless i would say it is good value for the price considering the location but be prepared to rough it a little bit.

Room Tip: Avoid the internal facing rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mogowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our establishment for your stay in Madrid and for sending us your opinions and feedback. We are pleased to know that our location was to your liking and that you found our staff friendly. We will pass on your congratulations to the entire team.
We regret, though, that we did not meet all of your expectations and that you were not entirely pleased with specific aspects of your stay. We will bear close in mind your opinions in order to continue improving and adapting as best as possible the tastes and preferences of our guests.
We would likewise like to inform you that all of our rooms and facilities are rigorously reviewed so we apologize if during your stay there might have been a temporary problem with the process that caused the inconveniences you describe with the air conditioning.
In any case, despite the fact that our facilities are under ongoing revision, any guest who detects a problem with any of our facilities can notify reception and our staff will proceed to take care of it as quickly as possible.
We would also like to mention that all of our facilities are under a process of continual improvement in order to maintain them in a perfect state. We regret that the room you were assigned did not give you a good impression and we would like to inform you that those guests who are not happy with the room they have been assigned can notify us and, always in so far as it is possible, our staff will proceed to offer them a change of room trying at all times to make their stay be both pleasant and enjoyable.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My preferred hotel of choice in Madrid, I have stayed here on countless times over the past 5 years and have yet to be disappointed. The restaurant is a delight, the breakfast awesome, the staff friendly and helpful, and the pricing extremely competitive. In fact, what you get is terrific value. The best rooms are the ones with balconies on the 8th and 9th floors which allow you to enjoy the views down the main streets and over the roof-tops. Air-conditioning, newspapers, good wi-fi, meeting rooms and a cosy bar area. Great location near shops and the Retiro park, and also underground car-parking. I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this place to one and all. JLR score - 45/50

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoseRomanillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a fabulous location, close to shops, bars, restaurants, El Corte Ingles, but the nicest part is the beauty of the hotel. So comfortable, comfortable beds. Great a/c or heat, no noise, the most charming staff who are always welcoming, be it after a few hours or several months from visiting. Beautiful setting for dining with fantastic buffet breakfast. Will come back again and again.
GA

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the 8th floor. Beautiful size balcony to enjoy the coolness of the evening o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabnraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Catalonia Goya
Catalonia Goya
#123 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Novotel Madrid Center
Novotel Madrid Center
#116 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#72 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Embassy Serrano
Barrio de Salamanca
H10 Puerta de Alcala
H10 Puerta de Alcala
#278 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Hotel Velazquez
Gran Hotel Velazquez
#294 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Soma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Soma

Property: Vincci Soma
Address: Calle Goya 79, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Madrid
#121 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#134 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Soma 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with tailored, tasteful furnishings; restaurant serving Mediterranean cuisine; located near Retiro Park and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Vincci Soma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Soma Hotel Madrid
Vincci Hotel Madrid
Vincci Hotel Soma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing