We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was enjoyable”
Review of Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Ranked #38 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Our stay was enjoyable”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Ritz, a very charming hotel. I will give you my best estimate of what I experience. The check in process can be a bit stressful, since the area is very small, and if crowded it can be a bit stressful. When we got their the room was not ready, but they upgraded us to a suite, NICE ROOM. No complaints from me on the room, it was very elegant and nice. Thank you RITZ

The location is good, and the overall level of service we got was acceptable. The breakfast was ample and had good variations of things. The outside bar/sitting area is very nice, and we got whatever we wanted. The inside area, was also quite and very conducive to get you a drink or food if you want.

OK so like some other reviewer said, come ready to spend 22 Euros for a vodka tonic. Simple it cost a large amount of money to stay here. If you can get pass that, I think the RITZ will be to your satisfaction.

As to any recommendations from the concierge, I don’t even ask. I do my research before I go and pick my places. They all work on gifts/money for recommendations; I should not say that, because I have run in to some who really care. So like everything else in life hit and miss.

Nice Pretty, full of history, this Hotel has it.

Room Tip: Get a SUITE ours looked in to the Courtyard, but the room was ample an din great condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChTavelli, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Eddie S,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience with all Trip Advisor readers. It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay as well as the building, decoration, food and history.

I am sad to read that service was also acceptable, which means there is room for improvement. If you have a moment, I would very much appreciate to have more feedback of your service experiences at ctavelli@ritz.es.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz madrid and have the opportunity to meet you personally.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x8yg8S-sHhI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    370
    139
    52
    48
See reviews for
393
817
88
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel. Impeccable service. Close to museums, and walking distance or short taxi ride to many shops and restaurants. Stay here twice on this trip. First in a standard room. Good standard room but walls are thin. Then stayed in a suite, everything was perfect. Make sure to specify your preference of smoking or non-smoking. Also, king size beds are not guaranteed. Sometimes you'll get two twins pushed together. No biggy. Breakfast buffet was perfect. If they didn't have what you wanted they will cook it up for you. Afternoon tea service is so pretty in the garden. And drinks and caviar in the lobby is fabulous treat. Would return in an instant. But definitely would upgrade to a suite.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Adri0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChTavelli, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Adri0809,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback about your recent stay at Ritz Madrid. It gives me and my team great pride when we read great comments like yours, as a result of a very positive stay.

I sincerely look forward to welcoming yu back soon to the legenary hotel Ritz Madrid. In the meantime, please find attached a link to our new hotel video which will for sure bring you great memories. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x8yg8S-sHhI)

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
ctavelli@ritz.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. Wonderful hotel with exceptional service!
Rooms are slightly dated but very comfortable.
House keeping has great attention to details.
Concierge Mr. Alejandro Lopez is very informative and knowledgable, he accomdated all of our needs with great recommedations. We have stayed in many high end hotels all around the world and he is the best concierge we have encountered!

Helpful?
Thank MHCai
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChTavelli, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear MHCai,

Thank you very much for your great feedback and comments about your stay and specially about our head concierge Alejandro.

Your words of appreciation are the best reward me and my team can receive and we thank you for that.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz Madrid.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
ctavelli@ritz.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I hate to admit that I spent so much for a hotel that is past it's prime. The second night of our stay, at one in the morning, my wife heard a cel phone ringing and ringing outside our room it was finally answered with a very loud conversation. She went out in the hallway and discovered it was a hotel employee. I spoke to the desk the next morning, and nothing was done in the way of an apology. Not even a complementary drink or something left in the room, or a note from the management.
We received what was purported to be a 20 Euro credit to be used in the restaurant. After dinner we went in to have coffee and desert. The manager told us it was only good for dinner even though the voucher said no such thing.
The concierge suggested a flamingo show and dinner at a restaurant outside the hotel. It was nothing more than a vastly overpriced resto with very mediocre food and over the hill performers. I wonder what his kickback was.
Anyway, this is a hotel way past it's prime. Avoid.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChTavelli, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Stephen S,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments about your stay which always help us to improve our service, and please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay.

I have addressed the cell phone incident to ensure no such recurrence of same, as well as the $20 credit text. Our concierge usually recommends "Corral de la Moreria flamenco show and dinner" and all our guests come back very pleased with it. If you have the time to share with me by email more feedback about your experience at this show, I will address it with their management to ensure it doesn´t happen again or to stop sending our guests.

I truly hope you will provide us a second opportunity to show you that Ritz Madrid can offer a unique experience to every guest. Therefore I remain at your entire disposal to coordinate personally your future visit with us, and to ensure it will be a memorable and unforgettable stay.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
ctavelli@ritz.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

With the Ritz Madrid you get to choose whether you want a great charming hotel or a terrible threadbare hotel. I suspect this accounts for the disparity in reviews. The choice is all depending on what you are willing to pay for. This is not a budget hotel, and if you try and do this hotel on the cheap you're going to be disappointed. I paid to upgrade from my first room, and absolutely adored this hotel. I also would have changed hotels before staying in the first room.

After I checked into the first room (the budget room) I asked for a better room and I got to experience the hotel that I now love and will go back to. The person from reception took me to 2 different rooms to pick the one I wanted. Both overlooked the Pardo Museum and each was decorated differently. The one I picked had a very comfortable bed, large bathroom, lots of room and was quite cheery. There is an upgrade charge.

The smallest rooms face an interior "courtyard", which means rooftop with a few potted plants. My first room was in this category, and was unacceptable at any price. If I had not upgraded I would have left the hotel and stayed at the Westin across the street. These rooms are small and threadbare.

The restaurant was excellent with the best service I've ever had in any restaurant. I think there were 3 people keeping an eye on my table, and my glass of Kava (local version of Champagne) was never empty. The patio is the best spot for a relaxing meal. You can people watch and are just the right distance from the paino player. Attire is tourist casual to business, with things tending toward more stylish/formal as the day progresses. I suspect shorts for dinner would be frowned upon, though I didn't try it, so I don't know for sure. The tapas are very large and more interesting than you find in the local restaurants (try the potatoes which offer a unique flavor and presentation spin on the traditional). Breakfasts are buffet style with hot items available from the waiters, and included .

The bar area has a different menu from the restaurant is where you can get a sandwich if you want something quick and easy. It's not always easy to tell who's working in the bar area, so just ask.

The fitness room/spa isn't much to speak of. It's located between the ground and 1st floor off the main stairs. There are a few cardo machines, but you'll be much happier skipping this little room and heading for the giant park 2 blocks away. The signs claim to offer massages, but there didn't seem to be anyone around to ask/schedule and I never got a call back from the signup sheet sitting on the desk. This is Madrid so I would just ask the Concierge for the name of a real spa.

Overall this is great hotel. I will stay here again on my next trip to Madrid. It's not a hotel for everyone, but it is charming and definitely worth trying.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgraded room with an exterior facing window. Upgraded rooms all have exterior facing w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChTavelli, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mr Craig Dallas,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments about your stay which always help us to improve our service.

Our hotel opened 104 years ago and due to it´s configuration, every room is totally different. Also, we constantly update a group of rooms every year, changing carpets, fabrics, faucets, and wall paper/paint. Your initial room, a classic room, may have been among the ones that are about to be refurbished. I am glad you enjoyed the deluxe room you moved into, with great views to the Prado Museum. We normally specify upon reservation that one of the main differences between classic and deluxe rooms is that the first ones overlook our interior patio and the second one the exterior/street.

I truly look forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz Madrid and chating about Dallas, city I last worked before moving to Madrid (@ Rosewood Mandion on Turtle Creek).


Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
ctavelli@ritz.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Conservative luxury and expensive. Great breakfast buffet. Elegant ambience and most of the people I see were stiff and a bit old. But that's fine with me. I just feel like me and my daughter were the youngest hotel guests. The quality of guests in the hotel were cultured and decent. It's nice to try The Ritz Hotel once, but if I go back to Madrid, I'll try another 5 star hotel. We enjoyed our stay. We love the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RizaLovesTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChTavelli, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear RizaLovesTraveling,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments about your stay which always help us to improve our service. Your words of appreciation are the best reward me and my team can receive and we thank you for that.

Hotel Ritz Madrid, being 104 years old, welcomes guests of all ages and it is unfortunate that you felt too much stiffness and elder people were around as the hotel is generally quite vibrant, specially during the time you visited with our summer terrace opened and live music every night.

I truly hope you will provide us a second opportunity to show you that Ritz Madrid can offer a unique experience to every guest.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz Madrid, I remain at your entire disposal to coordinate personally your future visit with us.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
ctavelli@ritz.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Fabulous experience - beautiful suite and very attentive personnel. Dinner on the patio is a absolute must ! Loved the olde world feel of the hotel and room. Hotel is very well situated in the Golden Triangle of Madrid, near Tapas restaurants and shopping areas.Very safe to go for walks in the night and if required, the hotel's limousines are available with driver/guide. We had Benito take us to El Escorial and what a gem of information he turned out to be ! Loved The Ritz and will most certainly go back there again and again.

Room Tip: Always ask for any of the suites facing the park or garden/patio. Space and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChTavelli, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear PeterL,

Thank you very much for your great comments and for sharing them with all trip advisors readers. Your words are without hesitation the best reward me and my team can have as they show we have succeeded in creating memorable experiences that will last forever.

We all truly look forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz Madrid.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#34 of 435 in Madrid
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 435 in Madrid
1,020 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 435 in Madrid
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz, Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Property: Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Madrid
#11 Family Hotel in Madrid
#17 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#31 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz, Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz, Madrid is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ritz, Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing