We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel, best staff, best location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #44 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Everything about this hotel is 5 star. The staff is totally attentive, helpful, and knowledgeable.
If you request any information it appears miraculously in minutes under your door!
When we checked in, we were upgraded to a beautiful Executive room that had been renovated.
We wanted a quiet room and we told to choose a room that looked out back on a quiet street.
No noise at all. The room faced a church and was delightful. Big bathroom, plenty of storage and closet space.
Hotel itself is stunning, with the huge glass dome in the dining area. You can have tea, coffee or just sit there and enjoy the splendor! They don't care if you sit for an hour just to relax and chat.
The location is the best in Madrid. Minutes walking to the Prado and everything else you would want to see.
The business center offers several computers and printers and internet is free. Center is in the lobby and very convenient. Wireless throughout the lobby is free too.
Can only say wonderful things about this hotel and the staff! Also, coffee and biscuits delivered daily to the room in the morning at no charge at the precise time you designate. Fantastic way to start the day! Sipping coffee in your robe in your luxurious room.
Thank you very much, WESTIN!!! You are number one. (And I am pretty fussy).
Cannot think of one negative thing.

Room Tip: Some people love facing the Statute of Neptune. Do this if noise is not an issue; it is a very busy...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank u4eah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,155)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Palace Madrid
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,032 - 2,038 of 4,155 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

My Husband and I decided upon Spain for our official honeymoon. We picked two cities (Barcelona and Madrid) and we each picked our preference for the different cities. I chose the Westin Palace in Madrid, and I was adamant on this selection after seeing how affordable the price was on their website. Not only did they upgrade our room to a newly renovated room, but they were also kind enough to leave cava and chocolate with a congratulatory note for our matrimony on the table that night. What considerate and excellent service! Additionally their concierge service was top notch and helped us book wherever we wanted to go and provided the most excellent recommendations.

The room was spendid in the decor, and it was spacious. Furthermore, the bathroom was marvelous and sooooo clean! The bed was HUGE (king sized) and felt like a cloud. I would recommend booking this hotel to anyone and everyone and had my husband swear that we will stay in this hotel should we ever come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is impressive, majestic and its very central to the sites. You're close to the museums and "Plaza Mayor". The service was impeccable. They really look after you. You could not ask for more. The staff very accommodating. Their recommendtions for restaurants were excellent. We enjoyed every minute of it. HIghly recommend it. Their breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here at the end of our Tauck tour of Portugal and Spain and then stayed three more nights on our own. It was a very convenient and lovely hotel. Walking distance to the Prado, Thyssen and the Reina Sofia (where Picasso's Guernica is) and Retiro Park. There are many little places for tapas in the streets behind the hotel. It is also walking distance to Puerta del Sol and other plazas and shopping areas. The breakfast buffet which was included was excellent. On Saturday night there was a big wedding....fun to watch, even though it took over the hotel. The Spanish bring their families to all events and there were infants, toddlers and children of every age. The women were dressed beautifully. We were still served drinks and snacks. The bar food was over priced, but it was raining the night we ate there and we chose to stay in. We had some tea sandwiches that were pretty plain. We liked the almonds and olives and as I recall they gave you some with each drink order. The hotel was celebrating its 100th birthday and they gave us champagne that evening. We would gladly stay here again, although as Marriott rewards members, we would likely choose a Marriott-related hotel if we were to return to Madrid on our own.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank lizcraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great location,a stone's throw from the PRADO and halway between the park Retiro and La Puerta del Sol,so whatever may be your interest you are within easy walking distance.
We sepnt 4 nights and all our visiting, dining and shopping was done on foot
Excellent service, smiles all around and a real welcome feeling, despite a few slips up by
info given by the concierge.
Large room with an amazing amount of drawers and closet space, comfortable queen bed.,
Enjoyed starting the day with the complimentary coffe delivered to the room upon request .
What made our stay particularly special was the saturday evening meal
under the glass coupole with a marriage under way, followed the next day by the brunch.
It was fun seeing Madrid at it's best.
No pool nor terrace ( small roof terrace closed during our stay), my wife smokes
and would have appreciated that the roof terrace be open

I do suggest having a drink in the lounge area even if your not staying in the hotel

Room Tip: Few room with balconies, I was told that only the suite have balconies so we lucked out.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEORGEDORLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at the end of October 2012 for five days. Perfect location. Take the Bus Express from the airport till Plaza de Cibeles and walk about five minutes along the beautiful Paseo del Prado, the hotel is right in front of you. Here, you will be greeted by the doorman who will take your bags immediately. Highly professional, friendly and helpful staff .Beautiful architecture and decoration. It was such a pleasure to have breakfast under the spectacular glass dome! You won't have a kettle and coffee/tea bags in the room,..Instead you will have your complimentary coffee/tea and cookies served elegantly to your room by the Express Service. Ask for a room overlooking the Fuento de Neptuno which is one of the three most beautiful fountains in Madrid. This is a very busy hotel in a very lively area of Madrid....the Parliament, Prado, Thyssen-Bornemisza, Reina Sophia Museums and many of the attractions are all around the century old Palace..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gulgezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hotel was very nice and impressive.
The Lobby and the great glas dome where faszinating.
If you are in Madrid you should at least have a look into it.
The food was not that what I expected from a 5 Star Hotel....

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#42 of 438 in Madrid
1,896 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#38 of 438 in Madrid
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 438 in Madrid
1,976 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#34 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $293 - $964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing