We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant historical luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection
Ranked #108 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Lovely hotel, reception & concierge were superb. We had a lovely room - I think it must have been in the former stable block.

You walk through the hotel gates and it's like a little oasis in the city! The public rooms are very historical and elegantly furnished. They were not very busy as they don't have many rooms.

We ate in the hotel bar; we'd been sight seeing all day and couldn't face going out. We had a good steak. Service was just about ok so that was dissappointing.

The pool was cold (apparently as I didn't venture in!)

Room Tip: Ours in the outside block was lovely.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_HSM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Jacky Q,
Greetings from Madrid!! On behalf of the team we want to thank you for your comments and for sharing it with others!!
We are very glad to hear that you had a great experience in our little oasis in the heart of Madrid and among us!
We hope to see you back here in your next trip to Madrid!
Have a great day!
Best Regards,

The Santo Mauro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 418 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, a little palace in downtown Madrid. Very elegant, boutique style hotel, with different buildings. The details are very well taken care of. Very attentive staff, a pool, a restaurant in a library. Love it!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbarabt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_HSM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Barbarabt,
Greetings from Madrid! Thanks for your kind message and for sharing it with others!
It was a pleasure to have you among us in your reacent visit to Madrid and he are glad to hear that you enjoy our hotel.
We hope to see you back soon! Best Regards,

AC Santo Mauro Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

we spent our anniversary night in this hotel the hotel is really beautiful renovated over a year ago our room was big very nice big bathroom big beds high ceilings, the common areas were stunning the restaurant is an old library where we had very nice breakfast maybe a bit uptight for us (too formal) but definetively worth it...
beautiful place nice experience

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_HSM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Cocotti,
On behalf of the team we want to thank you for your comments and for sharing them with others!
It was a pleasure to have you during your visit to Madrid.
From the Hotel AC Santo Mauro we look forward to welcoming you back .
Sincerely,

The AC Santo Mauro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really beautiful and the service is fantastic. Everything to the last detail is done here. It is like taking a step back into the past with such beautiful decor. Having said that the room is modern with a warm feel. The staff go out of there way to please, love the place.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephensos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_HSM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Stephensos,

We are glad you shared your opinion with others. On behalf the entire team we want to thank you for your time and overall your confidence in us.
We are happy to know about your experience with us during your last stay and we hope to see you soon in our Hotel!
Best Regards!

The Santo Mauro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I've never stayed in former Duke's residence before, and it was an absolute pleasure. Such a beautiful property tucked away in an upscale residential community!
Not the most convenient location to the main sights of Madrid, but it definitely works and honestly, just take a cab if you are going a distance!
Our room was in the main building. The secondary building is on a street corner (residential neighborhood) and might be a little noisy.
Gracious welcome from the staff.
Beautiful lobby, lounge and dining room.
Wonderful food came out of the kitchen!
The room was nicely appointed (newly remodeled) with modern furnishings.
Nice, large bathroom with shower stall and separate tub.
We really enjoyed our time at this property!

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building overlooking the gardens / patio.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank longbeachCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

It's a great hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Common areas are beautiful. The staff it's very nice and helpful. Although I have some things that they should fix. First, the pool it's not heated. 22*C its not warm to swing inside...specially in the Winter. The Internet connection it's not very good. Surprising for a 5 star hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Luis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed in this very nice and calm hotel while my last business trip in Madrid. The rooms are very comfortable with two LCD screens (living room & room). Very close to Castellana and city center. There are always taxis waiting in front of the hotel. If I return to Madrid I will stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuisGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#11 of 438 in Madrid
635 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#50 of 438 in Madrid
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#10 of 438 in Madrid
830 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 438 in Madrid
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection

Address: Calle Zurbano 36, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Madrid
#53 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#60 Family Hotel in Madrid
#79 Business Hotel in Madrid
#79 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $274 - $763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the former residence of the Duke of Santo Mauro, an influential member of Madrid society at that time. The hotel consists of three buildings surrounded by a magnificient garden that makes it an oasis in the heart of Madrid. Located in the exclusive area of Chamberi, surrounded by palaces of time, the Hotel is located next to the main shopping area of the city, the financial area and major tourist attractions. It has been demanded as destination for business and leisure travelers for over 3 decades.The Santo Mauro hotel has 49 unique rooms, customized to the smallest detail that will make the experience of staying in a palace accompanied by a personalized service tailored to each guest.The former ballrooms are now part of the lobby in which each room has its unique style as the Red Room Decorating Frenchified, the Chinese Room with a collection of oriental pieces and Chivas art deco bar to enjoy a variety of gin and tonics or cocktails. Following the orders of the Duke of Santo Mauro, this palace, dating from the end of the 19th century, was built by the architect Louis Legrand. Located in the heart of the Madrilian district of Chamber and very close to the Paseo de la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection Hotel Madrid
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing