We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A right regal stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Palace Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #38 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A right regal stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We picked up a deal for this hotel so when we arrived felt like we had landed on our feet big time. We were away for a few days after getting married... a mini moon... and were just blown away by the staff, the decor, the food... I could go on. The rack rate was very scary and I doubt I would pay that but a wee voyage privee deal was a steal. I would not hesitate going back. The location is superb with you not really having to take transport any where. 5* exprience for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryDollnStinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Happy to hear that you won´t hesitate to come back
This says it all
Saludos !
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,411
    1,037
    275
    88
    56
See reviews for
851
1,553
168
613
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Having mis-connected my flight to the US, I had to find a hotel and was leaving the next day. I called Starwoods and booked this hotel which was about 30 minutes from the airport. Arrival was hectic and I waited almost 15 minutes to check in due to the chaos at the front desk. After checking in, I was upgraded to a huge luxury suite which was nothing short of regal. The furnishings were antiques and the bathroom long and spacious covered in fine marble. The bed was as soft as goose down. But I had to call three times to receive my luggage which arrived 40 minutes after check in. The hotel is luxuriously furnished and I had a few drinks in the bar which was palacial (no pun intended) and stunning. Also the concierge was helpful in finding me a good restaurant and walking routes. Overall, a beautiful property with extraordinary rooms unfortunately the hotel suffers from service problems. At these prices, everything should be perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pensando42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
If the level of service at moment of check-in and lugga delivery do not match the level of service then we did not deliver that first important first impression and I apologize.
Happy to read Concierge was helpful
Best regards
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were at the end of a long trip throughout Spain and wanted to just rest up and enjoy the city. This hotel was perfect. It was luxurious and in the greatest location. Walking distance to parks, museums, restaurants and lots of shopping. Don't forget to relax and have a drink in the spectacular round lounge. A little pricey but worth the money for the appointments and location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Happy we could finalize your trip in Spain with a nice stay at our hotel
Looking forward to welcome you again
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We expected this to be a nice hotel, and it exceeded our expectations. It is a classic old hotel that is beautifully maintained. Our room was large, attractively furnished, and very comfortable. The centerpiece of the hotel is a classic rotunda with stained glass dome that creates a wonderful space of dining, sipping tea or cocktails, or just relaxing in one of the comfortable chairs. Service was first class, and the food good. And the location is great, right across the street from the Prado. We will definitely stay at the Palace again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaybardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hola Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice comments
Hasta la próxima
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our first visit to Madrid and we selected the Westin Palace because of other reviews and its location. Great choice. It is a fantastic building but there is a lot of external work happening just now. We had an inner room and did not suffer any inconvenience, so not sure how the rooms on the outside went. The service was fantastic. eg. As we are tea-aholics, when we booked we asked if we could have a kettle and cups etc in our room as they are not normally provided. Everything was there when we arrived. There is so much to see and do around the hotel and there are great tapas bars within 10-15 minutes. The railway station is just down the road. During our stay, we received great assistance from all the staff and we will certainly be staying there if and when we return to Madrid.

Room Tip: Inner room have a view of the dining room "pointed dome" and lots of windows but they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your review and I sincerely hope that for the next reviews you will tell us
"Great 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th..etc...visit to the Westin Palace Madrid"
Best regards
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munster on tour
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife & I really enjoyed this hotel and received a great warm welcome. We received an upgrade to the SPG floor and really appreciated that.
The hotel was very busy but we had a great comfortable and relaxing stay. The heavenly bed was very comfortable and the shower was awesome.
Felt room service was little over-priced for what we got but it was special for us. Would return to this hotel next time in Madrid. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pubwithnophone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
On behalf of all our associates THANK YOU for saying they are great
Hasta la próxima
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We spent four days here with a breakfast included option. I must say the hotel is very nice, clean and well situated to the Prado and the ‘old town’ shopping district. The breakfast setting was beautiful and the food was wonderful with lots of selections and a well-attended staff. Our room was quiet and comfortable. We tended to eat lunch and dinner out because there was so much variety and convenient options but dinning in would have been nice but a bit more formal. We noticed that due to the location next to the government buildings that dignitaries tended to stay here so the hotel is kept spotless at all times. We bought the 'hop on hop off' buss/museum tickets and used it on the tram too which was fun. But honestly walking is pleasant, safe and fun here. You cannot go wrong with a stay here.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is on a main street so the rear or side may be quieter. There is actually no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumner B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review. If on top of the great location we have we exceeded your expectactions this makes us even more happy
Saludos from sunny Madrid
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#31 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#32 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#26 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Property: The Westin Palace Madrid
Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#30 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing