We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #47 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location with very short walking distance to the Prado, Thyssen-Bormemisza, and Reina Sofia museums, Altocha train station, el Sol metro stop, nice shopping, and excellent restaurants. The rooms are a nice size, with a nice view and excellent service.

The concierges provided advice on what sites to see and spoke English.

We stayed a total of 7 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and for staying 7 nights with us
Hasta la próxima
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,864 - 1,870 of 4,308 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon. First of all, the hotel is just beautiful. The ceiling of the restaurant off the main lobby is gorgeous. Rooms are very well appointed, fairly large and have good bathrooms. We had a suite which overlooked the fountain in front of the hotel which was a nice view to have before going to bed and when awakening. When we arrived to our room, they had sparkling wine, chocolates and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us which was a nice touch. The service was very professional, though not overtly friendly. They did their job and did it well but I didn't necessarily feel they went they ever went the extra mile (outside of the welcome to our room which was obviously great). Location was very good. We could walk or take a short cab ride to most anything. Overall, I would give this a 4.5 stars and would happily stay here again (maybe after trying the competing hotel across the way).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apv75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and we look forward to welcome you again to celebrate your wedding anniversary
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and it's walking distance to most places in the city. Some further away places my friends and I did take cabs but they are very cheap there so its no big deal. The rooms are nice and spacious with a great bathroom and we also had daily free coffee sent to our rooms by request. There is a hotel gym with a good variety of equipment, both for cardio & strength training. The service is top notch at this hotel, very friendly staff, especially down in the lobby/reception area. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgeorg421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and mentioning “top notch service”
This motivates us a lot
Saludos
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The staff at the Westin were highly committed to providing a quality service to my child and myself. The rooms were fabulous and the food in the hotel was to die for. The hotel is located in a central location which is close to manny sites. The front desk was truly on point! I was here on vacation for four days in Madrid and after my stay in the Westin, I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: request a room that faces the street because the location is great and this will add to a fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDarrin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and for saying you look forward to return
This is a good sign that we exceeded your expectations
Saludos
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hotel is beautiful inside and out. Old world charm and beauty. Location is as central as it can be-across from Prado. The entrance and the dining - are simply stunning. Very professional and willing to help staff. Rooms are great. We got upgraded to the suite thanks to our dual membership-platinum Amex and SPG. We felt like royalty - the suite was like one beautiful apartment where you can entertain many guests. Our windows were overlooking the piazza and the fountain. The food in the restaurant is delicious and has something for every taste. We are simply impressed and will not stay anywhere else when we come back to Madrid. And we recommend this hotel to all of our friends and family who travel there.

Room Tip: We can only recommend location that was generously given to us - overlooking the fountain located ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manyasha2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and saying you won´t stay anywhere else
Hasta la próxima !
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here one night on our way home from Portugal. But I am planning on coming back. Fantastic location in an absolutely amazing city. Beautiful hotel. Top notch service. I think that the rate is approriate for what you get. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your 5 star rating and saying the hotel met your value for money expectations
Saludos
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Grand historical hotel centrally located in Madrid across from the entrance to the El Retiro Park; if you are keen to walk 20 minutes, you'd be able to get around without a taxi as far as seeing all Central Madrid, major attractions, major plazas and museums. The building is an extremely well taken care of historic building, it is a true 5 Star resort, the staff are very keen to help and the General Manager, Marc Lannoy, is personally involved with the daily operation of the hotel (even when he's on holiday). We stayed in a Junior Suite which was very spacious, we were there for a week in early August, my only negative comments were that on one of the days, there was a networking issue with the High Speed Internet available in the hotel; it caused me a major business blunder and the hotel did all they could to help up to 2AM, as a result we lost a day in Madrid and the General Manager was so concerned that upon checkout, he credited one night's stay suggesting that the hotel didn't live up to the promise that they had assured me many months before when I asked about this issue upon booking. Honestly, I must say that they couldn't have done more! I will caution one that visits Madrid in the Summer, it is extremely hot and even with the air conditioning left at minimum temperatures all the time, it was impossible to get the room temperature cold enough for some people (we do keep our rooms very cool so this may not apply to most). The room was spacious, well cleaned, well serviced, had a separate living room area and the bathroom was very well situated through a walk in dressing room and cupboard area; inside the bathroom, there was a separate smoked glass door leading to a toilet area and bidet allowing more than one person to have privacy while in the bathroom. Very good value for a 5 Star Central City Hotel!

Room Tip: Suggest a Junior Suite on a higher floor; no pool or spa in hotel! Suggest asking the Reception to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and indeed we had that Internet issue that has been solved.
Looking forward to welcome you again
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#35 of 441 in Madrid
2,002 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#40 of 441 in Madrid
1,936 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 441 in Madrid
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#22 of 441 in Madrid
2,078 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#36 of 441 in Madrid
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#12 Family Hotel in Madrid
#38 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $248 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing