We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Chic and boutique in bohemian La Latina.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada del Leon de Oro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Posada del Leon de Oro
Ranked #158 of 448 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Chic and boutique in bohemian La Latina.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Our hotel was perfectly located on the bustling Calle de la Cava Baja - Madrid's main tapas street. The posada is a converted 19th Century coaching inn with a contemporary design aesthetic. Our spacious twin was minimalistic and its chic and sexy design had a playful edge: oversized lampshades, hand painted walls, a blissful rain forest shower, all in white, hidden behind a mirrored door; the wash hand basin was conveniently located in the room which is great for two guys getting ready for a night on the town.

The rooms open onto a rustic atrium. The bar was buzzing with Madrilenos feasting on tapas. It specialises in Spanish wines with an emphasis on those from the region around Madrid. Il Cad and I savoured local vermouth and tortilla before beginning our tapas crawl.

For less than 10 euros, the breakfast includes fresh-squeezed juices, glazed croissants, fruit, manchego and cured meats, and a wide selection of crusty artisan bread. The dining room has a glass floor displaying the ancient walls of La Latina and random bottles of wine, which only added to the charm.

The lads behind reception offer a personal service and for less than £88 per night, this cheek posada offered oustanding value. In short, designer chic whilst retaining its historic charm and in a great location less than five minutes from the Plaza Major and the foodie paradise of the Mercado de St Miguel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunty_Sheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    127
    32
    7
    13
See reviews for
87
183
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holte
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The location is fantastic. Walking distance to all the big sights. Only 5 minutes from the Plaza Major and sourrounded by many quaint and old streets without traffic and noise. Close to Metro. In the area there are so many restaurants and bars that you may be frustrated by not being able to reach them all :-) The hotel is quite small and cozy with a delightful mix of history and modern rooms. There is life without the noise. Polite and friendly service at the front desk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elirex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauroux
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our daughter was working in Madrid for three months and found this charming little posada right in the heart of MAdrid. The Cava Baja is full of character. Apparently the King of Spain eats in the restaurant a few doors away nearly every week.
The Posada was a converted winery and they had cleverly created glass floors so you could see down into the cellars. WE stayed up the top in a wonderful room with lods of character, with a bath with a jacuzzi [as well as a shower].
Charming bar with a great choice of wines. The breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Go for the one at the top with the jacuzzi - very relaxing after a day's sightseeing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montaurousanglaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked a double Corrola room at Posada del Leon de Oro and they kindly ungraded us to a balcony room (first floor) instead.

We were very warmly welcomed by the reception staff who whipped out a Madrid map and showed us a clear route to catch all the main sights in Madrid and places to catch a bite.

The room was very clean and it was quite nice to people watch from the balcony. The furnishing is very quirky and modern. Lots of mirrors in the room also made the place seem very spacious. The room also boasts a Sony Bravia TV. I didn't watch any TV, so I don't know if there were any English channels.

The bathroom light blew out on the second night, but after we alerted the staff the following morning - it was replaced by the time we got back to the room that evening.

If I had to pick up on a couple of negatives:

1) we were allocated a twin room instead of the double that we originally reserved. However saying that, we weren't too fussed and we liked the room enough. After all, a hotel room is a place for a good night's sleep. Which leads me to my next point...

2) We would hit the hay around 12am most evenings and we would be able to hear the murmour of people chatting outside the local tapas bars (the hotel is right next to lots of great tapas bars/restaurants). If you are a light sleeper, I would suggest that you request a non-street facing room... or time your bedtime with the locals'. Personally, I can sleep through anything so this was not really an issue for me.

Location wise, it is within a few minutes walking distance to most of the main sights of Madrid (Sol, Plaza Major, the Royal Palace, Mercado San Miguel), a couple of supermarkets and lots of tapas restaurants. La Latina metro station is only a 3 min walk away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank y1n9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is truly an excellent place. When we were booking the hotel, we did a google search to find some very terrible looking pictures of the property a few years back. My first dose of advice is to ignore these pictures as this hotel has been transformed into a true gem. This is the definition of a boutique hotel with a modern twist as all the rooms are very modern looking in terms of layout, design, and furniture. The best part of the hotel is probably the street that it is on. It comes alive in the nighttime with dozens of tapas restaurants and bars serving hundreds of people during the traditional after 9pm tapas time. Random parades of people will erupt with music coming from all angles. It was terrific. The hotel is also decently close to the metro. The bar and restaurant are gorgeous with glass floors and other neat Spanish decor. This is an expensive place but it is worth every penny if you want an authentic Madrid experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirLuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUERTO RICO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Choose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and really find a small boutique hotel of 5 stars.
Location, staff were great and room was clean and large enough for being a small hotel.
When they say to write them in advance , as I did, they really answer all your emails and will honor your requests, including early check in, if available.
And yes, of course I will stay again in this beautifull boutique hotel in my next visit to Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LUISMOLINARY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

It is a great alternative to asseptic international hotels ... In the middle of a living area, full of traditional restaurants and tapas bar, 5 minutes walk from Plaza Mayor, this posada is a very nice hotel. The bar, lobby, and restaurant are authentic. You would expect the same in the rooms but even if they are very modern, they are confortable and extremely clean. Just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
La Posada del Dragon
La Posada del Dragon
#49 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#143 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Silken Puerta America
#82 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#63 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,647 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#69 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,667 reviews
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Leon de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Leon de Oro

Property: Posada del Leon de Oro
Address: Calle Cava Baja 12, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Madrid
#58 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#108 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada del Leon de Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a guesthouse, it is now design and a singular Hotel. Located in the neighborhood of La Latina, in the heart of Madrid. It has 17 rooms, all unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Posada del Leon de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Leon De Oro Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing