We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Palace Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #36 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

I recently stayed at The Westin Palace earlier this week. The service, room, views and food was amazing. Truly opulent and 5-star experience, beautifully decorated, classy and chic. I would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the fountain best to go for a room above second floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for your great review about your stay!
Happy to read that we exceeded your expectations and looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,352
    1,010
    267
    85
    53
See reviews for
823
1,526
167
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Massana
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We where lucky enough to get upgrades to an amazing suite through amex. And the only negative was a long wait for it to be ready. The hotel is really nice old school charm. Mixed with some nice restaurant adventures. All in all I can recommend it for the cozy atmosphere. And the friendly service.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JokkeDeFrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Tripavisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for recommending us due to the cozy atmosphere and the service received!
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future!
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

All Westin's are typically great but this one takes the cake, even better than in Paris. The opulent lobby, restaurant, hallways, and décor, epitomize luxury and wealth. If you "go-all-out" on vacations, you must stay here. The staff are what really makes this hotel the best in Madrid. They all speak fluent English and are patient with your attempt at Spanish. They are incredibly nice, friendly, and even good-looking!

Breakfast buffet is excellent, gym is very good, rooms are superb.

The location is truly perfect within a 3-5 minute walk to the Prado Museum (this helps in the am when you should get there at 9:30 a.m. 30 minutes before they open). There is a metro stop within a few blocks and outdoor cafes, restaurants, bars, etc., very close by.

The Palace is truly just that, a Palace.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joefrombrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review about your stay with us!
We are so happy to read that we were able to exceed your expectations in all aspects.
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was our second time spending almost a week at this location. Everything you'd want in a hotel is provided here. Everyone from chamber maids to the bellmen are friendly and ready to help. The atmosphere in the entire facility is opulent and enticing. Located perfectly for exploring Madrid museums and other areas such as Plaza Mayor etc. Would be more than happy to stay again when in Madrid.

Green Features: Environmental-friendly practices are what you would expect from this type of hotel
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review about your second stay with us!
Happy to read that we exceeded your expectations with the service provided by our staff.
Looking forward to welcome you a third time in a near future,
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a very good hotel. High standards of service and beautiful decor are particular highlights.
Breakfast in the atrium is not to be missed and for once well worth the crazy price top hotels charge for breakfast. Sit there and soak in your surroundings.
Dinner is fine without being great and with so many lovely restaurants in the city, i wish we had eaten elsewhere on the last night of our stay.

Room Tip: Pay for the best room you can afford. The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FiveBellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay and for mentioning our high standards of services.
Looking forward to welcome you again in a future,
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBAI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

“The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel” is a palace branded with the WESTIN brand, do I have to say any more.
Recently I stayed with my family there, we booked four rooms and we have been upgraded to the fifth floor, the stay was enjoyable, from the location, the history of the hotel, the staff, the breakfast, the cleaning, the check-in, the check-out, ……..
My only complaint was the overpriced valet parking, other than that I would like to thank the whole staff for making our stay pleasant.
And 100% highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your great review about your stay with your family. It's a pleasure for me to share with my team your comments about our staff and we are so proud to be able to exceed your expectations!
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Truly enjoyed this terrific hotel in a perfect location. Received a fantastic room upgrade as a SPG Platinum member. The bellmen and concierge were friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and housekeeping did an excellent job. Many sights, restaurants and bars are within walking distance.

Some little annoyances like the check-in staff could have been more friendly, the room temperature would not cool down as much as I'd like and a marble tile in the shower chipped off during the stay. Needless to say the positives highly outweigh the issues which mainly come from this being an older property.

I was satisfied with the gym which was better than expected for a European hotel. It's also easy to get a quick 3 mile run in around the nearby El Retiro park. Breakfast was more than adequate but not as outstanding as some reviewers make it seem. The special dining room under the rotunda makes up for the average food and the Starbucks under the hotel is a nice option when you skip the hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phl-kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your detailed review and for your loyalty to Starwood Hotels & Resorts and your SPG Platinum status.
We are happy to read that we exceeded your expectations in almost all of the aspects and I take good note of your comments for improvement.
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#33 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#12 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#31 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#20 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 446 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Property: The Westin Palace Madrid
Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing