We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience El Rastro
from $50.65
More Info
Reviews (1,376)
Filter reviews
1,376 results
Traveler rating
382
535
291
107
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
535
291
107
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flea market el pastor leather goods antique shops for sale huge market cheap souvenirs stalls sell leather bags pick pockets police presence avoid the crowds locals and tourists couple of hours plaza mayor tapas people watch
Filter
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 1,376 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This place is listed as one of the top sights to see in Madrid, but I would not include it in the top tier. It is a massive shopping area with streets and streets of good things and not so good things to buy. However, after about the first block you start to see the same things over and over again.

We walked through in about 90-minutes with no one buying anything. There were a few cool things, but apparently nothing too irresistible to us.

In conclusion, check it out if you are in Madrid on a Sunday morning, but it is not worth planning your trip around.

Date of experience: July 2012
5  Thank RovingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great day to spend a Sunday morning and afternoon. Plenty of trinkets, curios, good bargains.
Place for tourists and locals.
Good place to buy souvenirs, instead of tourist shops at Puerta Del Sol.
A decent variety of food and snacks and coffee.
Go early. It gets very crowded early. If you are one not for crowds, this is not the place for you.
But a good day well spent. Take it slow.

Date of experience: July 2012
1  Thank hjahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

same bad quality and taste stuff for tourists repeating for half a km. antiquity shops sparse and uninteresting.

Date of experience: June 2012
2  Thank RexTsatsaroglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I usually absolutely love the thrill of a Flea Market/ Swap Meet but El Rastro was a little disappointing. We arrived around 9:30am on Sunday and it was packed with people. I wanted to see a really different and unique collection of street vendors with one of a kind crafts, fashion and souveniors. Most of the vendors selling newer merchandise had items mostly made in China or they were definitely not from Spain. There were several vendors selling pretty much the same thing. A multitude of womens scarf vendors. Yes there were about 20-30 vendors with some very beautifully hand crafted items but they were a bit pricey. There was a vendor that had really beautifully had painted fans and another vendor had hand made leather bookcovers. Over all it was fun but I do not think I would go back just for the flea market . Some of the permanent shops had good prices

Date of experience: May 2012
6  Thank Sylviastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

If you are in Madrid on a Sunday don't miss El Rastro street market. Starts in La latina and spreads until El rastro area. It's huge and you will find anything you are looking for there from second hand clothing, bags, glasses, I don't know everything , a nice experience

Date of experience: June 2012
1  Thank Mafs_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews