We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #37 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Bomoseen, Vermont
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with great location.”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, right near the Prado, and is very clean with lots of amenities. The staff was very accomodating. The one downside was the internet access. When you go to connect, it will tell you you may login using the free WIFI, however when we went to check out they told us that was only for the WIFI in the lobby - although it clearly says when connecting to the internet that it is free unless you choose a higher speed internet or more access! We did not discover this until paying our bill on the way out. We did argue this with the staff, and they ultimately took it off our bill.

Room Tip: Watch out for those WIFI charges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJK37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about the experience in your last visit.
We are happy to read that you liked the hotel location and rooms. I shared your comment about wifi with the IT Manager.
Looking forward to welcome you back,
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,480
    1,067
    281
    90
    56
See reviews for
885
1,598
172
621
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel has a great location, lots of character, and surprisingly all of the modern amenities you could ever hope for and then some.

WE LOOOVED THE BREAKFAST!!! specially their churros con chocolate!!! and of course the stained glass ceiling over the breakfast courtyard.

It's a bit of a walk to get to the puerta de Alcala area, but on the other hand it's literally across the street from El Prado museum.

Room Tip: Room facing the fountain if possible and also keep in mind that this hotel does not have a pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you so much for your nice review!
We are so happy to read tha you enjoyed the breakfast and liked the hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,
Best Regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Very nice, friendly staff. Very clean. Ideally located. Breakfast buffet is nice as well. However they try to charge you the WIFI in the room at 15euros per day, as only the one in the lobby is complementary... Explained to you on departure. This is not acceptable for a palace and really a pity as the last experience before departure...

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ludovic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your last stay with us.
It's great to read that you liked the hotel and the staff. I apologize due to the lack of information given at check in about the WIFI fee in rooms. I have shared your comments with my team and we learn from the mistakes.
Hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in a future and serve you better.
Best Regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, IA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I was glad that I chose the Westin after reviewing many hotels in Madrid on Trip Advisor. The location is ideal if you want to be in the heart of museum country. The Thyssen-Bornemisza is right across the street, and Prado is about as far. The Reina Sofia just about 5-6 blocks away.

The Ritz hotel is also close to all of these museums, and so the Westin is not completely alone as an ideal location for museum lovers. Since I did not stay at the Ritz, I cannot compare the quality of service or the rooms. However, the Ritz has the advantage of being right across the street from where the tour buses congregate.

My wife and I stayed in Room 500 for six nights. It is a king bed Executive room, which is not that spacious. But it was clean and comfortable, and it served our basic needs.

Since we arrived on an early morning flight, we had booked a Deluxe room on the fourth floor (room 480 if I remember) from the night before. I would not recommend that room, which had twin beds, if you want space. Room 500 was better, but I would rent a larger suite if space is what you want. The closets were very nice and roomy in both rooms.

Room 500 had many of the basics, including a small fridge, but no coffee maker. It had a desk and a smaller table. The Wi-Fi and the flat screen TV worked well.

The bathroom has an ample vanity accommodating twin sinks adjoined to a large mirror, and a separate shaving mirror. Within the bathroom is the toilet, which has an opaque swinging door for privacy. Our room faced the Duque de Medinacelli street, which I recommend if you want a quiet sleep.

The standard of great service for me is The Acqualina in Sunny Isles, Florida. The Westin in Madrid does not supersede the Acqualine in service. But the Westin’s service is still of high quality. All staff that we encountered were friendly, from the housekeepers to the concierges. The Acqualina will pamper you, but the Westin will serve your needs well.

The concierges were occupied most of the time. However, when our luggage did not arrive (on Iberia) for three days, one of the concierges called on our behalf a few times to update us. When our air conditioner did not work as intended, a technician was there within thirty minutes, and fixed the problem. When our safe failed to function because of a low battery, a security officer also came within a half an hour.

The Westin was humming day and night with people in resplendent high fashion who interlaced with people in jeans and farmer boots in a building of historic significance and exquisite architecture.

The restaurant is nice but overpriced, even by comparison with other nice European hotels where we have stayed. A simple cheeseburger was some 35 Euros (about $49 at $1.40 per Euro). I did appreciate the fact that they had real jalapeños for the burger, whereas another establishment gave me some non-descript pepper sauce when I asked for jalapeños.

The buffet breakfast had all the items Americans would expect, but it is not delicious enough to merit the price of about $44. The scrambled eggs, for example, seem to be mixed with some other substances that diminished the egg quality. I prefer country potatoes to the small round and bland potato cakes they serve.

The breakfast buffet area needs to be better designed, as it consists of a small curved serving area for hot items where congestion abounds.

The trays of some of the staple items, such as scrambled eggs, are too small and they are easily emptied with just 5-8 large servings. If the trays are empty, you have to wait for them to be replenished, as people continue to pile up behind you. I suggest that the Westin redesign the whole serving area, and make trays larger so they don’t have to be replenished as often.

But you don’t have to eat there. There is Starbucks around the block, which has basic breakfast items like croissants (1 hot tall American coffee is 2.20 Euros; 1.50 Euros per croissant and 3.60 Euros for a piece of good carrot cake). However, it does not open until 8am on weekends, which is appalling for us early risers (anything before 7am in Madrid, apparently).

The other downsides are few. Parking is dreadful here and elsewhere in Madrid. Tour buses don’t stop here and Julia Travel, the company that took us on two tours (El Escorial/Valley of the Fallen and the Prado skip the line tour), does not pick up here.

Although the Ritz might be close competitor, I would rest in the Westin when I visit Madrid again.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Duque de Medinacelli street if you want less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elosofamoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this detailed review about your last stay at the Westin Palace, Madrid!
I take good note of all your comments and recommendation for improvement. I have also shared them with all The Westin Palace Madrid tem and we are very happy to read that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back when your travel brings again to Madrid.
Hasta pronto entonces!!
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We just retured from a Douro River Cruise and began our trip with three nights at the Westin Palace. The rooms were wonderful and I was surprised to see they still offered smoking rooms. The room was well appointed with a very comfortable bed and nice bath. We were in their Standard Deluxe Room and found for the location and quality of the property and room it sufficed very nicely.

As with most European hotels, on property restaurants and bars and very pricey. However a full breakfast was included with our stay and it was very good. Served under the gorgeous stained glass dome that no photo can do justice to.

The staff could not have been more helpful. The Concierge is a jewel with many restaurant suggestions and not a bad one in the lot..

The best part of this property is the location. Right next to the Prado and Thyssen Museums. Great restaurants within a two block area. One so good we returned twice. We also walked a block or so down to the square where we ran into wonderful mimes.

The key question I always ask myself is would I not hesitate going back. In this case the answer is a resounding "Yes"!!! It is also a hotel I can offer my clients with complete confidence their experience will be as good as my own.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieL0789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience aboyt your last visit to Madrid.
It's fantastic to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the city and we could exceed your expectation with the service provided by our concierge.
Looking forward to welcome you in a near future!
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

After a week of traveling around Spain, it was great to relax in the comfort of the Westin Palace Madrid. We arrived into Madrid at the train station, which was rather close to the hotel and an easy walk. The front desk was very nice and accommodating, and the concierge recommended a lovely restaurant for our first night in Madrid. We loved the king room we stayed in, and while it did not have a view, we did have free room service for coffee or tea once a day for those on the Starwood Preferred Floor. I very much enjoyed the hotel location, which was close to the Prado and other museums as well as walking distance to Plaza Mayor, Plaza del Sol, and most other Madrid attractions. Lastly, the room included a soft bed and decadent bathroom, which certainly made me feel like royalty staying at a palace. I wouldn’t change a thing about my stay at the Westin Palace Madrid and hope to be back soon!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your experience in your last visit.
it's a pleasure to read that you felt like a "Queen in her Palace"!!!
We also hope to welcome you soon!!
Hasta pronto
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a 5 star hotel in the hart of Madrid. Very nice facilities for conferences. In walking distance of all the main attractions in Madrid. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Room are comfortable and well equip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your experience in your last stay.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and liked the hotel location and the service provided by our staff.
Looking forward to welcome you in a near future!
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#35 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#29 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#17 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Property: The Westin Palace Madrid
Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#30 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing