We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Palace, Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #50 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Location, location, location! Central area, the hotel itself is luxurious and modern, front desk staff were friendly and professional. Our suite had 2 queen size beds and a spacious bath, it was well lit and very comfortable. its also walking distance to restaurants (next to Starbucks) and shopping. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asia Travel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hola Tripadvisor
Muchas Gracias
Looking forward to welcome you again
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,126 - 2,132 of 4,345 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a truly great hotel. I stayed here for a week in late April, 2012 and found it very, very satisfying from almost every standpoint. My room was spacious, spotlessly clean and very quiet and was very attractively decorated. The halls and public areas were beautifully decorated in the traditional manner. The restaurant and bar were delightful. The buffet breakfast was lavish and the serving staff for both breakfast and dinner were extremely friendly and helpful (as were ALL of the staff that I encountered). The hotel's location, across the street from the Thyssen-Boreniszma art museum and only a block from the Prado, could not be better (I was able to walk even as far as the Royal Palace across the city in less than half an hour). Should I visit Madrid again, I will certainly return.

Room Tip: Upper floors (I was in the top floor and facing inwards) are exceptionally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Last year I only answered the not so good reviews and this year I decided to answer them all.
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and qualifying our staff as extremely friendly and helpful
Hasta la próxima
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

All in all I would say the Westin Palace in Madrid is in a perfect location, that is until a protest begins which depending on your point of view can be fun or irritating? You do have to pass through several fences to get back to the hotel asking the Police to let you through, its not a big deal but it kind of isolates the hotel. The hotel is a beautiful hotel with nice rooms and comfortable beds, definately a Westin Hotel. Spacious rooms, clean and comfortable. Breakfast if your an American will break the bank but if you love food its worth it but you will pay! The internet was unrealiable when we were there, people go into the small lobby area to use it for free otherwise. All in all the location and history are what make this hotel! It could use just a bit more care though but its a grand old hotel.

Room Tip: If you want sleep and your a light sleeper do not sleep on the side where the Ritz Hotel is near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeepsgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your review and writing that the hotel is beautiful and comfortable
As many European Cities, Madrid was also affected by the 2012 last quarter “2013 cut savings budgets” demonstrations.We are confident it is over
Half of our rooms have courtyard view and half street views depending on what you prefer
Hasta la proxima !
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a decent room, a one bedroom suite with living room, and 2 bathrooms. It was nice, a little outdated in the living room, but over all I enjoyed it. I do not like their bath r=products they offer in the shower or bathroom, they are kinda cheap..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremiah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your constructive review and qualifying our staff as "Great"
Hasta la próxima !
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a great hotel where I recently stayed 7 days. This is the third time at stay at this hotel. This hotel is located in the very heart of madrid very close to Prado museum. The breakfeast quality is very acceptable, the room is spacious and very clean. The lobby is an enjoyable place to be as well as the bar. Internet access is for free at the lobby and quite expensive in the room. This is a hotel where monotony does not exist. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NS001Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Yes, it is a beautiful and clean hotel and yes, you can't beat it's location (15 min walking distance from Plaza Mayor, 10 from the Retiro Park, 25-30 to Madrid's version of NYC's 5th Ave, 5-7 to Banco de Espana metro's station), but.....And when you're talking about the type of hotel the Westin is, it's a major "but"....it has issues:

- the water stopped for 30-45 seconds once when I was in the shower
- the toilet is in a separate area than the shower and sinks. When you are in the toilet area, you can clearly hear the neighbour's conversation
- 2-3 times, when we turned the AC on, it was very warm air coming out (and it had been cold air coming out before). It was so warm that we had to open the window. Unfortunately, since we were on the top floor, it was very hard to get cool air in the room and that's even when it was -1 outside
- we had to take off what covered the toilet's flush because although someone came to fix it, we couldn't flush the toilet 30 minutes after his visit
- when you enter the elevator, you have to swipe your card and then, press the button corresponding to the floor you want to go to. It happened 4-5 times, that we had to do it twice while we were in the elevator cuz the button would turn itself off and the elevator would stop at a floor that wasn't ours (the doors wouldn't open, but it stopped nonetheless as if we hadn't chosen a floor to go to. That happened when we were alone in the elevator or when other people going o other floors were in as well)

The last issue I had, which was to be expected in a hotel like the Westin, is the 84 euros "breakfast for 2" which consisted of: 2 eggs, bacon, 2 juices, coffee for him and tea for me and danishes. No potatoes and even if the room service menu seemed to imply that it'd be bacon AND sausage, it ended up being only one of the 2 and without the promised tomatoes and mushrooms.

As previously mentionned, it is a beautiful hotel with great service and history, but I honestly don't think I'd stay here again

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Hourray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your review
I apologize for not having met your expectations with some of the maintenance issues you describe
Regarding the elevator for security reasons when other people get in you have to push the desired floor again but not when alone
If anything is not correct with the bill please do not hesitate to contact me at westinpalace.madrid@westin.com; I will correct
Best regards
Marc L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a nice historic hotel in a decent location with lots of charm. There is even a mini museum in the lobby showcasing historical artifacts from it’s 100+ years in operation.

I had a Jr. Suite on the 4th floor. While the room was spacious there were a number of minor maintenance issues which should have been corrected before guests checked in. Two lamps were not working, the tv remote battery was dead and there was an unknown sticky substance on one of the end-tables. For some reason the mini-bar was completely empty, even though there was a price card displayed next to the empty refrigerator. The staff were friendly upon check in and quickly replaced the remote batteries when notified but the light bulbs never got replaced. Room service was quick and tasty. One of the most unusual things in the room was the semi-vintage Bang & Olufsen cassette/cd combination player. I have not seen a tape player in a hotel room in a long time, I think most travelers would prefer an ipod dock, especially at this price point.

Overall this is a nice historic hotel in Madrid, with lots of history behind it, however I think they might be resting on their laurels, a slight readjustment is needed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc2005b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your review
I apologize for not having met your expectations with some of the maintenance issues you describe
Regarding the elevator for security reasons when other people get in you have to push the desired floor again but not when alone
If anything is not correct with the bill please do not hesitate to contact me at westinpalace.madrid@westin.com; I will correct
Best regards
Marc L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#34 of 442 in Madrid
2,027 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#39 of 442 in Madrid
1,951 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#12 of 442 in Madrid
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#23 of 442 in Madrid
2,095 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#36 of 442 in Madrid
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Family Hotel in Madrid
#40 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $283 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing