We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Nearby Hotels
Catalonia Las Cortes(Madrid)
$244
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$383
$332
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$193
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$86
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$347
$313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$293
$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
$123
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$230
Only YOU Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,049)
Filter reviews
2,049 results
Traveler rating
1,387
404
146
58
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,387
404
146
58
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgoya restaurantmandarin orientalprado museumgrand damelinen sheetsold world eleganceconcierge staffclassic hotelbeautiful hoteldeluxe roombeautiful roompublic areastapasthe location is perfectreina sofialuxuryrenovation
Filter
Updating list...
849 - 854 of 2,049 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Not to be confused with the Ritz Carlton "branded" hotels, this Orient Express property is very nice hotel with lots of charm. It is located in a very nice part of Madrid and within walking distance to the "old town". The rooms are large and clean, with comfortable furnishings. I stayed for 2 nights when in Madrid for work and would welcome a chance to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Ryan P,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Madrid. The entire team and myself are pleased to read that you have enjoyed our location, the charm of our property and the service of our team. We look forward to your return for business and leisure to enjoy one of our new MADRITZ experiences!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was my first visit to Madrid and I wanted to stay in the most famous hotel of the city...I must say that it was a very good decision! It is by far the best located hotel in Madrid, in front of both the Prado and Thyssen museums. Every member of staff is extremely friendly and helpful without being pompous. I particularly enjoyed the bed linens (100% linen, now only found in very few luxury hotels) and the breakfast buffet which was excellent. My only remark is that the hotel, especially the rooms, could do with some renovation, especially the carpets and the bathrooms (the water power in the shower is not very strong). It also need a proper gym and spa. All in all I would go back to the Ritz while hoping that next time it will have started a renovation program.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, I would recommend an internal courtyard one (that's were we stayed). Deluxe room are much larger than the standard one and they also have much more closet space.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngeloMaccaferri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Angelo,

Thank you for choosing the legendary Ritz for your first visit to Madrid and for sharing your great comments with all trip advisors readers. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our location, our service, our superbe 100% linen sheets, and our buffet breakfast. In reference to a hotel renovation, we have started this january with a whole lobby and meeting rooms renovation which brought a new hand made 3500 sqf carpet, new paint, new upholstery, etc. We are also renovating our rooms at a pace of 25-30 units per year, but also changing the carpet on those that need urgent love. I apologize if your room did not offer the most updated carpet but look forward to providing one of our updated rooms on your future stay with us.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have just celebrated there the lunch for my child baptism in the superb "Felipe IV" saloon. The event was a complete success. We would like to thank to all the hotel team that made this day special.

Specially we would like to thank to Teresa Barbero who guided and advised us to make that day an special day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erec_de_Graal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni d, Gerente at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Jmmf67,

Muchas gracias por publicar su experiencia en Trip Advisor, sus comentarios serán trasmitidos a todo el equipo que ha intervenido en la realización de su evento.

Es nuestro principal objetivo cumplir con las espectativas de nuestros clientes especialmente cuando elijen nuestro Hotel para celebraciones tan especiales como fue para usted el bautizo.

Nuestro equipo esta preparado para ofrecer gratas experiencias en los majestuosos salónes del Hotel o en cualquier lugar de España con nuestro Servicio de Catering.

Esperamos todos darle pronto la bienvenida otra vez.

Atentamente

Giovanni de Virgilio
Director de Alimentos y Bebidas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Ritz was so welcoming, beautiful and friendly, but at the same time elegant and luxurious. The concierge services were excellent, giving us good advice on nearby restaurants and making reservations for us. The classic room was large, spotlessly clean, elegant and comfortable, with a large, modern bathroom. The bed was super comfortable and the room quiet; we slept very well. The location was perfect for us -- next door to the Prado, across from the Thyssen-Bournemisza, and an easy walk to the Plaza Mayor. We had reserved for 4 nights, but when we were under the weather and asked to stay another night, the staff immediately made us comfortable and extended our stay at the same rate that we had found on line.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alandynner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Gwshark,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very for sharing this great review from your recent stay with us in the heart of Spain. I am truly happy to read that you enjoyed our location in the golden triangle of art but also that our team made you feel home.

Looking forward to welcoming you back home very soon for more MADRITZ experiences!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

When I go on vacation, I make brain surgery out of decisions such as where to stay and where to eat, so it was with no small amount of research that I chose the Ritz in Madrid, and I am thrilled with that decision. We absolutely adored the Ritz! At a hotel of this level, of course you expect excellent service, but I have to say that each and every person not only gave impeccable service, but the staff went above and beyond to make our stay special. How is it that they make you feel like kings and queens, but at the same time that you are at home also. That is the finesse of the service here. We received fantastic attention and we were always greeted warmly. The breakfast was beautifully appointed and excellent, with many delicious choices and gorgeously served. The room was beautiful, but most importantly, it was extremely comfortable. If there was only one thing that I may have wished for, it would be for the bathroom to be a bit larger, but the oversized, lush towels (and a towel warming bar) and comfortable robes went a long way. On any future trips to Madrid, I would unquestionably stay at the wonderful Ritz again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Anjanj,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing us for your stay in Madrid. It is always great to read comments like yours as it shows we have succeeded in our goal of creating memorable experiences to our guests.

The entire team looks forward to your return, and next time, we will find the perfect room with the right bathroom for you!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews