We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belle Époque Elegance”
Review of Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Ranked #38 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Belle Époque Elegance”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A beautiful, centrally located hotel that has been preserved very well. We stayed there shortly after attending an exhibit on the Titanic, and the feeling of traveling back to the early 20th century was overwhelming. For example, where can one find today wall-mounted solid brass ashtrays in the bathrooms? Of course it is non-smocking hotel, a necessity in the less-civilized 21st century, but still, the old brass fixings in the bathrooms and the solid hardwoods everywhere bestowed a charm of old. Good size, comfortable rooms with enormous closet space, overlooking the Prado. We unfortunately had no time for the brunch, presumably among the best in Madrid.
Very Expensive, of course, but it is worth it, if you can afford it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Axel1793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    370
    139
    52
    48
See reviews for
393
817
88
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have to admit that when we first checked in I really wasn't sure...first impressions were that this place was very old fashioned and dated. However, given the chance, it completely won me over and I grew to absolutely love it. We had a Deluxe room overlooking the Prado. The hotel is in complete contrast to my usual modern, boutique style hotel choice and at first I thought the rooms just needed an upgrade and I'd made a huge mistake staying here. Then I understood that the carpets, furniture, fixtures and fittings appeared to be mostly the originals from 100+ years ago which had been lovingly cared for or restored. With that in mind I really started to 'get' the place. From the stunningly white, monogrammed bed linen and table napkins to the beautifully turned out staff, this hotel was a constant reminder of how 'travel' used to be in a bygone era and how privileged I felt to be able to experience it for myself. Favourite part? Breakfast on the terrace - the perfect way to start your day.

Room Tip: Ensure your room allows you an 'outside' view. I think that's only Deluxe level and abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FERG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I selected this hotel because of its old world, elegant charm. It does not disappoint. The suite had a round livingroom overlooking the Prada. My parents (in their 80's) had the bedroom to the left of the living room and my husband and I had the bedroom to the right. The windows open and below to the right was the relaxing outdoor garden with service, fountains and a pianist. We enjoyed the garden once for drinks and snacks and again at tea time. Breakfast buffet was included and we felt like we were a part of the Ritz family. Our rooms were on the 4th floor and we slept well. There is in room coffee service with lots of choices which my husband and Dad enjoyed surprising Mom and me with. Upon returning from our outings treats were waiting. The room came with fresh flowers and my husband treated us
by ordering more which were well done by the hotel. White lilies and white roses. Beautiful. A wonderful start to our Spanish Vacation. We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fromtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

In the perfect location close to all we wanted to do and see. Our Iberian fight arrived at 5.45 from Buenos Aires still dark at 7ish when we arrived at the Ritz, our welcome was warm and helpful. Our room was booked for 2pm but flight scheduling....We were given a room almost straight away to shower and sleep until our room was ready, this all occurred without any fanfare other than as excellent hosts looking to help us! We booked a driving tour of Madrid through the charming concierge at 3pm. Showered and 4 hours sleep later we went to the Thyseen(sp) gallery across the boulevard (5mins) past Neptunes fountain.
A black Mercedes with guide driver showed us Madrid at 3pm, this is the Ritz own service and from the excellent knowledge of everything Madrid (customs, religion, politics) our Romainian guide was warm and generous. The 3hours went quickly and we were very grateful for the comfort in the 39c heat.
Our room is lovely, quirky even, a key for the door. We appreciate the charm of this Ritz, it is definitely not for minimalists.
The service is at a level of unconscious excellence, they are natural so deep embedded is hospitality. The Brazilian reception manager, the concierge, our guide/driver wonderful. I have worked in executive management in a major international hotel group and I lecture in leadership- these host are at the best level I have encountered. Bravo (more please!)
The Prado 'Ritz guided' tomorrow...........

Room Tip: Sleep in the corridor just stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BBear52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We spent 6 wonderful nights at the Hotel Ritz in Madrid. Every part of our stay was exceptional from check in to departure. We had a suite which was exquisite. Every detail was seen to. The location is perfect, just across the street from the Prado and the Thyssen. It is a short walk to the metro and the hop on, hop off tour bus stops just outside the door. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The service was top notch. When we go back to Madrid we will certainly stay at the Hotel Ritz.

Room Tip: Try to overlook the Prado.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyN76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

classic service, delightful garden and terrace, excellent manhattan in the lobby bar, good bedroom with large bathroom - exactly what you would expect from leading hotels brand - this was my second stay and I will return. also super location for museums and centre of city

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelleralways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Everything about this hotel is the best! Even the basic rooms are large and make you feel like royalty. The staff is helpful and courteous, and they do everything to make your stay unforgettable. We had booked a tour guide through the concierge and changed the time of the tour at the last minute. They made the change we wanted with a smile. The hotel is conveniently located next door to the Prado and 2 short blocks to Retiro Park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbied209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#34 of 435 in Madrid
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 435 in Madrid
1,020 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 435 in Madrid
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz, Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Property: Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Madrid
#11 Family Hotel in Madrid
#17 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#31 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz, Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz, Madrid is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ritz, Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing