We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Posada del Leon de Oro
Ranked #169 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were generally impressed with this hotel - it is conveniently located and easy to get to and in easy reach of several Metro stations. The hotel is clean and well maintained and the staff are very helpful in general. However there were a couple of negatives:

- The room was not ready when we arrived, which was just after the advertised check in time. We were not put off by the duty managers attempt at a rebuff but to their credit we eventually got an apology and a free drink after some remonstration.

- We asked for a family room and this consisted of a queen bed and a pull down double. This was too small for our teenage son and also with the bed down, there was not much room to move around. Not really a proper family sized room.

- The bar stopped serving drinks at 10:30. Bearing in mind most locals are just setting out for dinner at that time, we found this surprising.

We would probably stay here again but in a different room configuration.

Room Tip: Be careful if you want the family room - it is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Dear Kiwilah,

First of all, thank you very much for spending your time in writing a review on Triadvisor site.

It's has been a pleasure to having you with us. We are in the downtown of Madrid and you can reach every place walking. It is no neccesary to take a meaning of transport.

We regret we could not offer you the room at the regular check int time. Though this timetable is from 14:00 hours, we couldn't provide the room due to we depends on the check out time of the rest of the guest. In case you come back to the Posada del León de Oro, please, let us know your arrival time to provide you the room at your arrival.
All of our family rooms have two double beds. Probably if you have some luggages you wouldn't have enough space for you. In this case, we suggest you can book two rooms in order to be more comfortable.

So, we would like you can visit us shortly and we would offer you a different room type. So you could enjoy in a different way.

Best regards from Posada del León de Oro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 550 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Posada del Leon de Oro is a real gem and much better than the 4 star rating the Spanish hotel ratings give it. We were greated by Nacho, who let us choose our room from 2 that were available. The rooms are very modern, in contrast with the exterior and common rooms of the hotel which date way back. Our room was in the back of the hotel so we were not disturbed by the street noises.
The Calle Cava Baja is known for its many tapas bars and restaurants and in true Spanish style, they are open and partying until the wee hours of the morning.
The location is very convenient to the Plaza Mayor and other tourist areas, including the Royal Palace. If you don't want to walk around, you can get the red bus at the Plaza.
The restaurant in the hotel was excellent and the service very attentive. A unique feature of the restaurant and the small bar at the front of the lobby was the glass floor which allows you to see the archeologic structures found during renovation and excavation.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the back of the hotel to avoid the late night revelers on the street in front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnitMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Knit,

First of all, thank you very much for spending your time in writing a review on Tripadvisor site.

Thank you again for everything you say about us. It is truth when you arrive at the hotel, you believe that the room could be decorated in a classic style. But it isn't. So, when you come in to the room, you enjoy of a modern style in a old guest house of XIX Century.

The hotel is located in the district of La Latina, it is known for its tapas bar and restaurants. And we are close to Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, Teatro Real, Palacio Real...

We have part of the Christian Wall XII Century on the floor, which you can see them by the glass floor.

We hope you can visit us again and you can stay in another different room.

Regards from Posada del León de Oro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here for 5 nights in July. I did so much research on hotels in Madrid before going - this was a perfect fit for our family. We got 2 Cava rooms for the 4 of us and this gave us a lot of space. The rooms were connected by one main outside door. The hotel is very modern, new and contemporary. The king beds were super comfy and the rain showers were awesome. The best part of this hotel is its location. It is right on Cava Baja with some of the best restaurants in Madrid with 1 - 5 mins walking distance. We didn't have to go far for great food and that was absolutely the best. The hotel is 2 mins walk to Plaza Mayor and 7 mins to Puerto del Sol. Location was superb if you are a foodie. The hotel is in the older part of Madrid with lots of charm. It has a very different feel than the chain hotels near the Prada/Retiro park. Our family preferred the more intimide setting of this location and felt we were really experiencing the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom2rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Mom,

First of all, thank you very much for spending your time in writing a review on Tripadvisor site.

It's a pleasure to know you had a good stay at Posada del León de Oro. All of our rooms have viscoelastic mattress and pillows and it makes you can rest in a good way.

Not all the rooms have the same style and decoration. So, we invite you can stay here the next time and get another room type.

As we are in the downtown of Madrid, you can reach every place walking around, and you don't need to spend lot of time.

We hope see you again shortly.

Regards from Posada del León de Oro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our room was upgraded to a much larger room than normal upon arrival. It was a little funky but very clean. Had read about noise but had none. Perhaps because we immediately went on Spanish time. Up very late!
The location was amazing. Close to everything! We walked to the Royal Palace, Prado, and Reina Sofia. (Don't bother to wait in line for the free times for these museums as it does not apply to Americans.) The bed was so comfortable and
the A/C was great after a long day of touring. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose an inside room if you are worried about noise and need to go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Yksy,

First of all, thank your very much for your review on Tripadvisor site.

It is a pleasure to know you had a good stay at Posada del León de Oro, you enjoyed and you learnt more and more about Madrid.

We would be glad if you visit us again when you decide to come back to Madrid. So, you can sleep in another room type. We have 17 different rooms with all their facilities.

We hope see you shortly,

Our very best regards from León de Oro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Arriving late was no problem at this lively hotel. Our two teens were thrilled to see our taxi stop in the middle of a friendly, narrow street lined with tapas bars, restaurants and gelato stands, each brimming with lots of families as well as many young adults and teens. The hotel's street doors were wide open at ground level, welcoming guests into their popular bar and restaurant area. We were given a clean, third floor room with two queen beds. Surprisingly, it was actually quiet despite the party down below (even on the night of the European Soccer cup!) Much needed, on the premises laundry service was available for about 15 Euros for a small load.

Our only problem during our stay was the shower's slow drainage; the two inch stall rim flooded over during one of my daughter's showers. We forgot to mention this problem to the staff on our early AM checkout -- I hope it gets repaired soon. We loved our stay otherwise; the staff was very welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor room if you wish for more quiet. Be careful with your shower length to prevent f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Camille,

First of all, we would like to thank you the time you have spent in writting a review on Tripadvisor site.

It's a pleasure for us to know you had nice days at Posada del León de Oro and you enjoyed during your stay in Madrid.
Due to the European Soccer Cup, there were lot of people on the bar watching the match. So, for this reason, you probably found overcrowed on the bar.

We appreciate the details you have informed us about the shower. We fixed it up and everything is working perfectly.

We hope you can visit us again shortly.

Regards from Leon de Oro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hotel was very clean, staff was nice & helpful! Sounds from the bar/restaurant might be difficult for young family trying to sleep early, but if you do as the locals & stay up later for dinner/socializing, you'll sleep just fine. The location was close to Plaza Mayor & lots of food/shops/metro. A/C worked great in the room (it was really hot during our visit to Spain).

Room Tip: If using metro to get there, print a map to use short cut to get there. We weren't as prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Dear Lisa L,

First of all, thank you very much for spending your time in writing a review on Tripadvisor Site.

It is a pleasure to know you had a good stay at Posada del León de Oro. We hope you enjoyed during your days in Madrid due to we are in the downtown of the City.

We hope see you again the next time you visit Madrid.

Regards from Posada del León de Oro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Great hotel, very clean with a modern contemporary feel and tastefully renovated. Friendly staff, great breakfast buffet with hot options (well worth booking on check in) as you can get it a couple of euros cheaper at check in. Nice spacious rooms, only draw back for me personally was the noise from the street. We were given a nice family room on the second floor at the front of the hotel (room 204) as there were three of us staying. It had a small balcony too which was nice. However, the bar next door to the hotel stays open very late indeed. The people I was with had no trouble sleeping but I have to say I was glad I took my ear buds as the party goes on well into the early morning. Fri and Sat very early.
Luckily the beds are the best I have ever slept in of any hotel I have stayed in.
No complaints as if I couldn't sleep I would have asked to be moved. Just beware of the noise if your in a room at the front. Don't let this put you off though as the hotel is very nice and the area is buzzin so you have to expect some noise.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fubarski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Fubarsky,

First of all thank you very much for spending your time in write a review on Tripadvisor site.

It is a pleasure to know you had a good stay on June and you enjoyed during your visit to Madrid.

We appreciate your comments and we will try to improve those details they can be updates.

We hope you can visit us again in order to offer you a different room type. So you can enjoy of another new experience.

Regards from Posada del León de Oro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
La Posada del Dragon
La Posada del Dragon
#75 of 438 in Madrid
716 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#66 of 438 in Madrid
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
#91 of 438 in Madrid
979 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#17 of 438 in Madrid
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Leon de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Leon de Oro

Address: Calle Cava Baja 12, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Madrid
#57 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#120 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $86 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada del Leon de Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a guesthouse, it is now design and a singular Hotel. Located in the neighborhood of La Latina, in the heart of Madrid. It has 17 rooms, all unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Posada del Leon de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Leon De Oro Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing