We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Grand Indeed!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Ranked #33 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Grand Indeed!!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

While the Hotel Ritz in Madrid is a "Grand Hotel" in the old school sense, there is nothing stiff or old fashioned about the friendly, efficient service, the technology available, or the wonderful food you will eat. I can't imagine a better location in Madrid! It is steps away from the Prado, the Theissen, countless sites of interest, and a few glorious parks. If you like to walk, it is also near the beautiful Madrid train station, where side trips to Toledo and El Escorial are only an hour away!! The public spaces are so elegant and refined that I half expected Edward VII to walk in with his latest mistress! The food is also top notch...In the lobby "Terrace" you can eat splendid food, in opulent surroundings, in your jeans and sneakers. Restaurant Goya is very romantic and listed as one of the finest restaurants in Madrid with good reason. Room service is a pleasure. We used and enjoyed it every day for breakfast and the occassional dinner when we were exhausted. As you would expect, food arrives in your room in minutes, on silver platters accompanied by fresh flowers. We had a suite in one of the round towers which overlooked the Prado and a small park...very pretty view! Our room was VERY SPACIOUS, but not quite as comfortable as a room in a modern hotel. The shower was extemely small even for me (I am 5 feet tall!) and the room decor was a bit dreary, even though it was immaculate. Unlike the Gritti Palace and other historic hotels, room "antiques" look like repros and are a bit disappointing. It took us a day to get "into" the place because we arrived after staying in the stylish Hotel Arts in Barcelona. Once we adjusted, however, we really had a great time! The staff and service is outstanding! We stopped by the Palace Hotel across the street to check it out and we prefer the Ritz because it has a more authentic Grand Hotel ambiance. The Ritz is very pricey, but you are getting a bit of history with your stay. If you don't mind a few minor inconveniences, it is a memorable experience!

Room Tip: Suites in the round tower have views of the Prado...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    351
    129
    52
    45
See reviews for
377
774
83
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
149 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The service, helpfulness and friendliness of the staff is what makes this hotel stand out. Yes it's a beautiful building and yes the decor of common areas and rooms is wonderfully elegant but the staff is what will keep you coming back. Bravo

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelleralways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a really great stay in this elegant hotel. The staff at the hotel were some of the best I have come across. Also, the outdoor patio is beautiful and nice for an afternoon lunch or drink. While the decor was older and more traditional than other 5 star hotels, I felt the service and treatment by hotel surpassed them. I highly recommend the hotel for its service and old world charm. Can't beat the location either.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

That was a great experience, I had a group there before new year, this is a beautiful hotel specially if you like the classical style, staff are freindly, service is good, amazing decoration and great location, yes I wish it was more spacious but there are so much to compensate. by the way piano players are very good too and you can enjoy live music all the time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hadisaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The Ritz is a truly beautiful hotel. Impeccably run, the decor and furnishings are stunning. The staff were incredibly polite, personable and committed to helping us at every turn. The concierge team were particularly helpful and cheery. Our room was lovely and exuded old world charm.
We only had one breakfast/meal (too busy sampling fabulous local tapas!) but the food offered was fresh and tasty and there was a good range available to choose. I can't say enough about how good the location was!! We were in walking distance of everything and right within the golden triangle of museums. I can't fault the Ritz at all - a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was our first stay at The Ritz and we were impressed. On arrival we were upgraded to a larger than average room with a balcony. It would have been good to have tea/coffee facilities and a better televison. The decor, as with the rest of the hotel, was traditional, luxurious and charming.
Breakfast was served in the Goya restaurant which again is a fabulous room. The staff were attentive and the food good. Particular thanks to the lovely young lady hostess who looked after us - charming and helpful.
The location is excellant. Just a short walk to a great area of bars and restaurants. Walk in the opposite direction through the park to wonderful shops.
I appreciate that this is a top class hotel and they certainly are not frightened to charge stupid money for drinks, food, beauty treatments etc - maybe they might consider not frightening us off completely with such high food and beverage charges.
Overall, a fantastic trip and wonderful hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garrettsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

my stay in Ritz Madrid was probably the best I ever experienced in any hotel in the world , for the extraordinary warm service, the fantastic food, the ambiance ..well everything!!
the hotel is very small, our rooms were small as well, and a bit tired but very beautifully appointed and clean..linens were first quality, towels as well, as all amenities..fruits, chocolate, delicacies were left every night in the room as a courtesy and made us feel more welcome.
each member of the staff went out of his way to grant our requests.
we stayed 6 nights and to be sincere wanted to extend our stay , not only because we enjoyed Madrid , but as well because we wanted to stay more at this fantastic warm hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serial2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 444 in Madrid
932 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 444 in Madrid
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#27 of 444 in Madrid
1,963 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 444 in Madrid
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz, Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Property: Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Madrid
#11 Family Hotel in Madrid
#17 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#27 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz, Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz, Madrid is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ritz, Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing