We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, rooms are nothing special for the price.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vincci Soma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vincci Soma
Ranked #179 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average hotel, rooms are nothing special for the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

At almost £100 a night for a double room only (no breakfast) I expected much better than this. Although some of the fittings in the bathroom and bedroom were nice I would not be expecting to pay so much and I have stayed at comparative hotels for half the price of this.
My room looked inwards into a square area facing other rooms and the window was qiuite small so the room was very dark.
There was no coffee or tea making facilities in the room.
Being on a higher floor as well one had to use the lifts and sometimes I had to wait quite a while. The reception door area faces the street and whilst they can not do much to alter that they could change the reception desk to face the guests coming in. As it is, it is not a very welcoming reception area, standing there whilst waiting with the automatic doors opening and shutting and the bad weather blowing in.
The staff were helpful and wi fi was provided, although there was confusion over whether it was free or not. However it was free.
On the plus side the street Calle Goya is quite a good location for exploring and a 20-30 minute walk gets you to lots of Madrids attractions. It is also just across the road from the Calle Goya Metro station, which was handy if carrying lots of luggage.
Personally If I was to go to Madrid again I would choose a different hotel within the same region.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing onto the street or outside wall of the building. A lot of rooms face inwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Didimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your opinions and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our location and our staff, although regret not completely meeting your expectations and that certain aspects of your stay were not to your liking. In this regard we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest’s observations, complains, suggestions and comments always in order to improve.
We are sorry as well that you were not entirely satisfied with the room that you were assigned. We would like you to know that we have available five different types of rooms (individual, standard, superior, junior suite and apartment) with the goal of completely adapting to the tastes and needs of our guests. Those guests who are not happy with the room they have been assigned can notify us and always in so far as it is possible we will offer a change of room trying at all times to make sure their stay is pleasant and enjoyable.
We work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    397
    196
    54
    33
See reviews for
132
288
71
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Everything is relatively new and works well. It has a library with a gas fireplace which you don't see everyday. It makes for a quiet alternative spot to sit with a book or a laptop to get work done.

The restaurant is very good and the the room service menu is creative.

The internet is a little iffy. If you're a business traveler, tell the desk when you check in so you can get a room close to the WiFi. It makes a big difference.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We’d like to let you know, also, that we take into account each and every observation, complaint, suggestion, and other comments, from our guests, with the goal of improving our customers’ experiences.
Ultimately, we work hard to achieve customer satisfaction, and your opinions are always the most useful in helping us to do so.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for four nights in November 2012. It located just across the street from a metro station. Easy access to get around town. The room was clean and had a good bathroom with a tub. Nothing fancy, but good standard. It's a restaurant and a small gym in the hotel. I did not use either of them. Bottom line: I have nothing to complain about and I could stay there again. But don't expect any extra service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svein K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here earlier this year for a long weekend. The hotel is reasonably priced, and was located within walking distance of many of Madrid's most popular tourist sites. The hotel was clean and comfortable and offered free wi-fi, which is unfortunately not the case everywhere.

The staff were polite and helpful, and generally spoke good English.

There are numerous bars, restaurants and shops in the vicinity.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Front desk was good, but my room on the 2nd floor was rather basic- quite dark and the bathroom was also not as good as the other two Vincci hotels I've stayed at in Spain. I was expecting the same level, but this one was older and more tired. Lifts took forever to arrive when button was pressed. But location was great, metro a stone's throw away.

Clean and functional; it's a good hotel if all you need is a place to sleep. I would stay here again as it's the nearest hotel to my office in Madrid, but otherwise, the Vincci Soho in the Prado is a much better choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janakii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Vincci Hotels and for sending your feedback regarding our establishment. We are pleased to know that our location, cleaning service and reception area were all to your liking. Surely, our guest´s satisfaction is our reason to be and what we work for every day in our chain.
We regret, though, that you were not entirely pleased with some aspects of your stay and would like to inform you that we will bear close in mind your ideas in order to continue improving our service and facilities.
We are sorry, as well, that you were not entirely satisfied with the room you were assigned. In this regard, we would like you to know that we have available five different types of rooms (individual, standard, superior, junior suite and apartment) with the goal of adapting ourselves completely to the tastes and needs of our guests. Those guests who are not happy with their assigned room can notify us and always in so far as it is possible our staff will offer a change of room, trying at all times to make their stay pleasant and enjoyable.
We regret that in your case it is not possible to give a thorough reply to the all the points you mention in your review, as you have not sent us your hotel booking number, as we have requested on various occasions. Without this information or something to identify you as a guest, it is impossible for us to give a better response to your review. We would be delighted to do so if you send the this information to the following email address: gema.gallardo@vinccihoteles.com, indicating in the subject line the following information: Vincci Soma 26/11/2012.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Excellent location, many restaurants and stores nearby including grocery stores. Easy walking distance to Retiro park, the Plaza de Toros bullring, and other tourist sites. The metro was also very convenient to use from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane6250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Catalonia Goya
Catalonia Goya
#123 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Novotel Madrid Center
Novotel Madrid Center
#116 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#72 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Embassy Serrano
Barrio de Salamanca
H10 Puerta de Alcala
H10 Puerta de Alcala
#278 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Hotel Velazquez
Gran Hotel Velazquez
#294 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Soma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Soma

Property: Vincci Soma
Address: Calle Goya 79, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Madrid
#121 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#134 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Soma 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with tailored, tasteful furnishings; restaurant serving Mediterranean cuisine; located near Retiro Park and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Vincci Soma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Soma Hotel Madrid
Vincci Hotel Madrid
Vincci Hotel Soma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing