We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - we had an amazing stay!”
Review of HOTEL OPERA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HOTEL OPERA
Ranked #142 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We went to the Hotel Opera in May and we really enjoyed our stay. Extremely nice and very helpful staff and its location is absolutely perfect! We did not have to take the transport at all - we could walk virtually to every major tourist attraction in Madrid. The area is beautiful with a lot going on during the day and at night time. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank an12349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

For Madrid, this hotel is in an great location - you can easily walk to so many of the great sites, including the Palace, Mercado, Puerta del Sol and Plaza de Espana. Outside the hotel is a really nice small plaza with restaurants and while I was there a great little food fair.

I had a single room and I was not pleased with it. There was about a foot between the bed and the desk with no room to move around, really sit at the desk comfortably, etc. The bathroom was a decent size. Hotel seemed fairly clean. I had the breakfast and if you can get it free in your room rate, it is good, otherwise, I would step outside and enjoy something a little less expensive nearby.

Service overall was not very good. The front desk staff always looked as if I was bothering them if I asked a question or even upon check in and check out. I saw them be friendly with others, so I don't know if it was because I was American or for some other reason. I had dinner in the Opera Café one night and the service was horrible and the food wasn't too much better. The waiter was actually quite rude. I would not recommend it.

I would return to this hotel again if I was able to get a good rate simply for the location. I really loved the ability to quickly walk to so many places.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngieRoberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed for four nights and couldn't believe the location. It's really close to the palace and (unsurprisingly) the Opera House, which means it's also close to lots of shops and restaurants. A lot of the shops are open late so you can go for a browse after dinner, you know you're on holiday when you can do that! Great for the palace too, it's useful to get there early as it gets so busy, as it's literally round the corner that's easy to do.

The room was large and quiet, with a clean fully equipped bathroom (no bath but you don't tend to get them in Spain). Also no kettle, but again they don't tend to provide them so fair enough.

The hotel is really close to the Metro so easy to get around, but surprisingly quiet at night. We felt really safe wandering around. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milly1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hotel is in a great location for sight-seeing, and the staff were charming and helpful but we had the smallest room imaginable (on the 7th floor) - hardly adequate for 1 person let alone 2! The bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom. Room very noisy too - we couldn't open the window at night because of the street noise Air con didn't seem to be working properly but when we complained it was fixed very quickly. When I dropped something on the floor, and looked under the bed to find it, the floor was extremely dusy - looked as though it hadn't been swept for ages.
Breakfast not that exciting either.

Room Tip: make sure its not a very small one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Had a wonderful stay of six nights at the Hotel Opera. The service from all the staff was impeccable. Nothing was too much trouble. One day we mistakenly left a "Do not disturb" sign on the door and forgot to turn it around for the maid service. When we returned in the afternoon, we informed reception who immediately arranged for the room to be cleaned. The rooms were very clean with a large bathroom.
The location was excellent and we walked to all of the sights. There was an excellent choice of food for breakfast with staff on hand at all times.
If you need a supermarket turn right out of the hotel, walk up to the childrens playground and turn left. It is called "Dia" and they sell all beverages and sandwiches. ( a sandwich cost 1.70 euros).
The only criticism was that on arrival we had 2 teas in the hotel café downstairs which turned out to be the most expensive cups of tea we had on holiday .They charged 3.50 euros each. This was a shame as had the cost been more in keeping with other cafes we would have patronised the hotel more.

Room Tip: All rooms face the 2 main streets as in the photo of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We. visited the hotel for a wedding anniversary break and were extremely pleased with our choice. Our room on the 4 th floor was clean, spacious and had all we wanted apart from a kettle and BBC World on the tv!! Super bathroom with fluffy towels and good sized walk in shower. Only slight issue was the bottle bank emptying at 2 am which seemed to be directlly below our room.
Top floor had a small gym and sauna area. Ground floor had a cafe which we ate in a couple of times including the Menu de Dia which was yummy and very good value.
Our hotel booking included breakfast each day which was also very good and was served in the bar area. Plenty of choice of cereals, buns and cooked items and juice.
Staff all very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Great location for central Madrid - recommended.

Room Tip: See if you can have a room away from the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otters2otters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a mid-week trip to Madrid. We booked this through British Airways and it definitely met our expectations. The rooms were clean and the location is great. It was so easy to get to the Royal Palace (you can literally see it from the front entrance!) and Plaza Major, Mercado San Miguel and Puerto del Sol were all really close.
There were a few issues though. We were put in a corner room and the internet didn't work for us, probably because we were away from the router. So when we needed to get online (my partner had to do work from time-to-time), we were literally sitting in the hallway/stairwell. We also chose this hotel because it said it has a gym, but none of the machines in the gym actually worked. The room was the size of a closet with 4 cardio machines and 1 weight machine. But the cardo machines were pretty much all broken. That was a big disappointment. The las 'issue' was that our neighbour must have met a very pretty lady and decided to get to know her better...which led to a sleepless (and awkward) night...
In all, this is a good hotel to explore Madrid from but definitely ask for a room close to the centre of the building so you can get internet! And if you want to exercise, go run outside instead.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the centre of the building so you can get internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara_Yang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#67 of 441 in Madrid
1,793 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#26 of 441 in Madrid
4,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#50 of 441 in Madrid
3,199 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 441 in Madrid
1,755 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#42 of 441 in Madrid
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL OPERA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OPERA

Address: Calle Cuesta Santo Domingo, 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Madrid
#92 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#97 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $82 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HOTEL OPERA 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want to be YOUR HOME in Madrid.We have created new and different rooms which are warm and homey. Our staff are pleasant and friendly with a willingness to help you.From our unique location in the best district of the city centre of Madrid, you can stroll through the streets, admire the buildings, squares, small corners and gardens of our attractive and vibrant city which invites you walk around it.We are your home in the heart of Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your HOTEL OPERA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Opera Hotel Madrid
Opera Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing