We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel overall... Only wifi was an issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #44 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay overall at the Westin. Very centrally located, with nice size rooms by European standards which were well appointed. Service was very good with attentive staff and the breakfast area was absolutely gorgeous!

Only issue was the very intermittent Wifi service... On the 5th floor, the iPad worked only half the time, though the laptop was fine.

Would stay here again....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoKad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,051 - 2,057 of 4,191 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our choice of hotels is usually driven by how centrally the property is located & proximity to major attractions. While vacationing in Madrid Westin Palace popped up as the first choice. We stayed here for 3 days. The hotel is magnificient, elegant & indeed a palace.
The hotel was very busy when we visited & there was a little bit of wait at the concierge but once at the counter we were promptly helped by some very polite staff.We got a suite overlooking the Neptune fountain, the room was large with plenty of closet space.Besides the impeccable beauty of the property what really clicked for us was the generous breakfast. Being vegetarians we often get limited to fruits, bread & juices for breakfast. But at Westin Palace there was this whole new possibility of having mediterranean plate with hummus, baba ganoush & warm bread. Also there were some delicious vegetarian samosas in addition to churros, breads, veggies etc etc. After tucking in the great buffet breakfast we could hit the road right away.
All major attractions: Prado, Reina Sofia, & plazas are walkable so are a number of great places to eat. The location was super convinient to see Madrid & also for catching trains to other sights. The stay at Westin Palace was s perfect combination of convinience,service & luxury. Will surely stay here again in our next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KP90068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I and 2 friends stayed at the Palace for 4 nights last week. Loved the hotel. We had advised them during the reservation that we would be celebrating our friends 35th wedding anniversary and they upgraded both of our rooms to the top floor with view of the Neptune fountain. Beautiful and much appreciated. They have a professional staff that know how to take care of their guests. We ate at the Sunday Opera Brunch and it had a special fashion show to celebrate the hotel's 100th anniversary. What a treat along with great food. Great location next to the Prado, and Thyssen museums and close to Retiro park.

The hotel and staff made this stay a memorable one that we will not forget.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawaiianSon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel itself is magnificent; the public rooms are absolutely beautiful. Guest rooms are not large by American standards, but large by European standards for sure. Plenty of closet space; nicely appointed bathroom (surprisingly, no bathtub). The staff was fantastic, both front desk and concierge. Extremely knowledgeable and helpful, and all English-speaking. Also, the location is perfect-right across the street from the Prado.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review. Please note that 22 rooms out of 467 (less than 5%) don´t have a bath tub. Do not hesitate to confirm your preference at the moment of check-in
Hasta la próxima !
Marc L
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Westin Madrid is a very nice property. Old style European elegance. Our room was ready upon our early arrival after the flight from the US. The room, while not large, was well appointed and updated. The bathroom was very well updated.

The location is on the better side of Madrid and easy walk to the old city. For coffee people, there is a large Starbucks next door. We had the buffet one morning, and while very expensive, it was very well done.

Highly recommended for a few great nights in Madrid.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgregb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The name of this place says it all... it looks like a palace both inside and out and when you are there you feel a bit like royalty. The room was immaculate, the bathroom was incredible, and the service was top-notch. I was upgraded to the preferred floor, which was an experience by itself.

I was able to find a great rate on one of those discount websites so the price didn't break the bank.

Overall, an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexandraKDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you ever read a story about Madrid, you have heard about this hotel. In every bus or walking tour you take this hotel comes to the conversation. Room are the typical small European room, but with everything you expect from a Westin. Ait contidion works excellent, even in summer time. The coffe shop across the street is s must if you like expresso coffee and look for "soja" milk. Don't recommend the hotel food, not because is bad, but because you have much better restaurants around the hotel. If you like Westin comfort beds, you mist stay here. I travel a lot to Spain, and bed quality isn't the best shoot on Spain. As Summary, stay at the Westin, the money you paid is recover in every priceless sleeptime with excelent awakenings.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Drmelendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#42 of 437 in Madrid
1,918 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#38 of 437 in Madrid
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#14 of 437 in Madrid
1,033 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 437 in Madrid
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#35 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $274 - $898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing