We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NRB&BJB”
Review of HOTEL OPERA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
HOTEL OPERA
Ranked #129 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NRB&BJB”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in November and found a hotel with a first class location. The staff were very helpful & friendly. The room was comfortable and of a good size for a city hotel. The breakfasts had a good choice and quality of food. The restaurant and was of a high standard with a varied menu. Pricing was very reasonable. Would go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255NRB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Opera and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Your referrals about the location, staff and services are very important to us to encourage our staff and ourselves.
We work to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded.
We hope to see you again, here in our hotel situated in the heart of the city.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    468
    164
    49
    29
See reviews for
238
507
69
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This family owned 4star hotel is ideal for exploring Madrid. It is between the Theatro Royal and the Royal Palace with great transport links and restaurants around.

The rooms are well up to standard and the staff are very helpful. Breakfast is of good quality and has a good variety of food.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flipandjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Hotel Opera.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

You can still find the best offers on our official website in your next visit to our city.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in October. Great location for tourists. Friendly service with a smile. Disappointing no umbrella available when it rained. But hey, that doesn't happen often! Breakfasts ok with reasonable choices of hottish eggs, bacon etc and continental style buffet. Will stay here next time.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveChesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

a small contemporary hotel next to the botanical gardens and ten minutes from Plaza Major. OK, very touristy area and can be noisy at night because the Spainish are night owls but so full of life. Resturants cater to tourists and so can be over priced. Located right on the Hop On bus line (recommended). The rooms are small but very cool. Get a 8TH floor balcony room with hot tub for a real treat. Staff is very helpful, multilingual,and can be very funny. Very good breakfast included. Rooms well stocked with toiletries. Minibar reasonable .no coffee maker in room. Modern bar and nice casual cafe in house. strolling the streets at night is a treat.....but be careful of pick pockets...dont carry a wallet, use a money belt, and wear your back pack on your chest not on your back and you will be fine. Just a delightful place to explore Madrid

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Location, service and cleanliness make this boutique type hotel a real gem. No, it does not have all the bell and whistles of a five star and it does not claim to be this type of establishment. In my opinion, this hotel's location is better for touring than any five star, including the Ritz and Westin. It is within walking distance to all foremost attractions and steps away from the Opera Metro, Royal Palace, Royal Theater, Calle Arenal and many cafes. It has WiFi accessibility from your room and super friendly and responsive service. After several visits to Madrid, I have found a place where I would return. The rooms are not big, but comfortably appointed. One drawback is that sometimes one can hear the rumbling of subway trains traveling under, as in most big cities. For us, this was not a big deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in mid September. We arrived at approximately 4 pm, got our room right away and found it quite pleasant and clean. The location is also great as it is very close to the Royal Palace, minutes from a Metro station and Puerta Del Sol on foot. Granted it lacks facilities but it does have nice restaurant inside the hotel and a bar/terrace outside in the front of the hotel. We also found the hotel personnel quite pleasant and helpful. With our limited knowledge of Spanish, we had no difficulty communicating with them. We would stay there again if the situation presented itself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santiago44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

The place is actually 3 star quality and more motel-operated

There is no service with luggage and the breakfast is indeed lackluster

What annoys me most is that I requested a higher floor a month ahead and they ended up giving me a room on the first floor!

Save your money and go elsewhere! Even the Expedia unpublished 5 star hotel ended up cheaper and far better.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jacktseng1377
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#60 of 435 in Madrid
1,706 reviews
Centro
Intur Palacio San Martin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 435 in Madrid
3,825 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#50 of 435 in Madrid
2,998 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL OPERA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OPERA

Property: HOTEL OPERA
Address: Cuesta Santo Domingo 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Madrid
#90 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#92 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — HOTEL OPERA 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want to be YOUR HOME in Madrid.We have created new and different rooms which are warm and homey. Our staff are pleasant and friendly with a willingness to help you.From our unique location in the best district of the city centre of Madrid, you can stroll through the streets, admire the buildings, squares, small corners and gardens of our attractive and vibrant city which invites you walk around it.We are your home in the heart of Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your HOTEL OPERA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Opera Hotel Madrid
Opera Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing