We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy room in central Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Ranked #215 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
230 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Cozy room in central Madrid”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

All the staff I encountered were friendly, and the room small but adequate. For a cheap base in central Madrid, it was ideal. Breakfast was included, and was pretty good. Staff at breakfast were very amenable to requests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A380fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear A380fan
Let start by thanking you for sharing your comments with the community. Guests’ feedback is our best way to assess the real quality of our services.
It’s great to know you enjoyed our stay at our unbeatably located hotel right in the heart of downtown Madrid and we would be happy to have you back with us on your next trip to Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    470
    167
    44
    15
See reviews for
209
355
67
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Foster City, CA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Best Western Carlos V is a very nice and clean hotel in a very good location in Madrid. There were a few minor problems....the air conditioner could only be turned on or off with no temperature adjustment, and they missed a few wake up calls. So that would give it a rating of 4 from me. But we arrived on an early flight into Madrid, and we were tired from the long flight, and they went out of their way to let us check in early. So that brings their rating up to the maximum 5.

Room Tip: Call ahead if you are arriving early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weatherman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear weatherman19
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It’s great to know you enjoyed our stay with us at our unbeatable location right in the heart of downtown Madrid.
I’m glad to know we were able to give you a room at your early arrival; knowing we are not perfect (who is…) it is by small details like this that we to try to get close to excellence.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Puerta del Sol is considered the center of Madrid. In the thick of it is the Best Western Carlos V. For those starting your Spanish adventure, I highly recommend this hotel for not only its location, but really great staff too. They're quite helpful in the way of recommending places to see/do as well as calling up taxi services to get you to the airport.

In fact, one of the staffers called a car for me at 5:30 am, five minutes later, the taxi drew up to the door. Feeling suspicious, the staffer spoke to the cab driver, but wouldn't let me get in it. Turns out, the car was for another pair of passengers also staying at the hotel. I couldn't help but think that he really looked out for me.

There are countless shops and restaurants all within a 5-10 minute walk. I personally liked visiting the trendy neighborhood of Chueca which is only a stone's throw away. For those that really enjoy walking, the Reina Sofia, Atocha Station, Lavapies are all within a 20 minute walk of the hotel.

As others have said, the rooms are dated, but they're quite comfortable. I don't expect the opulence of a Le Meridien when I stay at a Best Western. Inside the room contained two single beds, a fridge and "minibar", television and a safe (which one can rent for 1.9E a day). I slept quite well and didn't really spend too much time inside the room.

All in all, a really great hotel with an amazing location. If it's your first time to Madrid, give the BW Carlos V a try.

Room Tip: Rooms on Calle Vitoria Maestro can be quite noisy, especially on a weekend evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Louie M
First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the community and your kind recommendation. It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay with us at our unbeatable location right in the heart of downtown Madrid.
I’m also glad to know you found our staff helpful and that you experienced that at a Best Western you were staying with people who care, as you could feel when you called a taxi.
It would be wonderful to have you back with us on your next trip to our gorgeous city. We’ll try to make you recommend our hotel for more people than those who come to Madrid for the first time.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Loved the location. Out the door, down the block and you are at the Puerta del Sol. Surrounded by nightlife and Madrid crowds. The staff was exceptionally helpful at all times. Our only concern was that occasionally at night our room was a little noisy. You are at the heart of the city so some noise from street cleaning and crowds is to be expected. Our room was small but clean and came with free WiFi. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The view from our street side balcony was great but it did come with a little extra noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Attheedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Attheedge.
Let me thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff was able to make you feel at home.
Yes, our location is a bit noisy, but as you say it’s what you can expect if you want to stay in the heart of a busy city like Madrid. I guess you must have stayed in a room at the front of the hotel, but we also have rooms at the back much more suitable for light sleepers.
We’d be happy to have you back on your next to Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We arrived very very early in the morning on our flight from the US, and they got us into our room quickly. The staff at the front desk were all very courteous and helpful. We didn't have the breakfast, but it looked very nice. It's in a neat room that is also a great space for relaxing. We sat in there and got on the internet there while we waited for our room to be readied. We had no complaints at all about our room. It was basic but still nice and clean. The location of the hotel is great. Very close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dtand2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
• Dear dtand2a
Let me start by thanking you for sharing your comments with the community. It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay with us in our unbeatable location right in the heart of Madrid.
I’m glad we were able to give you a room early in the morning; we know it helps to enjoy the city especially if you are just arriving from overseas!
Pity you did not try our breakfast, why not on your next trip to Madrid? We would love to receive you back home.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights at the start of November 13.

Room looked a bit dated, though it did have flatscreen TV, and bathroom was good. Wifi wasn't up to much, very slow and hard to do even the most simple of internet tasks. It was very clean though.

Location was excellent, bang in the City Centre, with both Madrid football teams a short while away (Real one stop, Atletico 40 mins walk). Near a supermarket too, with a wide range of stuff. It's in the basement of the El Corte Ingles department store, saves you a bit of cash on eating out.

Sleep quality was exellent, no noise on the top floor and staff were nice too. Overall I'd recommend it if you can get it at the right price, had the Wifi been decent it would have got 4 stars.

Room Tip: Top floor is well away from any noise, I had room 508
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussWWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
• Dear RussWWFC
Let me start by thanking you for sharing your comments with the community. It’ lovely to know you enjoyed your stay with us in our unbeatable location right in the heart of Madrid.
I’d also like to thank you your feedback about our wifi. I was not aware of its malfunction; we’ll go deeper into this matter and upgrade its capacity if needed.
We would be very glad if you stay with us on your next trip to Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

With so many great things about this hotel, I definitely wouldn't stay anywhere else....the only suggestion I would have is to try to get a room away from the street as there are, at times, a lot of noise in the early morning from garbage truck and party goers around 2-3am...outside of that ...we would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twofidalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear twofidalgo
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us despite the street noise; you know what comes along with being located right in the heart of a busy city like Madrid.
We would be delighted to receive you back if you return to Madrid; if so, please do not forget to ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Best Western Hotel Los Condes
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#50 of 435 in Madrid
2,998 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#60 of 435 in Madrid
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#79 of 435 in Madrid
1,108 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Preciados
Petit Palace Preciados
#121 of 435 in Madrid
848 reviews
Malasana
Petit Palace Triball
Petit Palace Triball
#67 of 435 in Madrid
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Property: BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Address: Calle Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Madrid
#138 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlos V 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlos v Hotel Madrid
Best Western Hotel Madrid
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing