We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World elegance”
Review of Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Ranked #36 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old World elegance”
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I stayed at the Ritz for one night on a brief business trip. It was also the night that Athletico Madrid reached the semi final of the Europa cup. It was hard not to get caught up in the enthuasiasm of the supporters, I hadn't realised that the square outside the Hotel was the meeting point for celebrations!
I checked in very late in the evening and the night desk staff were swift and very welcoming. The room wasn't too big but beautifully furnished in the old European style but with all modern amenities that you require when travelling for work and plenty of wall sockets for plugging in lots of gadgets. The bed was very comfortable, beautiful linens, it was just unfortunate that the celebrations went into the night and every citizen of Madrid (and their car) where outside. However, it was all very good natured and not the fault of the hotel.

Breakfast the following morning was excellent, service was well up to 5 * standard. It's also next door to the Prado Museum ( a definite plus when you only have 10 minutes to see a Velasquez!)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potatofairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    363
    137
    51
    46
See reviews for
385
798
85
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We enjoyed very much our stay. Everything did complement each other: the decoration style, the excellent service, their restaurants menus and the deluxe rooms.
I believe this hotel after 100 years still is at the top in Spain and Europe.
Great location on the hart of Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morado_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This hotel has it all. Old world grandeur with flat screen TVs. Incredible service that is among the best we have had. You can get packages with breakfast, airport transfer, breakfast, internet that actually make it a good value.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coloradofoodmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

The start was a little disappointing when they forgot to meet us at the airport, but they were very apologetic and promptly and unasked reimbursed us for the taxi cost. Thereafter everything was pure luxury and relaxation. We were truly pampered for the 3 days we stayed with them. The room (junior suite) was fantastic with an excellent view. The bed - pure heaven, I dont think I have ever slept that well. The location of the hotel is perfect, just a short walk away from El Prado and many other museums and sights. The Spa and fitness area of the hotel provided us with all the comfort we were looking for. All in all we had a fantastic stay at the Ritz and really enjoyed Madrid and are very much looking forward to return both to the city and the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibertyGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
82 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

My husband and I spent three nights at the Ritz Hotel in early May 2010, and loved it. It is beautifully decorated in a “turn of the century” style, has friendly staff (especially the concierge desk) and a wonderful afternoon tea. We made our reservation there through the American Express Platinum Travel Program, which has always (for us) provided wonderful upgrades at their “Fine Hotels and Resorts” and this was no exception. We were assigned to what the hotel described as a “small” suite but, in reality, turned out to be impressively large with separate bedroom and living room on the fifth floor (# 515) overlooking the Prado Museum.
The Ritz is located in a prime location close to Retiro Park and the major museums. The Prado Museum across the street has recently been renovated and brightened to the point that it makes the nearby Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum look dated. Also within easy walking distance are the scenic plazas of the old town and the Royal Palace (rent the audio guide and do not miss the armory). We were even able to walk to the Sorolla Museum and the newly renovated Museo Romantico, both often overlooked gems.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EWLTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

This hotel which is a part of the Orient express hotel experience is situated in a beautiful part of old Madrid and is ideally located in the immediate vicinity of the major museum attractions of the Prado and the Thyssen. Its a charming building with an impressive and ornate lobby. The staff here are very helpful and can converse in English and are very accomodative. The Ritz's rooms are well proportioned and exhibit a romantic old world charm.
The in-house dinning experience is a treat with a terrace restaurant that caters to hotel guests to some tasteful delights. All in all a very satisfying stay. Will return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stvitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

I stayed in this hotel in december 2009. The hotel is a beautiful old building, near all the most important museums. The service is simply perfect. The tea in the lobby is an unforgettable experience. My room (de luxe city w) was perfect and wasn't old, as others tripadvisors said. If you're looking for a modern hotel, if you love contemporary art, you don't stay at the ritz.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManager, Rooms Division Director at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, May 17, 2010
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Simange,

Thank you very much for your feedback through Tripadvisor about your stay with us.
It is really a great pleasure for us to succeed with one of our guest.
I will be glad to welcoming you back at the Ritz Madrid.

Yours sincerely,

Alex González Pozo
Rooms Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
990 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#34 of 436 in Madrid
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#33 of 436 in Madrid
1,708 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 436 in Madrid
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz, Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Property: Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Madrid
#11 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#30 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz, Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz, Madrid is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ritz, Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing