We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great Westin quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #39 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great Westin quality”
Reviewed June 27, 2010

The Westin is a great hotel in a superb Madrid location - within walking distance to the Prada, Thyssen, Plaza Major, the Royal Palace and great restaurants and shopping. You'll get the same Westin quality you get in the U.S. The heavenly bed, clean rooms, and polite staff. It does host a lot of weddings - I thought this was fun but I could see how others might be annoyed. I plan to stay at the Westin whenever I am in Madrid. Also, American friends - the Spanish enjoy lunch from 2 - 4 pm and dinner from 10 pm on. My suggestion is that you eat a good breakfast, a big lunch at 2 pm and buy a sandwich from a local shop for dinner. This will make it easier for you but if you want to enjoy Madrid then get on the local food schedule - it's tough but fun. Walking everywhere will help you avoid the extra weight from sleeping on a full stomach. Ladies definitely you'll want to shop for clothes and shoes - inexpensive but amazing quality. Drink the Cava - it's much better in Spain than in the U.S.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Away2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,550
    1,086
    289
    91
    61
See reviews for
913
1,631
177
641
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in total, and it was a huge disappointment. We were originally shown to a wrong room (double bed on smoking floor), even though reception staffs explicitly guaranteed at check-in it is a twin bed room on non-smoking floor. After long hour of complaints in my second language and even longer hour of waiting, we were taken into a right room but with a glitch on the mini bar door, which never opened. We spoke to the staffs on corridor and found a couple of bottles of water are supposed to be provided as compliments, which we did not find in our room, and we had to do another long hour complaints. We were treated like "gentlemen of the road" begging for water. Great location, but we would never come back. Now, so there will be no misunderstanding, ordinary Spanish people in the town are sweet (the staffs at Westin Madrid are the only ones who are bleak).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeatenPathTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Stayed for one night at the Westin Madrid, with high expectations.

My experience:

SPG Gold status did not seem to make any difference, was given a room at the far back end of the hotel, across the corridor from a service entrance, the door to which was either left propped fully open, or which would periodically slam shut throughout the night, making for interrupted sleep. Old fashioend room decor. Disappointed that there was absolutely no reading materials (magazines, newspapers, anything really) in the room at all. No SPG Gold amenities either. Breakfast next morning in the rotunda was disappointing. The rotunda was lovely visually, but food was mediocre, choices limited, and bill huge!

Overall found it not worth the money, and have decided to try another hotel the next time I visit Madrid.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sankaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Central location, 5 minute walk from the Prado and around the corner from the action of Puerto del Sol, Place Mayor and a million tapas joints and cervezerias. Super luxurious rooms, great breakfast, professional staff. Stayed there because someone else was picking up the tab and got a great discount. If I had the money, I'd choose to stay there on my own tab, too. Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike47TelAviv_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

I organized a conference at the Westin after comparing the Westin to a few other 5 star hotels in the area. It was a good decision. The meetings went well; all was taken care of as agreed. The concierge and the business center were always very friendly and helpful when we had questions or needed extra support.
There is security and one cannot get to the rooms/floors without a room key.
Taxis are available right around the corner of the hotel. A taxi to the airport costs around EUR 20-25. I noticed that when you order one from the concierge, the price is double or even triple.
We stayed at deluxe double rooms. The rooms were large and very clean. The beds are truly heavenly. Bathroom is large too with good water pressure. Wireless internet is free for the first 30 mins. 24 hours cost 18.95 Euro. The complimentary water and fruit is a nice touch. The drinks and snacks in the minibar were pretty expensive. There is a small convenience store next to the hotel, and also a Starbucks.
Our room price included the breakfast buffet. The breakfast is served in the restaurant La Rotonde - very beautiful! There was a good choice of warm and cold dishes and I have never had scrambled eggs as delicious as they are at the Westin Madrid! The orange juice and coffee are very good too! The 3 major art museums are all within walking distance of the hotel. We had wonderful tapas at the Cervezeria Cervantes, a 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Plaza Santa Ana is the ideal plaza for evening drinks and tapas. For a special occasion, you need to have dinner at the Restaurante Santcelino! And do ask the concierge to book you seats at the Corral de la Moleria for an unforgetable flamenco evening! This trip was for business but I will certainly return for pleasure!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SP MD 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Entering the Palace hotel and its corridors steps you into a different time in history when exuded grandeur and luxury. Our Jr Suite was decadent and very well furnished. Pictures attached are worth a thousand words (see attached). Breakfast in the glass rotunda is a one of a kind experience and gives a great kick start for the day. We stayed for three nights during a major corporate event. The hotel was a little hectic and you could tell the staff was stretched but were still friendly and willing to help. The only feedback I would have is that the concierge staff seemed a little too robotic with generic answers/suggestions for dining. Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our time. I would like to also recognize the GM (Marc) as he was extremely responsive to some of our requests prior to the trip. It went a long way to making us feel welcome prior to arrival. We also appreciated the fruit plate and water upon arrival. All in all, a first class experience from end to end to be shared.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terps37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

The warm personal welcome, complimentary fruit and water in our room, upgrade to a junior suite set the tone fro a wonderful 7 night stay at this beautiful hotel. Service is friendly and very efficient from the doorman to the room staff to the knowledgeable concierge staff. Situated in a prime location, the hotel is close to all three major art galleries and within comfortable walking distance of the cmain squares in the city. Taxis, subway and buses are easily accessible too. For lovers of outdoor dining, a short walk brings one to St. Ana square and its outdoor tapas restaurants. It is a pleasure to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keepongoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#38 of 435 in Madrid
1,837 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#36 of 435 in Madrid
1,728 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 435 in Madrid
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Property: The Westin Palace Madrid
Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#32 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing